We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great value”
Review of Inn on Second

Inn on Second
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Second
Ranked #7 of 57 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location and great value”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This Brooklyn spot was SO ideal for my husband and I for our short trip to NY. It is very convenient as it is very near many restaurants and pubs and is also close to the subway station. The hosts are very friendly and willing to help out with any questions or concerns.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestorun9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
34
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We know New York really well but having always stayed in hotels in Manhattan, this time round we really wanted to try Brooklyn. I've always wanted to stay in a brownstone and having read positive reviews for the Inn on Second we booked 3 nights before heading up to the Catskills.

In short, we had a lovely stay with our hosts Fran & Joe who were friendly and incredibly helpful but also not too intrusive which is key, I think, when you are staying in someone's house.

Guests stay upstairs, and we had a nice double room in the back of the house with an armchair and fireplace. Comfortable, clean and nicely decorated, the room also had a desktop computer (very useful), fridge, coffee maker & kettle. Along with ground coffee & tea, they provided fresh milk, juice and bottled water which was a nice touch and much appreciated. The bathroom is shared (not something I usually go for) and quite small - but we actually didn't mind as it was really clean and nicely done plus there was an array of toiletries for you to use. It made a welcome change after a day out and about to skip up the steps of a 19th century brownstone instead of a hotel. One very minor point and I freely admit not at all important to a great majority of people - there was no TV (coming from London we like to catch some US shows and news when we are over).

Carroll Gardens is a friendly neighbourhood with a family feel. The house is well located next to bustling Smith Street and a block from Carroll Street subway and therefore really easy to get into Manhattan. There are great places to eat nearby (we are both foodies so this is important). For breakfast on-the-go try Bagels Cafe (corner of Smith and President St), a casual breakfast place serving everything from pancakes & bacon, eggs any style and bagels for a couple of dollars. For lunch or dinner try the well reviewed Buttermilk Channel (fried chicken & waffles + pecan pie sundaes to die for), Prime Meats and Frankies all on Court Street. It's also well worth taking a jaunt over to nearby Park Slope (5th & 7th Ave) for it's hip shops and cafes while taking in its wonderful brownstone buildings.

Based on this lovely and reasonably priced stay at Inn on Second we have decided we will probably always stay in Brooklyn when we come to New York. We liked the balance of the hustle and bustle of Manhattan and the laid back vibe of Brooklyn and think this is the perfect way to achieve it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globehopping_birdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2010

The only problem, and it was our mistake, not to know it, was the shared bath.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We highly recommend the Inn on 2nd. Joe and Fran are very friendly and helpful Innkeepers who clearly take pride in their Inn and go out of their way to make their guests feel at home. The Inn is located on the second floor of their classic & beautiful Brooklyn brownstone. There are two very pleasant, large rooms that share a small but clean and well-stocked bathroom. The bathroom is stocked with good-quality shampoos, conditioner, lotions, toothpaste, hair dryer, etc--all the basics you might need if you don't want to bother with schlepping your own toiletries. There is an A/C and fridge in each room that is stocked with water, juice, milk and candy. There's also a coffee maker and supplies. The beds have excellent mattresses and comfortable down comforters. The rooms are quiet and have pleasant views of the leafy street and backyard areas. The only sound we heard was that of the birds chirping in the mornings. Smith and Court Streets, with tons of great restaurants, bars, and boutiques are right around the corner, and downtown Brooklyn and Prospect Park are short walks away. There is no maid service and no breakfast, but this wasn't at all a problem for us as it obviously helps keep the price down--this is an incredible deal for lodging in the heart of Brooklyn! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Joe is one of the most helpful, honest and gracious hosts I have met in my travels, but after you are settled in he gives you plenty of space. His B&B is in a great neighborhood in Brooklyn on a block of historic brownstones , and the interior has been nicely restored. The bed is very nice with excellent sheets as well. There are only two rooms that can be connected for large families. The room in the front has a view of the neighborhood and the room in the back has a computer. The only downside is that the shared bath is cramped. For me no big deal and when you consider the price for what you get in the New York market a bargain. Also one block from the F train and four stops to Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LunarTic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We just took our first trip to New York and this Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful place to stay! It is located just down the block from a subway station (F Train), making Manhattan easily accessible. The location is also within walking distance of Brooklyn's "Restaurant Row" on Smith street, another fantastic plus!

Fran and Joe are accommodating hosts that do a very good job at making sure their guests needs are attended to without being intruding or nosy. They are very helpful and knowledgeable of the city. The rooms are clean and well kept with plenty of space. There is high speed internet access for laptops and desk space in each room. Another huge plus is that their guest bathroom has just about any toiletry you could imagine, which is very helpful for the forgetful packer (like myself!).

I would highly recommend the Inn on Second, it has the true cozy feeling that only a Brooklyn Brownstone can offer!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CycleHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We recently had a recording project at Systems Two and needed to have a comfortable
place to stay for ten nights. We were referred to Inn on Second in Carroll Gardens area of Brooklyn . We went out to see it and from the moment we met Joe and Fran, I knew we were in the right place to relax and focus on the project without distractions. Very Clean, with Very Comfortable Beds, pillows, plenty of towels, a fridge stocked with milk, oj, water, soda and most importantly a coffeemaker !
We felt so comfortable that when we left for home I felt like I was leaving home ......
The inn is so convenient to the F train and some great restaurants for which there is a
map and compilation of menus of provided in the room. You should know there are stairs and two rooms with a shared bathroom and No smoking . We will be staying there again. If you are tired of overpriced hotels and sterile business environments try a room at the inn on second and enjoy this turn of the century home in a great neighborhood with Joe and Fran as your hosts. And while your there be sure to check out some jazz music . Sharon LaMotte and Bill Gerhardt

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharenjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#12 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,043 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
0.8 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#13 of 72 in Brooklyn
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Second? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Second

Property: Inn on Second
Address: 60 2nd St, Brooklyn, NY 11231
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our 19th century Brownstone building in quiet Carroll Gardens. We are located near all the restaurants on Smith Street and Court Street as well as the "F" and "G" subway lines at the end of our street with easy access to Manhattan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Second Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing