We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST IN BROOKLYN”
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NU Hotel
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST IN BROOKLYN”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We stayed at the 'Nu" only last week & our experience was amazing, the service was A rated, the rooms were clean & affordable, breakfast tasty & complimentary Location is ideal as very close to the subway & local shops. I would certainly go back & am hoping to do so nwxt year. A special mention to Gary - amazing guy, really helpful & made our stay that extra special with his professional top rated customer services, going the extra mile. Due to the company we work for we had to change hotels half way through to the Marriott in Broklyn, we all would of preferred to stay at the Nu though, as the service we received at the Marriot was very poor to say the least. NU for me is Highly recomended.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSmith1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    306
    80
    34
    18
See reviews for
221
316
87
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2010

First room overlooking Atlantic Avenue, poor insulation, sleepless night. Second room with broken air conditioning, another sleepless night. Reception area positively dangerous; chairs have legs that stick out at the back, an accident waiting to happen - it happened to me.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julcsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
We appreciate the time you have taken to write about your experience at the hotel. Atlantic Avenue is a heavily traveled street in Brooklyn. We have taken note of the noise concerns (with help from TripAdvisor!) and have contracted professionals to gauge the noise levels in the rooms to see if additional insulation is necessary. We will do whatever is necessary eliminate this as an overall concern in the hotel. Additionally, the hotel has purchased new lobby furniture. We're re-launching the NU Bar and decided to revamp the look which will allow more seating for our guests during breakfast hours and while the bar is open.

Regarding your overall service concerns; we do not take this lightly. We consistently rank in the top 5 for overall service in our company. We take pride in our product and service and when we fail to meet the expectation of just one guest we make everyone aware and discuss how can we better respond concerns of this nature in the future.

Again, we appreciate the feedback. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

March 4-6.
My husband and i stayed at the Nu Hotel while in Brooklyn for a memorial service.
I had read many reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor and new to ask for a quiet room in the back of the hotel. When we arrived we were lucky enough to find legal on street parking right around the corner from the hotel. When we checked in the staff was very friendly and helpful, insisting on helping us to our room with our bags even though we didn't have that much stuff and they seemed short handed at the front desk. We arrived quite late(8:30 PM) and they were also very helpful and offered to call a local restaurant
we had spotted on the next block (Le Jolie) to make a reservation for us. We were exhausted and starving. Our room was of a good size and in the back as was requested. We slept pretty well, although the noise from the hallway (doors slamming and people talking) was pretty loud starting at about 7am. ( I don't know why hotels do not request for guests to be respectful of other guests when in hallways and when closing doors. This is a common problem in most hotels I have stayed in.) The other draw back was that there was a large tour group of students staying at the hotel and they kind of took over the place. Every time we went down to the lobby they were hanging out all over it and hogging the one computer they have there for everyone to use. We also ran into a hotel guest in the elevator that was on the same floor as they were and was kept up all night by the kids running around in the hallway and back and forth to others rooms. She had called down to the desk twice and was very upset as nothing seemed to be done by any adults staying with the group. All in all we were happy with our room and it was pretty quiet. The few things I would suggest are more pillows on the bed. They only include two. We asked for one more and it was brought up right away. The biggest mistake for me in the Nu Hotel are the towels. Very small and skimpy and they only give you two. If you have to have more than one shower in a 24 hour period it would be pretty unpleasant. We asked for more towels and they were also immediately provided. However there are no towel bars or hooks in the bathrooms. That is a pretty annoying over sight. We wanted to keep our towels to reuse but there was no where to hang them! The shower was very spacious
and nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle67Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
Thanks for the review! This is exactly what we are looking for to better improve our product and service. We have shared this review with the entire team and will make adjustments in the areas you mentioned. Btw, we recently noticed the lack of enough towel hooks as well. Additional hooks are being installed by month end! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Garde-Freinet, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Very nice hotel, great rooms! Good breakfast en great location

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dheijnen1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

I stayed @Nu Hotel around one year ago and I was very satisfied with the service received and the modern touch. This time it was a different story. I had no doubt to stay there again as I planned my New York trip. We where a group of 3 and so I booked a twin twin room online as suggested for 3 persons. Check In was a swift and the Clerk asked me if we would be fine with two beds- and I said sure why not?! When we entered the room, we realized that there are just two small beds in, obviously suitable just for 2 persons per room.
At the end we ordered a rollaway bed for 25 USD plus Tax per night- what a scam as we had booked a room for 3 of us. Internet is still free of charge and works fine. In the morning they still offer a kind of breakfast, but service was a nightmare. Everything was on the cheap side. Instead of fresh and crispy pastries, fresh fruits, quality juices they serve nowadays very cheap bagels and muffins. We stayed for 5 nights and from second morning it went down at its best. Lack of cutlery, bagels, fruits and no cream cheese for the last days. I asked them to replenish, but the guy in charge was not sure when they get delivered new stuff...
I addressed the hints during check out but the women in charged seems to be very uninterested what went wrong within the hotel.
To sum it up- I really liked the place before but since my last stay I guess I will think twice if I would choose to stay there again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dominik_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuhotel85, Javier Egipciaco at NU Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the NU. Clearly the expectations were not met and we sincerely apologize for this experience. We understand that customer feedback, whether positive or negative, will only make us better at what we do. We will use this incident as a training tool on guest resolution troubleshooting.

We hope to get he opportunity to serve you again in the future. This experience is not indicative of the service we provide regularly as your first experience at the hotel was a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Just returned from a five night stay at the NU Hotel. Everything was first class - clean and quiet room (ask for an internal room so as to avoid possible noise in Smith Street/Atlantic Avenue). Very minor problem with light quickly mended/breakfast was a good start to the day, staff extremely polite and helpful.

This is also a great location - on Smith Street/two blocks from the subway with plenty of bars/cafes/rest. etc to choose from. Easy access to Brooklyn Heights/Bridge/walking around interesting and quiet streets. It was wonderful to escape back here at night from Manhattan.

Book now!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITCHINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philly
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2010

where do i happily begin:)....when my bf and i 1st arrived, we were already impressed by the chic design of the outside of the hotel, as we entered, again, we were over joyed by the design layout, cleanliness, quietness and quick check-in!!

the staff was like none other!!! unbelievable!! Mike, esp, is the man!!! Lol. Since we were not from the BK, we inquired about dining and dance hotspots, he immediately researched the hottest spots while we chilled/sipped in the lounge watching the all-star games...:) Mike suggested "SEA" and what an amazing suggestion!!! we had a blast!!! the thai cuisine was amazing (the wait was approx an hour, dj was playing the hottest house tracks-the bomb and the service was quick, friendly and attentive!!!)

we stayed 2nights and wished we were staying longer---we cannot wait to return to write on the blackboard with our colored chalk!! haaa...yess how kool of them to have a blackboard in the bathroom on the wall:)

ohh,lol, the continental breakfast was cute and intimate:)...it takes place right in the lounge area....:) (boy does that hotel know how to utilize there space-lol)

NU, thanx for making my bf/i's vday weekend feel sooo warm and welcomed!!! we hope to see you soon:) keep doing what you are doing!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antmisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
Thanks for the review! We're glad we were able to be a part of your special weekend! Mike says hello! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.4 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#23 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,028 reviews
1.0 mi away
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
#4 of 72 in Brooklyn
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#26 of 72 in Brooklyn
599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Property: NU Hotel
Address: 85 Smith St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NU Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing