We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Would Stay Again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Would Stay Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

The only negative thing about this hotel is that although it bills itself as "Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown" this is hotel is not near downtown Brooklyn at all. You must take a Subway to get downtown Brooklyn as walking is not feasible. Aside from that, hotel is great, clean, and still new. Staff is nice and friendly and breakfast from 6:30AM - 9:30AM is more than adequate for anyone. Although not in the best of neighborhoods, we never once felt unsafe at all and we've frequent come to the hotel between midnight and 4AM. The subway is a very convenient 5 minute walk from the hotel which will take you to downtown Brooklyn in 10-15 minutes and to Times Square in 35-40 minutes. Parking is extremely limited for those having a car while here. There are 8 parking spots in front of the hotel with at least one usually two being taken up by hotel staff. I would definitely stay in this hotel again as price and quality are a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TyTy-Buddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    107
    45
    5
    8
See reviews for
48
65
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Desoto, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

When I first arrived at the hotel I expected the worse. The neighborhood is not the greatest and it was kind of hidden at the end of the street. There were only about 10 parking spaces available at the front of the hotel maybe less so we had to park our car under the freeway bridge across the street hoping there was a parking space available in the morning but this is to be expected in NY parking is at a premium. Check in was quick and painless. When I arrived at the room it was much nicer than I expected it was very small but it was fairly new looking and the beds were comfortable. The hotel provides breakfast in the morning from 6am to 930am.The breakfast items were not bad, they had fruits, yogurt, juices, eggs, sausages, waffles,etc. The dining area is small but we were able to get a seat each time we went. i recommend going early. Overall the hotel was great but very overpriced at $169 per night (I got it for less but that is the going rate) for that price I could get a suite but this is NYC and all hotels are going for those rate or higher. if you are going to Brooklyn I would suggest this hotel, all restaurants and shops were near by and the subway is only 3 blocks away on 25th street.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

If you are traveling to New York on a tight budget this is the hotel for you. The rooms are very small, but very clean and has everything you need. The breakfast was okay, but for it not costing anything extra it was very good. The 25th street station is a 3 1/2 block walk which takes about 5-10 minutes depending on how quick you are able to walk. The Subway station has the R train so the best route to downtown New York would be to transfer at the nearest junction station about 3 stops away called the N train which is an express train so you can avoid having to stop at every single stop if you just want to get to midtown Manhattan. The only thing I would warn against is if you are traveling alone the neighborhood might creep you out a bit walking through it at night time. The road the hotel is on is very dark and there is a lot of garbage and some vandalism so if you are afraid of being alone in an urban neighborhood after dark this might not be for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cancun
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed from 13 of may for 6 nights in room 406. Hotel is nice and comfortable ,with a big king size bed and almost new furniture. Free wifi,good continental breakfast with waffles,cereals,muffins,good service both at the front desk and in the breakfast area,where a kind indian lady is always ready to help.
The hotel is close to an highway so you can hear some noize during night...but nothing that can really prevent you to sleep, especially if you spent all day walking up and down the city
R line subway is just two blocks away and you can either use it to go directly to manhattan or use it to connect with Q express line (best option to reach upper manhattan )

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side of the building probably get less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Jut got back from 9 day stay in this hotel. It is located in Brooklyn, but is in easy reach of Manhattan using the Subway which is 3 streets away and takes about 4 minutes to walk to. I purchased a $29 metro card, which gave me 7 days unlimited use of the subway - very handy. The hotel isn't in the best looking of locations, but as a single female traveller, at no point did i feel unsafe. The staff were helpful and friendly and assisted with any requests including printing tourist info for me.
I had a king size non-smoking room on the 2nd floor. The room itself is small, but the bed is large, the shower is good and it has a nice flat screen TV, fridge and hairdryer. I'm not sure what else you could want?! My room was cleaned to a high standard daily.
The free breakfast in the morning is good too (for a free breakfast!). I was able to have juice, a bowl of cereal and a bagel each morning. Someone makes waffles if you want one. There is also a computer in the breakfast room, which you can access free of charge, and print tickets etc from.
The hotel is the equivalent of a lower-end Travelodge in the UK & as with such cheap & cheerful hotels, you do get a diverse range of guests who will use it for a night out & think nothing of making a load of noise when they return at 3am. This only happened once or twice and after reaching for my earplugs it meant that i only heard them for a short time.
In summary, I feel you get more than you pay for when you book this hotel. You get a comfortable room in a conveinent location with a free breakfast and helpful staff for a low price - you can't do anything about your fellow guests though :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ali2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

First of all, thanks to the honest reviewers. We chose the Sleep Inn Downtown Brooklyn based on the reviews we read on Tripadvisor prior to our trip. We wanted a budget friendly hotel on the outskirts of Manhattan and that's exactly what we got. The hotel is conveniently located, clean and run by a discreet friendly Indian family. We arrived at noon on 2th May 2012 (taxi ride from JFK airport to the hotel costs $50 tip included) and management quickly checked us in. Within minutes of arriving, we were settled in our room (112). The room was exactly what we expected; clean, relatively spacious, nicely decorated with working appliances. There was a coffee machine, a fridge, an alarm clock, a plasma screen, a wardrobe big enough for the two of us. The bathroom had a big tub, clean towels, toileteries, and a hairdryer.

The 25th subway stop is two blocks away from the hotel and very easy to find. The N and R stops at all the major locations (cortdland street, canal street, union street, times square, lexington avenue, broadway, etc...). It will take you 45mins to reach Times Square. I recommend you get a 7 day pass Metrocard if staying for more than 4-5 days.

Back to the hotel description; the king size bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. However if you are sensitive sleepers, I don't recommend a room at the front of the hotel as it gets quite noisy. We slept with earplugs and weren't bothered.

One of highlights was the breakfast (included in the price) A rarity in North America. It is serves between 6:30 and 9:30 am. A lovely lady called Pushpe makes yummy waffles for the guests. There is a decent selection of eggs, sausages, bread, muffins, bagels, doughnuts, porridge, fruits, yoghurts, cereals and juices. The breakfast area is indeed quite small, but either get there
early or wait for your turn. People usually eat quickly, wanting to leave to visit Manhattan.

Overall we are very satisfied with our stay and will be returning to the Sleep Inn Downtown Brooklyn when visiting NY again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

As I'm not a "hard to please" traveller, this hotel was a perfect choice for me.
We had a non-smoking room with king bed. Bed was very comfortable and didn't creak.
Breakfast was very good as well, plenty of food like eggs, sausages, milk&cereals, fresh waffles, juices, etc.
One PC is located where the breakfast is served.
Location is perfect, I didn't notice any odd strangers or hookers or something. Yep, there are some funeral houses, but on the 4th avenue and c'mon the death is part of life and there is the Green-wood cemetery nearby ... which is good to visit because of nice architecture (gateway) at least :).
Subway is like two block from hotel.
And since you're in Brooklyn and you have a small hipster in your heart, you def have to visit some of the Sat or Sun flea markets.

Plus: breakfast, comfy bed, free wifi in rooms, cable TV, air-con, location, free parking lots (8-10 cars max), ...

Minus: don't know any which can be fixed by hotel. Maybe our room could be little bit bigger. We had three luggage and was impossible to have all three opened in one time :).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swoul84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel
0.2 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Brooklyn Sunset Park
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Prospect Park South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown

Property: Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Address: 134 22nd St, Brooklyn, NY 11232-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown Hotel Brooklyn
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing