We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serenity at Home Guest House LLC
Ranked #14 of 56 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just like home”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was in NYC for business and stayed at Serenity at Home solo for two weeks. The atmosphere of the house and the warm company made my stay feel just like I was staying to visit my family. The house is close to the train station, prospect park, and some really amazing pizza (ginos). Best of all was the owner Zenobia with such a genuine warm personality, who was also very generous (I think I just got lucky because I didn't indicate my arrival time, but I was greeted with blueberry cookies fresh out of the oven when I first checked in!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DylanW1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
14
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We really liked staying there:) the host was really nice (thanks:) )... We had a perfect room! There was a bedroom AND a living room next door, with a couch/tv/dvd recorder and about 40 DVDs... And the rooms/house in general gave us the impression of "being at home". It looks like a typical Brooklyn family house, yet with lots of pretty details like lamps etc.
Really enjoyed it!! Only thing we didn't like that much was the shower. Since it was model that was standing on it's own in the middle of the (bath)room, the head of the shower was not installed in a wall so basically you had to hold on to it while showering. Oh well. :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corinne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed in this Guesthouse in november and it was the first time I visited New York.
It's a very warm place and the personality of Zenobia (the owner) is everywhere in the house.
You can stay in your room with your own privacy or have a little talk with Zenobia when she's in the house.
Only little defect: don't flush the toilet more than needed :))
The house is very clean and there's a rich self-service breakfast every morning.
The inside of the house and the rooms are warm and smart.
You gonna be accompanied by background soft Jazz music and a warm welcome while having breakfast or when you come back home after a long and freezy day.

Zenobia has a great personality and she's discrete at the same time and ready to help if you have any kind of problem.
I'll come back there for sure, I spent a very good week.

Ciao
Tiberio

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiberio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Serenity at Home lived up to its name as we spent five very relaxing days in Brooklyn. The hostess was warm and welcoming whilst not being intrusive and the house was cosy and warm. Homely touches such as fresh flowers on the table and bathrobes for the guests made you feel really at home. If you are looking for somewhere to stay "in the city" this is not it as there is a 30 minute subway ride into midtown Manhattan however this is reflected in the price of the room- a price you would never get in midtown Manhattan and the surroundings were so quiet we always got a peaceful night's sleep without the wailing of sirens. Nearby Flatbush Avenue offered lots of reasonably priced eateries and we enjoyed our stay so much we would definitely return there again.

Room Tip: We had our own private bathroom with a stand alone bath and this was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We came to Brooklyn for a five night stay.
Our first impression was good - the B&B is in a quiet and lovely neighborhood - ok, the main street, Flatbush Ave, does not look so lovely on first sight, there is a lot of traffic (honks!) and many waste containers on the sideways - but it is not so bad!
The subway is less then 10 minutes (footwalk) away, the line Q to Manhattan operates all night.

The B&B host is a really nice person - friendly and helpful. She offered us her collection of NYC tour-guide-books and helped us out with a Brooklyn - Prospect Park map and useful hints... we had also good conversations after breakfast.

The house is an old brick-house, with wooden floors and wooden stairs. It resembles an eighties television-comedy house in NYC. Our room was sufficient furnished, Wi-Fi was available.
Breakfast is served at a huge wooden table in a salon-like room with a fireside. We had coffee, tea, fresh fruits, yoghurt and bagels...everything you need.

Altogether a good place to stay, but: it was not really clean. We had spots and hair on our bed sheets and spots on the towels. there were cut beard hair all around our lavatory, the former white bath mat was more gray, in corners lay chunks of dust and mousetraps - but the worst was a _real_ mouse in our room!

It showed up during the first hour after our arrival and was confusingly running around before disappearing under the bed (oh great!)
ok, we found an apple in one backpack, when we looked for the reason why the little m came out of his hiding place. we quickly eliminated (=banished) the fruit from the room and thereafter, we heard every night the tripping sound of little feet _inside_ the walls - but at least we didn't see it/them any more.
To be fair: there is a warning inside the "guest information": no food allowed in the rooms. Ok, we quickly knew why - and we obeyed every upcoming minute of our stay !

But thereupon we could not feel "at home" or comfy anymore.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melli_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
voorschoten,
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The host maks you feel soo welcome. it really felt home way from home! Located in an peaceful sidestreet in Brooklyn, with prospect park and metro close by, this is a great stay. The B&B is in an big old beautiful house. You do share the badroom and the floors make noise, but that didn't bother us. Breakfast is at a big table and you are free to use the fridge. All rooms are different decorated an differ in size. We had the small topfloor bedroom facing the garden. Comfortable en quit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjaVoorschoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My Mum and I booked Serenity at Home through Hostel Bookers as we were looking for guest house style accommodation rather than a boring Manhattan hotel. Serenity at home is now working with another guest house across the street which is where we stayed. We also spent time having a cup of tea and chat with the very lovely Zenobia at number 57. Michelle who is host at number 44 was equally lovely, very friendly and welcoming.

The guest houses are based in a Brooklyn neighborhood, which we found to be diverse and interesting. We enjoyed having a different perspective of New York, being around real New Yorkers and seeing everyday neighborhood life. We felt safe to walk around the main street and from the subway at night. Everyone on this trip was very friendly and helpful, quite different to the tough, hard New York attitude that is often portrayed in the media.

The subway at Prospect Park was a ten minute walk away and we were only 15 min from Times Square station. Our Metro cards were useful and each journey was about $2.25 and you only swiped on entering the first station, so if you were needing to change lines you were not charged anything further as you don't leave the next station to do this. Unlike in London where they work out the amount of zones you pass through.

The houses are beautifully decorated and there is lots of original wooden floors and furniture, a very old and homey feel. Huge bathrooms which are shared but were always clean and we never had to wait for it to be free.

We had access to a kitchen at number 44 which we used to keep milk, cereal and juice. We could also use the kettle to make tea. Zenobia also encouraged guests to come for breakfast, she always had tea, coffee, fruit and bagels. We very much enjoyed our conversations with Zenobia which gave us insight into the U.S and real NY life. We also had nice chats with Michelle when we came home in the evenings and got to know her well which made staying with Serenity at home very comfortable and we felt so welcome.

Our room was very pretty and super clean, we had fresh towels provided when we needed them. Slept well on good beds.

At the end of the street there is a main road with plenty of shops for supermarket items, great pizza on the corner of Rutland road- we sat and ate ours on the steps outside number 57 which was a lovely experience when you see so many people doing it in films and shows like Sex and the City. Watching the row of other brownstones and life go by.

Zenobia and Michelle were both helpful and full of local information for trips or which subway trains to get. The subway was a bit confusing to us at first as we assumed it was like London and colour coded. However in addition to the colour codes there are numbers or letters and then on the map you can see which stop at different stations as they might not stop at all on the same colour line. I downloaded a free app on my iphone which I could look at without using wifi.

We had free wifi in the house and it worked well for emailing, using facebook or searching for areas to visit the following day.

We also used a pop up map from Amazon and another that had Brooklyn and Queens included which was useful.

We bought a New York Pass ( https://www.newyorkpass.com/prices.aspx ) which was good value but you had to work hard to make sure you got the maximum out of it. We saved about 60-70 pounds each when we added up the cost of individual tickets. We did do more than one activity included in the pass on some days to make it worth it. This was easy with pre-planning and doing things in the same area rather than going backwards and forward.

Also the walking tours need to be booked in advance and the food on foot tours were completely booked past when we were there. I would suggest paying extra for them to mail you the passes and guide rather than waiting to collect in NY. That way you can plan what you want to do, book anything that requires you to in advance.

Other top trips- Coney Island via the Q train which you get from near Rutland road was fantastic for a day by the sea, beach, funfair, NY aquarium and boardwalk. See a Broadway show; we saw Wicked we bought tickets in advance from http://www.broadway.com/ and collected them before our show. It is hard to buy tickets on the day or near to the day. The radio city music hall stage door tour is also good.

We went to Harlem to the Lenox Lounge, caught the 7 train to see some parts of Queens like, Corona, Flushing and Jackson Heights, We did the Real Bronx tour by Bus which you can do with New York Pass. Our guide for this tour Mike was just fabulous and it was interesting to see and hear a more real New York story.

We did all the usual Manhattan city sites which were great to see and do. Ate very cheaply either in diners, street stalls or close to Rutland rd the pizza or other food outlets. Hells Kitchen area is also meant to be excellent and much better value than Times Square area. Mike gave us that tip.

We walked everywhere to experience all the different neighborhoods. The contrast between Times Square, the East Village, Brooklyn, Fifth Avenue, Harlem and Coney Island is vast and not to be missed.

We would definitely stay with Serenity at Home again if we were to come back to NY. It was just super and made our trip to leave and come back to our lovely brownstone home each night. We were sad to leave them!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEVON644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.1 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#15 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
2.6 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#12 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#23 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity at Home Guest House LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity at Home Guest House LLC

Property: Serenity at Home Guest House LLC
Address: 57 Rutland Rd, Brooklyn, NY 11225-5312
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Serenity at Home Guest House LLC 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity at Home Guest House is an alternative to the standard hotel stay. Our Brooklyn Bed and Breakfast provide guests a snapshot view of how everyday New Yorkers live and thrive in the Big Apple. We are located in the beautiful Brooklyn Lefferts Gardens.Enjoy Prospect Park minutes from the house. Or take a train ride into Manhattan and experience New York City Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Serenity at Home Guest House LLC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity At Home Guest House LLC Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing