We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting good friends”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 58 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 December 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed into Paul and Trudy's home. We truly enjoyed visiting with them, our conversations together, and learning from them about their city. When departing, we felt like we had come to visit good friends. Accommodations are excellent, clean and comfortable rooms in a beautiful old home. Trudy's breakfasts are incredible. Convenience to public transit great. It is the time with Paul and Trudy, however, that make a visit to the Blue Porch really special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffandDeniseW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Trudy and Paul and truly excellent hosts. Their home is truly amazing. Beautiful clean rooms. They give excellent advice as to how to get around and where to go. Pay attention to Paul's recommendations. The breakfasts are out of this world. Trudy is a great cook. This is my first bed and breakfast experience and I am truly pleased. Their home was an oasis in the chaos of NYC. I will be back.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

From the time you enter the front door and are greeted by Paul and Trudy you will be glad you chose the Blue Porch for your stay . Trudy and Paul are talented conversationalists and are interested in so many subjects. Paul is an accomplished musician and they have a lovely grand piano in their front parlor. Trudy makes the most delicious breakfasts: homemade biscuits with herbs from her garden, caprese with fresh red tomatoes from the local farmer's market topped with fresh mozzarella and basil pesto...I could go on. We were with them 2 nights and it wasn't enough. We hated to say good-bye. We will definitely return if the fates allow.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a very large and beautiful bath available and then there is another smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailrunnerOpelikaAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Going to NYC to see our newest grandchild....where to stay? Let me say that we are not typically B&B travelers but we just might become one after the wonderful experience we had at The Blue Porch! Beautiful Victorian home, wonderful accommodations and best of all fascinating hosts have caused us to reconsider our travel preferences. I wish I had some criticism for Paul and Trudy so I could help them improve their accommodations but alas I have none. Thank you so much for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dixon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I and our 20-year old daughter stayed at the Blue Porch for four nights this past August. As stimulating and entertaining as New York is, we count our time conversing with Paul and Trudy as among our most treasured memories. They opened up their beautiful home and personalities to us, treating us more as long-lost prodigal friends than paying guests. They combined to prepare an incredible breakfast table, guaranteeing that every day began well! When we needed advice or directions, Paul was "on it", anxious and able to provide whatever we needed. The neighborhood is lovely and access to the subway was convenient. New York City was approximately 25-30 minutes away. There is also much to do and see in Brooklyn and I highly recommend making time for Brooklyn Heights, DUMBO and Williamsburg.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Blue Porch. Trudy and Paul are the perfect hosts who made us feel like part of the family and were full of interesting and helpful information about New York. Their home is beautiful with lots of character and original features. Our huge bedroom was lovely and well-equipped whilst the bathroom with twin basins was luxurious. There were many special touches such as fresh garden flowers in the bedroom and bathroom and information cards with interesting walks, some of which we did.

The house is on a very quiet street, a 10 minute walk from the subway stop. There are some very good restaurants in the area and we would recommend Adderley Farm which has a great atmosphere and lovely food.

We would thoroughly recommend a stay at The Blue Porch. From the very warm welcome to a lovely, friendly send off we felt at home from start to finish and will always have very happy memories of our stay.

Jo and Louise, Leigh on Sea, UK.

Room Tip: We would recommend the bedroom with first floor bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We recently returned from a 6 night stay at the Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast, and it our great pleasure to be able to add to all the wonderful reviews this bed and breakfast has received from its prior guests. Our accommodations were excellent, a spacious bedroom with large closets, a modern private bathroom with a double sink, bathtub and shower, and great breakfasts with lots of fresh fruit and excellent coffee. The Blue Porch is situated on a quiet street just a few short blocks from a subway stop. We particularly enjoyed the friendliness and hospitality of our hosts, and greatly appreciated our interesting and helpful conversations. When we left for home, we genuinely felt that we were leaving friends behind. We hope to be able to make the Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast our place of stay whenever we return to Brooklyn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
3.8 mi away
Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Loralei B&B
The Loralei B&B
#2 of 58 in Brooklyn
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Arlington Place Bed and Breakfast
5.7 mi away
Pod Brooklyn
Pod Brooklyn
#6 of 58 in Brooklyn
26 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#15 of 58 in Brooklyn
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 De Koven Ct, Brooklyn, NY 11230-1707
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range: £91 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast is owner occupied and run in a home built in 1904 in Victorian Brooklyn. Our two bright and airy guestrooms are located on the second floor. The bathroom is private for you and your party, whether you choose one or both bedrooms. One of our guests said it best: Your hospitality is the best in NY! On future trips, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Blue Porch Bed And Breakfast Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing