We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United States
1 review
“Convenient location, good price”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at the Best Western PLUS Arena Hotel for 3 nights in June. The price was very good for a Brooklyn-area hotel, and the hotel is very convenient to the Nostrand Ave subway stop (A/C). It is still a bit of a walk to the Barclays Center. The room was comfortable and had everything I needed. I would recommend asking for a room away from Atlantic Ave and not on the first floor. Breakfast was included and surprisingly good. The coffee was decent and the pancake maker was...entertaining. Also, the variety of food, from muffins, to cereal, to Greek yogurt, was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Keith C,

Thank you very much for your positive review of your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed our complimentary breakast including our popular pancake machine and that your room was to your liking. We do offer good value especially when you include the free limited parking, breakfast and free wifi compared to Manhattan hotels. Please keep us in mind on future visits to the Brooklyn/NYC area.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    235
    70
    11
    22
See reviews for
184
171
54
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights in June. The staff were all super friendly and helpful, I'm not sure how they managed to put together such an awesome team but they did and they are all a pleasure to deal with.
The daily breakfast was great! I love the pancake machine!! I'd never seen one before coming here but it made my breakfast even more enjoyable.
The room was perfect we had a room on the second floor and were looking out over the parking lot, it was always cleaned very well and the houskeeping staff were very polite and friendly.
The location is a little sketchy, but we never once felt threatened or uneasy. We went for a daily run in the neighborhood and never had any issues. The buildings and architecture are beautiful. I love history and seeing the buildings and areas down Nostrand St. made the trip more of an adventure.
We were a little apprehensive of the area when we first arrived, we took a Bus and Subway from La guardia to the world trade station and then caught a cab from there to the hotel ($18.00)because we weren't sure what to expect and we were arriving after dark. That was the last time we took a cab, the rest of the time we took the Subway into Manhattan and back to the hotel in the evening a 7 day pass is $30.00. One afternoon we were from the World Trade Station to our hotel in 18 minutes this includes walking up Nostrand to the hotel, you can't beat that!!!
When we left to return home we were flying out of JFK the night desk clerk said it would probably be $40.00-50.00 for a car service to JFK we decided on the Subway. We left the hotel at 4am and caught the subway to Howard beach and then the airtrain total cost $15.00 for the both of us.
I'm sold on this hotel and will definetly be back....I only hope it doesn't get too popular and have the prices go up!! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suncoastbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Suncoastbiker,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. As a senior reviewer we appreciate your candid feedback for fellow Tripadvisor readers to relive your experience as our guest. Thank you very much for commenting on the friendliness of our staff. Several team members have been here since we opened 4 years ago and some are new yet both understand the concept of exceeding expecations so I'm delighted you experienced that. We too love the pancake machine which is easy to operate and less messy than the waffle station.

Its true the neighborhood may not resemble Park Ave or Broadway, yet it is a working class area where its population are the people that make this city run 24/7. With time it will continue to improve and as you described it take less than 20 minutes to reach lower Manhattan and 30 to midtown. We are an affordable option compared to pricey midtown New York City hotels.

We would love to have you come back to Brooklyn on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We chose this hotel because of its easy access to Manhattan. And we were correct. You do have to walk a block or two in a questionable area but we always felt safe. The hotel itself was very nice, comfortable, clean, good breakfast and friendly staff. My only warning is that we took a cab from Laguardia to the hotel for around $33 and going back to the airport we used the cab contracted with the hotel and he charged $45. Pretty big difference and not much difference in traffic. I would get the fare quoted from the hotel desk before I used them again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Carol R,

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. Thank you for mentioning our clean rooms, friendly staff and good breakfast. These are important aspects of our service so Im glad to read they met your expectations. We are only a few blocks from the A/C Subway line which allows our guests to travel through Brooklyn into Manhattan and witness all our city has to offer.
Car services and yellow taxis are similar yet different. Yellow taxis can only be hailed on the street or picked up at designated taxi stands such as LGA, JFK, Penn Station. We are unable to call yellow taxis so since we are in the "outer boroughs" of NYC we rely heavily on taxi and Limosine Commissioned car services. They do not use meters rather have fixed or set fares which can be more than metered taxis. They account for traffic, waiting times when quoting a price and the $45 fee to the airport is not uncommon. Im sorry if you felt the price was a bit much.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
Gneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a great hotel with a wonderful staff. Reasonably priced, close to where we needed to be, clean and comfortable, good breakfast. Shantile in particular was super friendly -- when we checked in and every time we walked through the lobby!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Christine M

Thank you for your candid review of your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. Im delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning Shantile's friendly service during check in and every time you walked through the lobby. As a manager I never get tired of hearing about my employees making guests feel welcomed. I have shared your comments with her and she is humbled you mentioned her.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is a great value. The area is the only cause for concern; however, the subway is three blocks away, so easy access to attractions. The staff - Shantile in particular - we cannot say enough about her helpfulness and generosity. She went above and beyond for us daily, mapping each days visit for us to help kept us unlist and giving hints and tips for visiting Manhattan. The rooms are great, clean, big for nyc. Breakfast was very good, lots of choices. But we would stay here again because Shantile has made us a loyal customer.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidandtjmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Davidandtjmac,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. Judging by your comments we exceeded your expectations during your stay and one employee in particular made that happen. Thank you for mentioning Shantiles' willingness to go the extra mile to see to it that you had accurate travel information and that she was always helpful. Being a smaller hotel my staff can spend a few extra minutes with our guests and help create memorable experiences along the way. Im glad Shantile has made you a loyal customer.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

All in all we liked this place. It is not fancy but is certainly better than some of the other basic hotels in the area. Front office staff was warm and welcoming. The complimentary breakfast was certainly more substantial than the other local hotels. They have free parking on the premises which is a big plus. While we would probably go back to this hotel on our next trip to Brooklyn there are 2 minuses: housekeeping didn't check or clean the dresser after the previous occupants vacated so we found all their clothing and dirty laundry in the drawers (the front desk staff immediately remedied the situation); also this hotel has adopted the sad practice of shower gel, shampoo, and conditioner dispensers in the shower rather than providing individually wrapped/bottled amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan17584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Alan17584,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. Being a Top Contributor on Tripadvisor people can trust your comments and expect a very accurate report. Im delighted to read you enjoyed the friendly staff and the better than expected breakfast. Although short on parking spaces it appears you were able to secure a spot during your visit. I am equally sad to read we did a poor job of inspecting your room prior to your arrival. On behalf of my staff please accept our sincere apologies for our lack of attention to details. I am also sorry you do not approve of our shower dispenser. This tool helps us cut down on using those plastic bottlesand by using PAYA organic bio-degradeable gels and shampoos though we were helping the environment by using this delivery method.

In closing we hope the good outweighed the bad and would welcome you to come stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

My hat is off to LuLu, Cleo and Shantile. Everyone else were good too but these ladies went above and beyond. The hotel was fine for a mid priced hotel. The experience was good. However the area after dark was concerning. After dark we saw numerous rats on the street eating the trash and neighborhood felt dangerous, it was fine during the day just be smart. So if your not a night person this hotel would be good for you but the area needs serious help. Thanks ladies for making our stay comfortable, vic and cricket

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Charlotte V,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. I truly appreciate you recognizing Lulu, Cleo and Shantile as employees who went out of their way to make you feel at home during your visit. Being a smaller hotel we can often take a few extra minutes with our guests and provide stellar service.
Im sorry the neighborhood took away from your overall experience. We strive to be a positive role model for businesses to follow and see that they can suceed by relocating into a changing environment. We have little control outside the hotel but inside we promised and delivered a wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.9 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#8 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#15 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
1.9 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#9 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Arena Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Address: 1324 Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11216-2811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Brooklyn
#9 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#14 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Arena Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing