We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel that feels as new as it looks.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great hotel that feels as new as it looks.”
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Having stayed in multiple hotels in the New York area over the last few years, this is definitely the best hotel I've found in a moderate price range with very close proximity to Manhattan. The hotel meets all of the standards you'd expect from a modern Sheraton, including The Link in the lobby. The room had a great 42" flat screen TV, which I think is essential in a home from home environment today. Impressively most of the channels had HD cable, which is the first time I've seen that in any hotel, even when a flat screen HDTV has been present. The staff were very friendly and courteous.
The rooms are typically small like most New York hotels. There are three subway stations within a couple of blocks walk of the hotel and Manhattan is only two stops away on the F.
The only cautionary note I would make would be to solo travelers at night. While Brooklyn is an increasingly improving borough of New York, the immediate area around the hotel still lies in the murky rundown part of Brooklyn. While walking from the subway definitely stay alert as there are a few sketchy characters around and the streets are dimly lit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coirishalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    456
    237
    55
    76
See reviews for
333
280
101
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

very central location, clean & quiet, staff friendly, Jay St-Metro Tech Station just around the block or Borough Hall 3 blocks down the road.Taxis from/to 42nd street approx. $20. starbucks coffee in the room and huge (maybe too big for the room) flatscreen.
Matt & Alex were great as it was my birthday and my boyfriend arranged someting for me pre arrival as I travelled on my own Unbelievably comfortable matress & pillows (better than Paris, believe me)
Room service ok, cold fries but replaced after calling down to reception. Good value for money

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gold11LA_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

My organization held a meeting there and the staff was of no assistance. During our meeting people were talking and laughing. When asked for help with certain things, the was no sense of urgemcy. Forget about the General Manager, they were no better, if you're a paying customer, don't expect much respect from them.

The best people there were Maleta, Sales manager and Brian, who does all the events and just a couple of other people. But the rest of the staff needs training on customer service ASAP or maybe just another job!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caa429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

What is good in this hotel are the price, the pristine rooms and the staff.

I stayed in this hotel 5 or 6 time for 2 to 4 nights stays between may and september, so had the no restaurant and no pool issues, but now they are in and this is great.

My biggest complain, does concern the size of the room, which have been the smallest one, I had in Manhattan, but they were new, clean and comfortable.
This hotel is a good place to stay on business, but not sure if I will be using it for a romantic/leisure stay.

This hotel is relatively tall compared to the surrounding, so the chance, to get a room with a view are good (OK the city view in this area is not the best one, but still better than a blocked view). With some rooms in the back, you can even have a nice view of the Statue of Liberty and or Brooklyn Bridge.

If you are SPG member, or plan to book a room with lounge access, please note that the offering was poor at best, however looking at a poster with a more recent stay, this seems not to be the case.

I find the bar in the back, a bit dark, with a very friendly, Bob Marley look alike barman, who mixed a few gin based cocktail for me, before the Restaurant opening, the bar used in the evening was the one, overlooking the street, and found it more comfortale.

Now speaking of the location, the least we can say the area is in derelict state, with some heavy renovation, building going on. It is still a long trip to Midtown/Central Park.
However perfect for downtown Manhattan (working in the WFC,it taking me just a few minutes to be there).

Staff is great, bell, reception and bar staff were really friendly, you can get from them a very useful map of the area with all subway stations represented. I was even able to leave 1 piece of luggage, for a week-end during 2 reservations.
Only one did I face, slightly rude behaviour, it was on the opening day of the Restaurant, when someone looking like a top manager of some kind -never saw in previous and further stays- was pushing guests around (maybe more important people were attending this event ?).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertrand_FRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

The Sheraton Brooklyn has only been open for a few months. We would stay again. It was reasonable and the staff was gracious and friendly. The king room was small, but by Manhattan standards, quite roomy. The bed was unbelievably comfortable. They use a special mattress at new Sheraton's - fabulous. Finding a lovely hotel in Brooklyn that was only $175 a night, with great amenities, was a joy. And that was the total fee, tax included. Granted we stayed on a weekend, but it was still a steal.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I booked this hotel mainly because of the name associated (who doesn't know of the Sheraton reputation?) with the hotel, its location and the price (I got a deal on Travelzoo). I assumed that the quality of the hotel would be excellent, being that it's a Sheraton, the location was ideal for getting in and out of Manhattan and the fact that this is a near brand new hotel- how exciting to stay someone brand new!

Not only was this hotel incredibly clean, very close to the subways (it's near more than one direct route/express into Manhattan) but the staff are extremely friendly and the places to eat nearby are awesome. And that's not even talking about how amazing the bed was! It was like sleeping on a cloud! It was a very squishy bed with very warm bedding (but the option to not use a heavy comforter, they also provide a thinner duvet) and very comfortable pillows (not too squishy but not too stiff either).

The cleaning staff were very efficient in doing their job and the room was cleaned to a high standard each of the three nights we stayed there.

Staff: All of the staff I spoke with were friendly (esp. I believe it was, Nicole, who was extremely welcoming and sweet). They directed me to Crumbs (which is only about a 10-15 min. walk from this hotel) and Grimaldi's pizza (also about a 20 min. walk)--eat at both while you are here if you can as they are both excellent! They will gladly help you with any of your needs in the area such as getting to any other restaurants, calling your cabs (beware though, they can't call yellow cabs for you, only Lincoln Towncars), or just having a nice chat with you on your entrance or exit of this hotel.

Downsides:

Compared to the Hampton in Williamsville, NY where we stayed for a week before this hotel, this Sheraton is a smaller room. Its bathroom, room space and closet space were all smaller.

The shower did lose pressure usually once during each use during our stay (we were on the 24th floor though)

They do charge for internet use in your room (almost 15 dollars I think). Also, it's difficult to use the computers in the lobby and there are often lots of other noises in the area to distract and irritate you while you use these resources.

The area does feel a little unsafe at night, it looks slightly run down on some of the streets at night. We had no problems walking anywhere during our stay but I was traveling with a boyfriend so I felt more safe than I might have felt had I been traveling alone. Remember though, that this is a developing area and this type of environment may be expected and if you keep your wits about you (which you would in any unfamiliar area) you will be fine.

It does take about 20-30ish mins. to get into Manhattan from this location so make sure you plan for that AND that you get up early if you want to maximize your time in the city.

It is a newer hotel so some of the cab drivers both in Brooklyn AND Manhattan have a difficult time finding this location. Take heart, keeping the hotel number is a valuable tip because they sometimes can call the hotel from a bluetooth in their cab and be directed to the location easily.

** We had a great stay overall and would recommend this hotel to friends, family or strangers. We hope you enjoy your stay at this up and coming Sheraton in Brooklyn. Don't forget to enjoy some of what Brooklyn has to offer while here instead of just skipping into Manhattan though, there is much to see and do here: Coney Island, Grimaldi's Pizza (which shouldn't be missed!), Crumbs bakery, Park Slope etc. Have fun!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieBlondepinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenson Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I have had the pleasure of staying in this newly built (Still being finished) hotel multiple times over the past six monthes and have been pleased to see the improvements and upgrades that have been put in place, both in the hotel and food service. The rooms are NY city small-- but very clean with wonderful comfy beds.The Grubsteak Restaurant and the food offered in the Concierge lounge are excellent and the staff is wonderful. I was worried about the construction in the area being noisy, but it has not been a problem. The traffic pattern is challenging and recent changing patterns have caused confusion for cab drivers. I love the location because I can walk to work, many restaurants, shopping and 1/2 price theater ticket vender-- plus the subway is nearby-- Times Square is a quick 15 minute ride. I plan to be a long time customer!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merry52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.0 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#23 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,028 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#26 of 72 in Brooklyn
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
0.3 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Property: Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Address: 228 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Brooklyn
#15 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, the area's newest full-service hotel, is 1 MTA stop from Manhattan near MetroTech Ctr, Bklyn Heights, and BAM. We have 4,300sq ft of meeting space and a rooftop deck. Pool Hours: Mon- Fri 5pm-10pm Sat- Sun 10am- 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing