We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb customer service”
Review of Brooklyn Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brooklyn Suites
England
2 reviews
“Superb customer service”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

When relocating to New York I stayed in Benjamin's 17th St apartments for a week in July and then later with my family for 2 months. In all I have stayed in 3 of the 4 apartments at this property. They were great for a short-term stay and helped us get settled in the city.

Good points - subway station (R train) is just around the corner, taking you directly into Manhattan via Atlantic Avenue where you can change for many other subway lines. Apartments are clean, safe and well-maintained. There is a grocery store across the street. You are close to Park Slope (especially the shops and restaurants of 5th Ave) and a 15-20 minute walk from Prospect Park.

Bad points - the traffic can get loud at night if you have an apartment with the bedroom at the front and 4th Avenue is a very busy street. You are not quite in the centre of things, but walk a few blocks and you can be very quickly.

The key thing here though is that the customer service offered by Benjamin really is fantastic. He clearly cares about providing a great service to his customers. He and Enrique, the super, were always willing and able to tackle any issue no matter how big or small. We pestered them quite a bit and they were always responsive and accommodating of our needs.

I can't comment on the other properties but I am sure if you stay in any apartment managed by Benjamin you are in good hands.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPulpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    56
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
48
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I did not know what to expect when I landed in Brooklyn in January for a new job! I picked Brooklyn Suites sight unseen - via web site and trip advisor reviews. I have to say that from the beginning I was so pleased with the accomodations. Granted….it was a bit of a shock for someone who was used to 1,300 square feet but still from day one I felt at home and welcome. I think I have stayed in almost every unit available at 331 State street over the last nine months and enjoyed them all for their unique charm and quirks! My short term three month stay turned into over nine and each time I needed to extend a stay, I was met with flexiblity and kindness (even after too many complaints to count about the heat!)

The location is near many major train stops (2/3/A/C/G/N/R/D) and three stops from the Financial District. A delightful grocer (Brooklyn Fare) is directly around the corner as is one of the best restaurants in the neighboorhood (Bijan's - be sure to stop in and say hi to Alex, Erica and Larry!) The Barclay's Center and Target (among other things are all a short walking distance away.

Ben and Enrique are incredibly responsive and I never felt like I was just a customer. I have traveled extensively in my career and they ave provided a level of service and accommodation that I find rare in this world.

Room Tip: Many of the units only have dorm size refridgerators; be sure to plan ahead for grocery shopping and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrudBMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed for a month at 331 state street, it was a great experience!
Friendly neighbourhood, good hosting, nice cleaning service twice a week and so close to Fulton mall and Manhattan!
When I go back to NYC I will definitely stay here again!
Thank you so much Benjamin for making my fifth visit to NYC the best ever!

//Kristian

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josefsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We were visiting New York for a 1 month program in a nearby institute and needed a furnished short term rental. Brooklyn Suites was a cross between a hotel and a vacation rental so it seemed suited for our needs. We rented the studio 3R which came with a large king size bed, a sofa bed, a small coffee table, airconditioning, ceiling fan, flatscreen TV, free Wifi, a fully functioning kitchen and a bathroom.

PROS:
1. Great location! State Street is perhaps one of the cleanest streets near downtown Brooklyn. The neighbourhood is pretty safe unless very late at night(but where is it safe really late at night anyway right?), very close to subway stations(A/C/G/2/3), and walking distance to downtown Brooklyn.
2. Great food, restaurants nearby. Smith Street and Court Street have rows of good Zagat rated restaurants, bars and coffee shops, and alot of them are open till pretty late. Another great thing about State Street was an amazing grocery store just around the corner called Brooklyn Fare. They sell just about everything as well as alot of good organic food.
3. Extremely well maintained. There is biweekly towel service as well as weekly linen service. This saved us alot of trouble of having to go to the laundromat to do towel laundry!
4. Fully functioning kitchen. You only need to bring food. All utensils and cooking supplies are ready.
5. Number pad security. Each apartment is given a number code that is used to enter the building and your individual apartment. If you're the type of person who is always losing or misplacing keys this can be a very convenient and safe option.


CONS:
1. A little cramped. Well, this is New York so what would you expect really? Rent is high and space is scarce so the space is definitely small. If you're the type of person that has to have their sleeping area and eating area clearly seperated then you may find this studio room a little inconvenient.
2. No laundry facility in the building. Although the 24 hour laundromat is a 10 minute walking distance from the apartment, it was still a little inconvenient that there was no laundry facility in the building.
3. Beds are very soft. This is definitely a subjective comment, as I like my beds to be a little more firm, but I've been around alot of hotels and the bed at this apartment has gotta be the softest mattress I have ever used! Caused us a few body aches here and there but if you're the softie type then you will love it!
4. Parking is a nightmare. But once again, it is the city. Street parking is free but they have road cleaning hours, so once a week you will need to shift your car over to the other side. Parking spots are difficult to find.

Overall, our stay was pleasant. Benjamin and his staff were extremely friendly, helpful and accomodating. When a comment or question is raised they are extremely quick to solve the problem. The location is a HUGE plus, and the building is well maintained and clean. A friend of mine who has been living in New York for all his life commented that this is definitely a very clean building compared to most places in New York. We had no trouble finding things around the neighbourhood(bookstore, UPS, post office, 24 hour Rite Aid), so it was definitely a good choice for us. Thanks Benjamin!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saeunpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the family suite on Classon Ave. The apt is clean and spacious, which gave us (04 adults) a feeling that we were at ou own home in NYC.
The nearest subway station (Franklin Ave.) is just a 10 min walk away, and only 04 stops to Manhatthan, making it all very simple and fast to move around. We loved the hints from a booklet provided by management, who is also very attentive. (We called Benjamin for some instructions on how to use the shower). As for safety aspects, we had no problems even considering that some days we got back in the apt after midnight. I definitely recommend a stay in the Brooklyn Suits at Classon ave.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdsf64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting NYC. It is a short walk from the subway, which made getting into Manhattan and the other areas of NYC very easy. While I didn't necessarily feel unsafe w/ my husband w/ us, I probably would have felt unsafe without him. During the day, it was no big deal, but at night, when we would come home for the day, things got a little sketchy. However, that being said, I would still stay there again:) We stayed in the family suite, and it was exactly as described. Make sure to bring soap and shampoo/conditioner, though, b/c there is none provided. The unit had just been cleaned, which I do appreciate, but did retain a strong smell of cleaning products during our entire stay. We weren't there much, just early am's and again at night after our day was through, so it might have smelled due to the fact that we would turn the window units off during the day since we weren't there. Overall, it was the perfect bang for our buck, served its purpose, and provided with us w/ a great place to lay our tired heads at night. While in Brooklyn, I recommend eating at Grimaldi's pizza (downtown Dumbo), and if you have kids, visiting the old-school carousel in downtown Brooklyn, near the Promenade. Also, walking into Manhattan via the Brooklyn Bridge is lots of fun and memorable, and very classic "New-York"!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We (2 adults, one youngster) stayed in the Family Suite at 464 Classon Avenue. It suited us down to the ground - it's quite spacious, well-equipped, light and bright, in a lovely quiet friendly neighbourhood, and really only about 20 minutes from the easily-walkable local subway stops to mid-town Manhattan. The information-booklet that the owner Benjamin provides is perfectly judged - lots of good up-to-date local info as well as what you need to know about the apartment. We'd happily recommend Brooklyn Suites to anyone visiting NYC!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StudyTripOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.4 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.2 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#11 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.2 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#9 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#24 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklyn Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklyn Suites

Property: Brooklyn Suites
Address: 331 State St, Brooklyn, NY 11217-1726
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklyn Suites offers fully furnished turn-key apartments to serve your temporary housing needs in beautiful Brooklyn, New York. From linens to cookwear, WiFi to HD TV, our extended-stay apartments are completely turnkey and ready to go. Ready to let you live your life the way you want to. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn
Brooklyn Suites New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing