We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with dog”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We needed a place for one night in Brooklyn prior to a cruise. Aloft was the perfect find.
We found a wonderful restaurant just a few blocks away. The drive to the cruise dock was a piece of cake. A bagel stand just across the street made it feel like "real New York."
Dog accommodation was no trouble. We brought a travel crate, so we were confident leaving him in the room while we went out to dinner. The staff welcomed him with lots of petting and sweet talk.
The room was bigger than expected for a NYC property, and the king-sized bed was fabulous.
We will look for Aloft next time we're in Brooklyn and anywhere else as well.

Room Tip: Others have complained of neighbor noise in double rooms. We did not have any trouble with our king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear DarinF,

Thank you for the great 5-Star review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

While trying to find a reasonable accommodation during our visit to NY, came across aloft. Though I was sceptical about staying in Brooklyn with the distance etc from all sights & sounds, but given the Starwood brand hotel and the proximity to subway stations (per the website) and of course the reasonable tariff for the room made it our choice. The hotel had a modern twist to it but retained the basics of great Starwood hospitality!

Check-in: The check-in was extremely smooth and quick.

Access: as the hotel website suggests, the hotel is within 5-10 minutes walking distance from at least 4 subway stations which then takes you to any place uptown or downtown. So it wast far from Manhattan at all and we could actually come back in the evening for a quick rest before heading back into town. It is 2 mins walk from the Fulton Street which has various stores (like Gap, Banana Republic, Macy's, Nordstorm) and also a few eating places close by. For someone who gets overwhelmed with huge stores, these were a relief and I actually managed to shop a fair bit in these stores. The hotel is next to Sheraton which had a starbucks also...Also cafes like Shake Shack, Au bon pain etc were also 5 mins walk away.

Accommodation: The room (we had booked at a higher floor basis reviews from other TripAdvisors) was spacious enough with sufficient luggage storage as well as desk space. Free wi-fi was extremely welcome! The bed was extremely comfortable which meant a great sleep after a fun day in town. The bathroom was, as expected, small but convenient. The only drawback for me was putting the coffee maker on the same slab as the wash basin...not what I wanted but a minor cross!

Others: The hotel has a take-as-you-go breakfast, which we didn't try. We walked down to Junior's on the staff's recommendation and had a typical American diner experience. The lobby area is very well done and different from other properties.

Room Tip: Higher floors with street view are good. Does give you a view above the buildings nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBharadwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear NBharadwaj,

Thank you for the great and extensive review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Safe Travels

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

While out of the way, the hotel has great subway access to many lines, making it easy to go west to Manhattan or East to Queens and JFK. It is only a stone away from the Brooklyn Bridge. The room is a decent size for New York and well furnished. You get a real coffee machine, a fridge, plenty of desk space, a safe big enough for laptop and a funky/retro alarm clock. The bedding and towels are of good quality and the bed is really comfy. The shower is excellent. I would suggest that you get your breakfast elsewhere as there is not much to choose from. Computers are provided but the printers would not print for the two nights I was there. Wi-fi is good and fast.

Room Tip: Room 402 is above the Roof Terrace (only open at weekends) and facing a construction site which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathalieFlore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the Five Star great review ! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Overall it's been a good experience. There are a few things to be aware of. First check in reps do not tell folks about the elevator which equals crappy customer service. You can't see the sign either cause it's super dark in it to get a nightclub feel. You have use your key card to use the elevator to get off on the right floor. There is no sound proofing or lack of sound proofing. Rain woke me up at 5 am and I am a heavy sleeper. If you are above the 22 floor you can hear the club music. To get the roof top bar, you have exit hotel and go 2 doors down. Parking is $35 per day with one free leave per 24 hrs. Parking guys were shady and some had no teeth. Subway 3 train is on the same block easy access. 3 stops to Manhattan (10 mins).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hello Sandra S.,

Thank you for taking out the time to share your experience with us. I apologize you had difficulty using your key card to access the floors; we have this measure in place to protect our guests. We hope you come back soon. Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

While not much to do around the hotel - this gem in Brooklyn is close to every subway and very easy to get to Manhattan for business. The area is near the Manhattan bridge on the LES. I loved the Aloft sensibility and amenities (free coffee) and ease of transportation on a budget.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank foxygoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear foxygoodness,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A very nice hotel, super comfy bed/pillows, high tech everything - proximity room key for both room and elevator, fast WiFi, quick check in/out. The room wasn't big but nicely designed. The showers was great! The price was quite reasonable and we dined at a few good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Subway was a stone's throw away and while the hotel web site advised that construction noise was possible, we heard nothing from our 11th floor room. Overall, would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DParris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear DParris,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Was given 2 beds which I thought was odd since I was one person... Room was nice and clean. Was slightly annoyed when I wanted to go to the pool in the morning and was told it was closed and going to be open at 5pm which was obviously several hours after check in. The pool was one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel. Keep that in mind if this is an interest of yours as well. Could have gone with a cheaper hotel without that amenity.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 74 in Brooklyn
622 reviews
0 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#14 of 74 in Brooklyn
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 74 in Brooklyn
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.2 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft New York Brooklyn

Address: 216 Duffield St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: £83 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft New York Brooklyn 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the Brooklyn Bridge and downtown Manhattan, Aloft Brooklyn offers a hip and exciting accommodation with an urban-influenced design and a social scene that's always a buzz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing