We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feeling at home in Brooklyn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 56 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feeling at home in Brooklyn”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We had a most outstanding stay at the Blue Porch and we enjoyed it from the first to the last minute. It was outstanding by any means.

The room is spacious and comfortable and provides space for your luggage and is very quite. Together with the comfortable bed we got a perfect good night's rest. The quality continues with the bathroom we had with it's great shower and the double sink.

The breakfast that is served is magnificent. Besides fresh fruit arranged as a pleasure to the eye we has different types of homemade muffins and cake as well as some other specialties always accompanied by a great coffee as well as matching music.

Trudy and Paul are great hosts. They made us feel welcome and we enjoyed discussing our plans for the day and the experiences an discoveries we made throughout our tours.Especially as they always had good suggestions and helpful hints and maps as well as a nice talk with us.

Anytime we come back to New York and Brooklyn there will be no second thought for us where to stay. The Blue Porch it is!

We recommend this place to all of our friends going to the areas without any hesitation. Thanks to Trudy and Paul for our wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
59
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

If you desire lodging in NYC but not the hustle and bustle of staying in-town or the impersonal feeling of a large hotel, please consider the marvelous Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast in nearby Brooklyn...an easy subway ride away. My husband and I spent two nights over the recent Presidents' Day weekend and can't speak highly enough about our stay with Trudy and Paul. They make you feel right at home and will do whatever to be helpful and show kindness and caring. You will enjoy their delicious breakfasts with fresh fruit and homebaked breads, as well as their wonderful hospitality and comfortable accomodations. We hope to return upon subsequent trips to New York City and hope you will consider staying with Trudy and Paul as well. They make you feel like family!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BroadwayFanForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haute-Savoie
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We've spent one week with our two daughters in NY for Christmas. It was a fantastic week, thanks to the such lovely and calm Blue Porch B&B. Trudy and Paul are so kind and interesting, always trying to find out how to help us with plans and restaurants adresses or new ideas to visit the town. They have such a lovely house, completly restful, with many facilities. The bathrooms are perfect, the beds are fantastic, everything is so clean, and I don't say anything about the breakfast, it will be your surprise if you visit them. OMG ! They've immediately understood our tastes, and they've never tried to influence our choices but they've just gave us the best. Thank you again for this great and new american experience !
Superbe séjour à NY, le B&B est formidable, propre, spacieux, tout équipé (produits de SDB, eau, sèche-cheveux, etc.), très proche du métro. Il y a pas mal de restaus dans le coin, même si Brooklyn vous semble loin de Manhattan, c'est un super quartier qui vaut le coup. Trudy et Paul sont très sympas, très cultivés, et pourvoyeurs de super conseils de visites, de restaurants et autres. Le petit-dej est une tuerie, ne pas manquer les scones à l'aneth, un must !
Nous recommendons absolument cette jolie maison. Merci encore à eux.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mania2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed at the Blue Porch ( a Queen Ann style victorian house) for 2 nights and it felt like a wonderful retreat. The house is beautiful and the rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable. Truly and Paul are intelligent and sensitive hosts who are passionate about caring well for their guests and ensuring hat they have a great stay. They went to a lot of effort to help with finding information for us on trips out in Manhattan and Brooklyn and the breakfast table looked like a "still life" painting. Trudy is an excellent baker and made us the most delicious scones and cakes and freshly prepared fruit plates. The B&B is close to the Metro station and local shops and restaurants and it's interesting to spend time in Brooklyn which has a brilliant museum and botanical garden as well as ingesting buildings. Truly and Paul are kind, warm hearted and caring - go and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My wife and I spent two wonderful nights at the Blue Porch B & B in Brooklyn, surprised by the atmosphere of culture provided by the two hosts, both musicians. Apart from our discussions on various topics, were delightfully surprised at the variety of home-baked breads served at breakfast. Reservations should be made as early as possible to book the room with the bathroom on the same floor. We had to take the other room, which also has a separate bathroom, but on the floor below. We certainly will be looking forward to saying there again.

Room Tip: make reservation early to get best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erwinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast is the perfect Brooklyn Retreat. We stayed with Trudy and Paul during a hectic weekend delivering some antique furniture to our daughter who relocated to this lovely Brooklyn neighborhood just a few weeks earlier. The Blue Porch B&B is simply charming and within easy walking distance to fabulous restaurants and the subway if you wish to visit anywhere in the city. Brooklyn has it's own unique charms, cultural events and sites, but it is not so far off the beaten path that you can't easily get to Manhattan and see the sites, too. What is great about Trudy and Paul's B&B is that you feel like you have returned home after all the busy events you choose throughout the day. And, don't be disarmed by their reference to a "continental breakfast". That sometimes means you are on your own with a box of cereal.....Not here! Trudy is a fabulous cook and in addition to the fresh fruits, yogurt, cheeses, artisan breads and preserves, and oatmeal, she makes a mean blueberry cornbread and breakfast biscuits. You will not be disappointed! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in the Blue Porch for 3 nights. It was right after the hurricane and even though Trudy & Paul must have had a particularly stressful week in the run up to our stay they were excellent hosts and made us feel right at home.
The breakfasts are delicious and they're more than happy to help out with maps and recommendations for the local area.
Both Trudy and Paul are interested and interesting, we would definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone looking for a more homely NYC stay.
The room we had was a great size and way more than we could have afforded if staying at a bland hotel in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
6.6 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 71 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#15 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
6.9 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 71 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
4.4 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 DeKoven Court, Brooklyn, NY 11230-1707
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast is owner occupied and run in a home built in 1904 in Victorian Brooklyn. Our two bright and airy guestrooms are located on the second floor. The bathroom is private for you and your party, whether you choose one or both bedrooms. One of our guests said it best: Your hospitality is the best in NY! On future trips, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Blue Porch Bed And Breakfast Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing