We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we didn´t look for something else !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Serenity at Home Guest House LLC
Ranked #14 of 59 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We used the Internet for finding this place.and we went for the good reviews (yes, the were a few not so good ones and we would denie them all). At the end we stayed 10 nights with Zenobia and if we decide to visit NY in the future, we will definitely try to stay there again. It´s the house, the coseyness, the music and especcially the host who made it like having a your own home in the Big Apple.
It´s easy to get to Manhattan and we really apreciated it to live in Brooklyn for a short period. As sensational as Manhattan is, to see where the "common" People live, is, at least for a non US- citizen, a very nice side effect. Shopping is cheaper in downtown Brooklyn. There are beautifull parks, museums and great Restaurants. We did not get to see everything so there´s another reason to get back to Zenobia !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

It always feels like arriving back home when we come to Serenity. The beautiful old brownstone with large comfortable rooms and comfortable beds with nice linens could be enough by themselves, but Zenobia is a very special person and is truly the icing on the cake. She goes out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable and like part of the family. I can find quibbles with the shower and with finding enough places to park toiletries, hang clothes, etc. (not to mention the dearth of available parking) but these pale before having a place that's reasonable, convenient, quiet, comfortable, homey and safe.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a shared bath, which may not be your preference. The third floor shared bath though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

There are so many things to recommend this place, great hospitality, thoughtful design, extremely comfortable beds and high quality linen. The thing I liked about it best was that I could hang out in Brooklyn and pretend to be a local for a few days.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Midlander1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was in NYC for business and stayed at Serenity at Home solo for two weeks. The atmosphere of the house and the warm company made my stay feel just like I was staying to visit my family. The house is close to the train station, prospect park, and some really amazing pizza (ginos). Best of all was the owner Zenobia with such a genuine warm personality, who was also very generous (I think I just got lucky because I didn't indicate my arrival time, but I was greeted with blueberry cookies fresh out of the oven when I first checked in!)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DylanW1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We really liked staying there:) the host was really nice (thanks:) )... We had a perfect room! There was a bedroom AND a living room next door, with a couch/tv/dvd recorder and about 40 DVDs... And the rooms/house in general gave us the impression of "being at home". It looks like a typical Brooklyn family house, yet with lots of pretty details like lamps etc.
Really enjoyed it!! Only thing we didn't like that much was the shower. Since it was model that was standing on it's own in the middle of the (bath)room, the head of the shower was not installed in a wall so basically you had to hold on to it while showering. Oh well. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corinne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed in this Guesthouse in november and it was the first time I visited New York.
It's a very warm place and the personality of Zenobia (the owner) is everywhere in the house.
You can stay in your room with your own privacy or have a little talk with Zenobia when she's in the house.
Only little defect: don't flush the toilet more than needed :))
The house is very clean and there's a rich self-service breakfast every morning.
The inside of the house and the rooms are warm and smart.
You gonna be accompanied by background soft Jazz music and a warm welcome while having breakfast or when you come back home after a long and freezy day.

Zenobia has a great personality and she's discrete at the same time and ready to help if you have any kind of problem.
I'll come back there for sure, I spent a very good week.

Ciao
Tiberio

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiberio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Serenity at Home lived up to its name as we spent five very relaxing days in Brooklyn. The hostess was warm and welcoming whilst not being intrusive and the house was cosy and warm. Homely touches such as fresh flowers on the table and bathrobes for the guests made you feel really at home. If you are looking for somewhere to stay "in the city" this is not it as there is a 30 minute subway ride into midtown Manhattan however this is reflected in the price of the room- a price you would never get in midtown Manhattan and the surroundings were so quiet we always got a peaceful night's sleep without the wailing of sirens. Nearby Flatbush Avenue offered lots of reasonably priced eateries and we enjoyed our stay so much we would definitely return there again.

Room Tip: We had our own private bathroom with a stand alone bath and this was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#17 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,069 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 72 in Brooklyn
249 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#7 of 72 in Brooklyn
315 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
2.1 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity at Home Guest House LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity at Home Guest House LLC

Address: 57 Rutland Rd, Brooklyn, NY 11225-5312
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range: £78 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Serenity at Home Guest House LLC 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity at Home Guest House is an alternative to the standard hotel stay. Our Brooklyn Bed and Breakfast provide guests a snapshot view of how everyday New Yorkers live and thrive in the Big Apple. We are located in the beautiful Brooklyn Lefferts Gardens.Enjoy Prospect Park minutes from the house. Or take a train ride into Manhattan and experience New York City Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Serenity at Home Guest House LLC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity At Home Guest House LLC Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing