We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Living Near the Cruise Terminal in Brooklyn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean Living Near the Cruise Terminal in Brooklyn”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This is a great little oasis of clean living in the middle of an otherwise, dirty Brooklyn, but the folks in the neighborhood don't reflect the mess around them. We had an excellent stay in a nicely appointed, though small, room. Breakfast each morning on the house was palatable and subway to Manhattan is only 3 blocks away. Friendly, accommodating service here. I will be back. Very near the port if cruising. MUST eat at Jake's Barbecue !!

Room Tip: C level rooms are below the street, but I imagine all the rooms are quiet here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTravelSavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    108
    45
    5
    8
See reviews for
48
66
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We were in town for a wedding in Brooklyn & this hotel was convenient to the wedding venue. It was a small room but it's price reflects this. The hotel was clean & the staff was friendly. The breakfast area had a good variety of choices. It was a short walk to the subway also.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nassau,bahamas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Got a single room with king bed here for 2 nights as I just needed somewhere to rest before meeting up with my family who were arriving later. Pre-arranged for an early check-in at 7 am and when i arrived i had no problems and everything went very smooth. Also needed a late checkout at 1pm which they gave to me and waived the $10 fee! YAY!
The staff is always friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good (for being free) and they have a couple vending machines for extra options. The hotel is very clean and the area never once felt unsafe. The hotel seems to be a bit out of the way from "downtown" about a $10 cab ride to atlantic ave/fulton st...but this wasn’t too bad. and they will also call a cab for you at any time.
Another great feature was that they held my packages that were shipped before my arrival for me. I had a bit of issue with this first because when i first called to confirm that they would hold my stuff, the guy was telling me they could only hold it if it arrives one day before my arrival and no longer. How can i guarantee that the stuff arrive one day before i do. Impossible.
but after speaking to two other gents, they confirmed they would be able to keep my stuff until i got there. which they did and no issue/fees or anything .
all in all, good hotel and id definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bahamalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Very clean new hotel in Brooklyn. We initially were worried about the neighborhood, but it was relatively quiet and safe. Hotel is near a subway station and NTC subway is quite efficient we had no transportation issues even later on at night after coming back from a show. Walla are quite thin. We were there at the same time as a group of teenagers from France and they were slamming doors till all hours and we heard everything in the hallway. Once they were gone however everything was fine. We stayed 5 nights and we had excellent service. Breakfast was okay with great service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTLcyclebuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

You choose this hotel to save money when Manhattan is your destination without compromising the most important things being safety and cleanliness.

Cleanliness rating is a 10. Looks like new(probably is as I saw another reviewer said it as a new construction).

Safety is a non issue although it seems to be the concern when considering hotels like this in an old urban location. The hotel is situated in the middle of an old urban very middle class, clean urban family residential neighborhood. Nothing much visually but I don't see any reason to fear for safety than anywhere else urban. There is nothing much in the surrounding area. Restaurants and shops on 4th ave is distinctively Spanish.

Parking is limited like any urban area. If you owned a car and lived in the city, you'll understand. Plenty of parking under the highway bridge 50 yds away.

Breakfast is good and a little more than basic with eggs and sausages in addition to the standard continental fare.

I got my room really cheap and got a very small King bedroom. Any cheaper I'd have to settle for a hostel and shared bath. But I got a very nice comfy king bed and bath. And I kept $200 in my pocket for equivalent room comfort on Manhattan.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyGuy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The only negative thing about this hotel is that although it bills itself as "Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown" this is hotel is not near downtown Brooklyn at all. You must take a Subway to get downtown Brooklyn as walking is not feasible. Aside from that, hotel is great, clean, and still new. Staff is nice and friendly and breakfast from 6:30AM - 9:30AM is more than adequate for anyone. Although not in the best of neighborhoods, we never once felt unsafe at all and we've frequent come to the hotel between midnight and 4AM. The subway is a very convenient 5 minute walk from the hotel which will take you to downtown Brooklyn in 10-15 minutes and to Times Square in 35-40 minutes. Parking is extremely limited for those having a car while here. There are 8 parking spots in front of the hotel with at least one usually two being taken up by hotel staff. I would definitely stay in this hotel again as price and quality are a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TyTy-Buddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desoto, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

When I first arrived at the hotel I expected the worse. The neighborhood is not the greatest and it was kind of hidden at the end of the street. There were only about 10 parking spaces available at the front of the hotel maybe less so we had to park our car under the freeway bridge across the street hoping there was a parking space available in the morning but this is to be expected in NY parking is at a premium. Check in was quick and painless. When I arrived at the room it was much nicer than I expected it was very small but it was fairly new looking and the beds were comfortable. The hotel provides breakfast in the morning from 6am to 930am.The breakfast items were not bad, they had fruits, yogurt, juices, eggs, sausages, waffles,etc. The dining area is small but we were able to get a seat each time we went. i recommend going early. Overall the hotel was great but very overpriced at $169 per night (I got it for less but that is the going rate) for that price I could get a suite but this is NYC and all hotels are going for those rate or higher. if you are going to Brooklyn I would suggest this hotel, all restaurants and shops were near by and the subway is only 3 blocks away on 25th street.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.2 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklyn Bay Hotel
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Brooklyn Sunset Park
3.2 mi away
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Pointe Plaza Hotel
#23 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown

Property: Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Address: 134 22nd St, Brooklyn, NY 11232-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown Hotel Brooklyn
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing