We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful brownstone in a lovely section...... warm and welcoming room, easy parking and friendly, accomodating hosts.”
Review of Inn on Second

Inn on Second
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Second
Ranked #7 of 57 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
“Beautiful brownstone in a lovely section...... warm and welcoming room, easy parking and friendly, accomodating hosts.”
Reviewed 21 April 2010

The only problem, and it was our mistake, not to know it, was the shared bath.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
34
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We highly recommend the Inn on 2nd. Joe and Fran are very friendly and helpful Innkeepers who clearly take pride in their Inn and go out of their way to make their guests feel at home. The Inn is located on the second floor of their classic & beautiful Brooklyn brownstone. There are two very pleasant, large rooms that share a small but clean and well-stocked bathroom. The bathroom is stocked with good-quality shampoos, conditioner, lotions, toothpaste, hair dryer, etc--all the basics you might need if you don't want to bother with schlepping your own toiletries. There is an A/C and fridge in each room that is stocked with water, juice, milk and candy. There's also a coffee maker and supplies. The beds have excellent mattresses and comfortable down comforters. The rooms are quiet and have pleasant views of the leafy street and backyard areas. The only sound we heard was that of the birds chirping in the mornings. Smith and Court Streets, with tons of great restaurants, bars, and boutiques are right around the corner, and downtown Brooklyn and Prospect Park are short walks away. There is no maid service and no breakfast, but this wasn't at all a problem for us as it obviously helps keep the price down--this is an incredible deal for lodging in the heart of Brooklyn! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Joe is one of the most helpful, honest and gracious hosts I have met in my travels, but after you are settled in he gives you plenty of space. His B&B is in a great neighborhood in Brooklyn on a block of historic brownstones , and the interior has been nicely restored. The bed is very nice with excellent sheets as well. There are only two rooms that can be connected for large families. The room in the front has a view of the neighborhood and the room in the back has a computer. The only downside is that the shared bath is cramped. For me no big deal and when you consider the price for what you get in the New York market a bargain. Also one block from the F train and four stops to Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LunarTic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We just took our first trip to New York and this Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful place to stay! It is located just down the block from a subway station (F Train), making Manhattan easily accessible. The location is also within walking distance of Brooklyn's "Restaurant Row" on Smith street, another fantastic plus!

Fran and Joe are accommodating hosts that do a very good job at making sure their guests needs are attended to without being intruding or nosy. They are very helpful and knowledgeable of the city. The rooms are clean and well kept with plenty of space. There is high speed internet access for laptops and desk space in each room. Another huge plus is that their guest bathroom has just about any toiletry you could imagine, which is very helpful for the forgetful packer (like myself!).

I would highly recommend the Inn on Second, it has the true cozy feeling that only a Brooklyn Brownstone can offer!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CycleHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We recently had a recording project at Systems Two and needed to have a comfortable
place to stay for ten nights. We were referred to Inn on Second in Carroll Gardens area of Brooklyn . We went out to see it and from the moment we met Joe and Fran, I knew we were in the right place to relax and focus on the project without distractions. Very Clean, with Very Comfortable Beds, pillows, plenty of towels, a fridge stocked with milk, oj, water, soda and most importantly a coffeemaker !
We felt so comfortable that when we left for home I felt like I was leaving home ......
The inn is so convenient to the F train and some great restaurants for which there is a
map and compilation of menus of provided in the room. You should know there are stairs and two rooms with a shared bathroom and No smoking . We will be staying there again. If you are tired of overpriced hotels and sterile business environments try a room at the inn on second and enjoy this turn of the century home in a great neighborhood with Joe and Fran as your hosts. And while your there be sure to check out some jazz music . Sharon LaMotte and Bill Gerhardt

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharenjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#14 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
0.8 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#13 of 72 in Brooklyn
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Second? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Second

Property: Inn on Second
Address: 60 2nd St, Brooklyn, NY 11231
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our 19th century Brownstone building in quiet Carroll Gardens. We are located near all the restaurants on Smith Street and Court Street as well as the "F" and "G" subway lines at the end of our street with easy access to Manhattan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Second Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing