We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value appropriate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Staying in Brooklyn was a first for us. A true breath of fresh alternative air from the bustle of manhattan. Would recommend staying in B without hesitation. aloft has a fantastic staff member named Catherine. Her attention to minute detail will serve her well in this industry. Kudos to her. The paper thin walls and active local construction leave a bit to be desired. Bring earplugs. But the room was perfect. Clean. Amply stocked. I would recommend and even stay again. The highlights: local farmer's market in Columbus Park and the walk across Brooklyn Bridge. The skyline. The views the proximity. Fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRmama123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear GRmama123,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! I will certainly share your review with Kathryn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were in Brooklyn this past weekend for a bachelor party and opted to stay at this hotel. It had an awesome "hipster" retro vibe and the hotel lobby was beautiful. The front desk staff was super friendly and upon learning why we were in town provided us with a comp bottle of champagne. The elevators were nothing like I had seen with its padded walls, blue lighting and pressure activated flooring ( we did ride up and down a bit the first time not realizing you have to tap your card to press your floor button). The rooms were small, but so can be expected in NYC but they were updated and carried the same vibe. The bathroom was awesome with the walk in waterfall type shower.

The front desk remained friendly throughout our stay and was helpful on giving ideas on where to party the night we were there. The hotel has access to the rooftop bar next door at the Sheraton which was fun. The checkout time was originally 12 (which seemed later than most) and they even extended it an extra hour for us knowing we might have trouble getting up in the morning.

The one and ONLY reason i could not give it a rating of 5 was that at about 9am the cleaning staff started knocking on our door. I figured they would know we hadnt checked out yet or that checkout wasnt until noon, BUT i would not use this as a reason to avoid this hotel or to not visit again.

The location was in a great part of Brooklyn and within walking distance to shopping galore and the barclays center. There is some construction ongoing around the hotel but as we stayed on a weekend it did not impact us and will only enrich the area once completed.

Room Tip: I suggest getting a room on a lower floor since the club music from the roof can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Hi Matt,

I’m pleased you got to experience the great hospitality that so many others have come to enjoy from the Aloft Brooklyn Hotel staff. You are now one of them, we hope many more will follow in your footsteps. Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Aloft is among the best, perhaps the best, value for my hotel dollar. It's in a terrific location in downtown Brooklyn, very convenient to much of what Brooklyn offers, and easy access to lower Manhattan as well (it's about a 40-minute walk to cross the Brooklyn Bridge starting at the hotel). It's about a 15-minute walk to the Promenade; and close to an array of terrific restaurants and bars, too. We were there to get married, and we mentioned it to Melissa when she asked what brought us to Brooklyn; not 10 minutes after we got to the room, she surprised us with champagne and fruit. It was great. We'd stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: The views of Brooklyn from the rooms on the west side of the bldg. are really good; but they won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hello Ray,

I’m pleased you got to experience the great hospitality that so many others have come to enjoy from the Aloft Brooklyn Hotel staff. You are now one of them, we hope many more will follow in your footsteps. Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Don't forget your clothes at the room or they can disappear.

The rooms are good. Front desk and room service not at all. Far from a fair breakfast.

I forgot my shorts at the room on check out, hours later couldn't find it.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Altair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hi Altaire

I remember being briefed on this, my supervisor went up to the room and did not find any guest items left behind. It's a possibility it was packed because I've seen this happen countless times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Yes, there's construction all around the property. Didn't bother us as we are early risers anyway & heck, it's New York. Front desk and bartender gave us tons of good transit information and a great restaurant recommendation. Room was comfortable, clean and functional, and quiet (we were there midweek). We experienced the same "no queen rooms, switch to king" situation that other reviewers have noted -- not sure why the hotel overbooks queen rooms. Can't be that hard to determine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hello JB,

Once the construction is completed for the retail shopping complex within the year, this area will become a mecca for the world to come visit. Thank you for 4 stars along with the excellent staff review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at Aloft. It's such an affordable reprieve in the heart of downtown Brooklyn. The staff has been exceptionally friendly, and helpful both times we were there. We had to store our bikes during our stay, and they helped us get them from the car into the check room, no problem. Love the pool table in the lobby, and close by cool bar. We had fun. And the beds are super comfortable too! Very quiet for a New York hotel.
We'll be back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philsfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for the great compliment and the love you have for our staff. We work so hard to make sure every guest leaves the aloft Brooklyn very satisfied, your review has validated our hard work. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

First time for us in an Aloft hotel. Booked online for cheaper rate and for $139 night could not have been happier. We arrived at 5:30 to check in (3 of us) and our pre- paid double room was no longer available. Poor us, had to suffer with being put into a suite for the same price! Living room area, flat screen, separate bedroom. Really nice stay. Exercise room had enough equipment for us all. Beds were comfy, room was clean. Only issues I had were water pressure in shower was non existent and ice was on the ground floor. Thought $45/night for valet parking was steep but not in their control, I'm sure. Front desk people very friendly and overall I would consider returning when back in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hello Chefette,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I’m happy you found our hotel to your liking. Hopefully the next time you return to Brooklyn you book your reservation here at the Aloft Brooklyn. Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 73 in Brooklyn
620 reviews
0 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#13 of 73 in Brooklyn
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 73 in Brooklyn
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#9 of 73 in Brooklyn
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft New York Brooklyn

Address: 216 Duffield St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: £88 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft New York Brooklyn 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the Brooklyn Bridge and downtown Manhattan, Aloft Brooklyn offers a hip and exciting accommodation with an urban-influenced design and a social scene that's always a buzz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing