We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carnaval!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miss Favela

Miss Favela
Ranked #1,560 of 5,296 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Brazilian, Latin, Spanish, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Carnaval!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I went to check out Miss Favela to celebrate Brazilian Carnaval. We ordered a few pitchers of mojitos which were pretty good & the live band played some good music. The restaurant was also broadcasting the Carnaval from Brasil on the TV. I had a few appetizers some were tasty my favorite being the Bolinho de Bacalhau (codfish croquette) and the pastel's de carne. The yuca fries with cheese weren't that great.
Its a very small hole in the wall kind of spot that gets crowded really fast. if your not into crowds dont go to Miss Favela, but if your into a good time good music & mojitos definitely find your way there.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Wanderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    8
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brazilian Delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

This tiny little restuarant is around the corner from the Toshi Hotel where we stayed. We went here on our 2nd night in New York and it was a good experience. The food was delicious. The Mojito (I believe it was) was delicious. It was an alcoholic drink with leaves in it. You can order a big jug and refill your drink while you dine.

The atmosphere is inviting. The staff is very nice and friendly. They make the visit worth it. Go there and check it out!!

  • Visited November 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ladykat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
“The worst service that i have ever seen in my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

When you go in a restaurant the minimum that you wish, i think is a good service and good food. It is a leisure moment. You need enjoy it.

But unfortunately, when I was there i had a stressful moment because the staff were too rude.

I did not have time enough to try the food, because i cancelled my order.

The service does not looks like a Brazilian service that i know in São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro.

I hope that it were better. The price is rip-off, when I speak about the service that the restaurant offers.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RenataAmador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like Being in Rio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We went for their $8 lunch special with friends, tried each of the choices, fish, beef and chicken which came with greens, rice and black beans. All agreed they were delicious, not to mention the Caipirinhas. The colorful interior, open windows, music and excellent service added to the party atmosphere. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guppybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
“STAY AWAY!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Gross, awful food, totally microwaved out of the freezer. Stupidly overpriced, unbelieveable! Beer served no Ikea cups, smelling like sweet syrup. FOOD POISONING - starting throwing up right at the end of the meal. STAY AWAY, DONT GET FOOLED BY THE APPARENTLY FUN ATMOSPHERE!

Helpful?
Thank gianlucalatini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miss Favela also viewed

 

Been to Miss Favela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing