We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cortland, New York, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed at the Best Western Plus Arena Hotel in Brooklyn in early August. This hotel was a nice surprse. Unlike many hotels in the area, the lobby is actually very nice and the staff were very welcoming. Amy was very helpful with locating restaurants and accomodating my questions.

The room was nice sized for Brooklyn and I didn't feel cramped like I have in other hotels in the area. There was a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker in my room, so I was able to keep my items stored during my trip. Don't be intimidated by the neighborhood - it's actually close to lots of things and nice side streets to explore.

The only reason I did not give an excellent is that there is some construction going on and the front walkway is a bit tricky. Watch your step! All in all, I would be more than happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room to the back - it's quieter away from the street even though your view is the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Melissa T,

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay at the Best Western Arena. As a senior contributer on Tripadvisor fellow readers can rely on honest feedback about your experiences.
Upon reading yours I am glad we were a nice surprise when I came to our rooms and staff. Thank you for mentioning Amy as someone who helped you enjoy your stay.

I agree the neighborhood is not as bad as some reviewers describe. We are in the process of enhancing our hotels curb appeal by installing new paving stones in front of the hotel. Couple that with new LED lighting we recently installed once the project is completed the hotel will look beautiful both inside and out.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    235
    70
    11
    23
See reviews for
184
172
54
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a nice place to stay and convenient to the A/C line subway or LIRR stops. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful, rooms have a double window so you do not hear the LIRR cars, the breakfast was great - we loved the pancake machine!! Coming from the midwest, my only issue is the parking but there are several spots within a block to pay. The garage given to us at the front desk was full when we arrived at 10:30 pm but we found an open lot on the corner of Bedford & Atlantic that was half the price and attendants friendly. There is also street parking on Pacific which starts the residential area, just south.

Our tip when traveling to/from the subway line, stay to the east side of the Nostrand-Atlantic crosswalk. Panhandlers live under the LIRR train station.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Crew 480,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. Im glad you found us to be a nice place to stay and convenient to public transportation. We agree the double window design does dramatically cut down on outside noise. Thank you for trying the pancake machine. Its a true modern marvel and way less messy that the waffle irons.

Parking will always be our achilles heel. We simply do not have enough space at the hotel, but we do have two other parking options close to the hotel. Im glad you were able to take advantage of one.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Arena Hotel.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Best Western Arena hotel was selected by the bride and groom for their wedding guests. The wedding took place in the beautiful Brooklyn Botanical Gardens. As the grooms parents, we cannot say enough positive things about the friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel staff from the general manager Richard Murphy and, all of the front desk staff, cleaning staff and the breakfast room staff! The rooms were clean and cheerful, the complementary breakfast offered many delicious options including breakfast sandwiches, pancakes, boiled eggs and fruit. The subway is close by and makes everything very accessible. When exploring the neighborhood we found many interesting shops and restaurants, and felt quite safe! Parking was the only issue as it is everywhere in New York! However the staff went out of their way to make sure everyone had a spot! We highly recommend this hotel and especially the staff if you are visiting Brooklyn!

Room Tip: Everyone was happy with their rooms and we had 25 of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoweee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Yowee,

Thank you very much for your glowing review of your stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. You put a lot of faith and trust that we would be great hosts for your family and friends all 25 rooms worth during your sons wedding weekend. Based on your review it seems we did just that. It was my pleasure helping you with the arrangements and ensuring everything we spoke about we delivered. The wedding venue was spectacular as was the weather so you couldnt have asked for a better experience. Once again thank you for choosing the Best Western Arena Hotel, Im delighted you were happy with the overall experience.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is an excellent place to stay with choice places near the hotel to shop, dine, and explore... For the value, any newcomer/visitor to NYC would be very thrilled at the saving of this hotel's nightly rate, Money that can be truly spent elsewheres in the cIty....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 350ernestp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear 350ernestP

Thank you for you kind review of the Best Western Arena Hotel. Im glad to hear you found our rates reasonable and that allowed you to help stimulate the economy throughout New York City. We are close to public transportation and you can explore Brooklyn and Manhattan with relative easy since we have maps. We will have you traveling like a true New Yorker in no time.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIETRASANTA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here one night. The Hotel is clean and the Staff is very helpful. One young lady of the Staff was particularly helpful to us.
The neighborhood does not look very safe although we had no problem during our stay.

Room Tip: Ask a room on the other side of Atlantic Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LONGJOHNPietrasanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Long John

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay at the Best Western Arena Hotel. Im delighted to hear that your brief overnight stay was pleasant and that you found the hotel clean and our staff friendly. Your assessment of the neighborhood is correct. Not the best but you encountered no trouble. Nostrand Ave is a very busy street that has thousands of residents and tourists alike take the subway to work and explore this great city.

If future travel plans include the Brooklyn area, I hope we are your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Although not in the best area of Brooklyn, I see the Best Western Plus Arena as the next front of the continuing gentrification of Brooklyn. The room was very clean and the staff were very professional and friendly especially the lady working the breakfast room. Subway station was convenient next door upstairs. No problem staying again.

Room Tip: Rooms are new, fresh,stocked with everything a traveler needs even a linen-bathrobe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Glen M,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Best Western Arena Hotel. You have a keen perspective on the hotel and our amenities and the positioning of the hotel as the neighborhood continues to improve year over year. Having the subway close by and the Barclay Center about a mile away makes traveling throughout Brooklyn and into the Big Apple very easy and if you need help we have it all here to show you the way.
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for four nights. Staff really friendly and very helpful. However, really disappointed with breakfast. Food lukewarm and have to say its our first experience of eating from paper plates with plastic cutlery. Coffee was best thing about the breakfast. Also stopper in bath not working, reported this to reception day one, also day two, when someone did come and look at it. It was never fixed, so no nice hot bath. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Bob M,

Im sorry you were dissapointed in your experience with us. The drain should have been repaired on your first notice so you could have enjoyed a hot bath. Our deluxe continental breakfast is usually well received and offers a variety of fresh pastries delivered daily, yogurts, cereals and pancakes made in 1 minutes. We use paper and plastic since we do not have the space for a dishwasher. The products we do use are made from recycled paper as we try to reduce our carbon footprint. Glad you liked the coffee.

Regards,

Richard J Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.9 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#15 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
1.9 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Arena Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Address: 1324 Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11216-2811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#14 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Arena Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing