We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Arrived at hotel only to find that our discount reservation company hadn't gotten the necessary info to them. Unlike some online complaints, front desk staff patiently worked out the glitches and surprised us by giving us a major upgrade to a suite. We loved our room and have only good feelings about our treatment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tennisaceWayne_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hi tennisaceWayne_PA,

Thank you for the excellent review. We have a very caring staff. I've had a good amount of travelers tell me personally the online negative comments are like night and day. They love this small boutique and sassy hotel and enjoy the attentive happy go lucky staff. I thank you for your kind words. Please come back and visit us again. All The Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

My partner and I stayed just one night just to try some local experience back in late 2012 during holiday season. Room was clean and well organized. We enjoyed our room. Front desk, not quite. Lack of smile and didn't feel like professional enough. Overall I gave it a C+. For budget travel, it's doable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimplyEasyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Hello SimpleNYC,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay a year ago. I invite you to come back soon. As the new GM for this property a lot of new & exciting guest service initiatives have taken place since 2012.

Sincerely,
JP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I arrived very ill to the hotel. I was made to sit in the lobby for 2 hours while they sorted out a clerical error, despite the fact that they were assured that the necessary paperwork was forthcoming. Then, by the time that was cleared up, they had given away our reservation. We were accommodated into a suite, then forced to move rooms again the next day. When I asked to be allowed to stay in the room as I was really sick, and was unceremoniously told "NO". Others in our party were put into a room with one bed instead of a double. We are seeking a refund.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DurgaMcBroomHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Hi Durga,

As the GM for the hotel you & I worked personally to resolve the error made by this 3rd party. I bought you complimentary drinks at the Wxyz bar in our lobby as my team worked to quickly resolve the matter with your contact. I think my genuine care and kindness speaks volume considering the circumstances at hand. Wishing you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

While attempting to make a reservation for this hotel, I noticed that the pet policy stated that under normal conditions, accompanying dogs can only weigh 40 lbs or less. The policy stated that exceptions could be made if you spoke with the general manager. I emailed the manager and explained my situation and gave brief info on my dog. He simply referred me back to the policy and didn't bother to explain why the policy stated to contact him in the first place. I will not be staying at an Aloft after that exchange.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Hi Stephen

I have a dog as well and completely understand your frustration. Our policy state pets must weigh less than 40lbs. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

offers good value for money and exactly what it promises. close enough to the metro. only 15mins form manhattan. The rooftop bar has a magnificent view. unfortunately there was quite a bit of construction work being done around the area which could affect the lower floors.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Henri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hello HenriL,

Hope you had a safe and restful flight back to London. The 360 degree panoramic rooftop view is amazing I have to say, I hope you took a lot of pictures. As for the new build going up near our complex, the onsite construction supervisor agreed to do everything possible to accommodate our concerns. Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Pros: Good location. I was staying for business and the hotel is in a much less hectic part of the city while still being close to many subway stops. There are a good number of places to eat around as well. There is a nice fitness area and even a pool and in general the place has a nice chill vibe. The room I stayed in was more than adequate. No complaints there.

Cons: The staff all seem to be very young (immature) I don't think I saw anyone working there who was older than 23 years old and I didn't get the sense they understood what good customer service really meant. They were just there doing a job and weren't thoughtful in their interactions with you. Maybe that goes with the vibe - we're too cool to be professional? The other thing is, don't order food from the bar. It takes an insane amount of time to get your food. I ordered a slice of cheesecake one night and it took about an hour to get to me. I ordered a small pizza another night and it was about the same.

I would stay here again. But only if I was looking to save money and really didn't care about staying at a place with a professional staff or decent food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hello Matthew,

Thank for taking the time to share your experience with us. The pros, I agree with you. The cons, my new operator is remodeling an absolute amazing new ethnic fusion restaurant to showcase our Brooklyn Culinary skills. He admits taking too long servicing the Wxyz bar. The much anticipated grand opening is in November. As for my staff, “I Love My Staff!” I invite you to read all the positive reviews about our amazing & "Professional" staff – including the mothers over 30 years of age.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The downtown area of Brooklyn is not pretty, charming, or rich with any offers of adventures. But the hotel is definitely an urban cool-hunter's dream. Front desk staff is friendly and eager to please ( we had an issue with our room upon check-in, but the front desk staff immediately shifted into high gear and resolved the problem to our complete satisfaction.) Bliss bath amenities were very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Euvites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hello Euvites

Thank you for the " Great Staff Review!!" Safe Travels my friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 74 in Brooklyn
620 reviews
0 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#13 of 74 in Brooklyn
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 74 in Brooklyn
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#9 of 74 in Brooklyn
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft New York Brooklyn

Address: 216 Duffield St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: £88 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft New York Brooklyn 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the Brooklyn Bridge and downtown Manhattan, Aloft Brooklyn offers a hip and exciting accommodation with an urban-influenced design and a social scene that's always a buzz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing