We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture looks nice, but neighborhood is not!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Picture looks nice, but neighborhood is not!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I booked this hotel for 2 nights for its close proximity to subway, Target, while trying to get my son settled into an apartment in Brooklyn. As a loyal Marriott member, I have to say I was quite disappointed. It was a large concrete tower in the middle of the projects. Rooms were extremely small, could hear through walls, next to elevator. To their defense, it was clean, had free breakfast and wi fi and nice rooftop view. However, it is definitely more than 3 blocks that someone mentioned to subway, Barclay center, shopping area. It seemed forever walking thru an extremely shady area. I only walked it once and took a $12 taxi back for < mile! Unless you have a car, it is not convenient at all. I cancelled my 2nd night there as I felt like I was stuck there and sure wasn't going to walk around at night. Oh btw, I can't believe their rates were same as the Marriott Brooklyn bridge for weekday. That place was fabulous in comparison!

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmcmill924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Hello from the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Brooklyn. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to the award winning Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott. Your loyalty to the Marriott family of hotels is appreciated and we thank you for choosing our hotel. Our new hotel has been awarded the tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence award for both 2012 and 2013 and we are currently ranked the #1 Fairfield Inn in the NYC metro area.

Brooklyn is not only the most populous borough of NYC, it is also by far one of the most culturally diverse and dynamic. The decision to build the Fairfield Inn in the Gowanus neighborhood of Brooklyn was as easy as it was smart. The neighborhood is one of the most exciting in the borough, it is where OLD New York is on a fast paced collision with NEW New York. The renaissance of this area is mind boggling, with the opening of the architectural wonder, the Barclay's Center to the under construction Whole Foods Super Center located just a few short blocks from our hotel on 3rd Avenue. Our guests who come from all over the world, enjoy the convenience of our hotel to the many amazing shops and restaraunts of Brooklyn’s 5th Avenue (2 blks from hotel) and the breathtaking discovery of tree lined streets with million dollar brownstones and the oasis that we call Prospect Park.

Thank you for your recognition of the cleanliness of our hotel and we were pleased that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary hot/cold all you can eat breakfast buffet and enjoy the spectacular views available to our guests from our amazing rooftop terrace. The next time your travels bring you back to Brooklyn, our award winning staff would again appreciate the opportunity to serve you and your family.

Sincerely,

Darren Piercey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    238
    56
    14
    17
See reviews for
215
126
29
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Quick weekend stay in Brooklyn to visit my daughter, and VERY happy with my stay! The hotel was fresh and modern. The quarters were a bit compressed, but clean which is more important. Better value for the price versus downtown Manhattan, and breakfast and free wifi is greatly appreciated. Too good to keep as my own little secret... Hope there are rooms available next time I visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cigi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We came up from Washington DC to visit my daughter who lives in Brooklyn. We found this place fairly close by to her apartment. It's a quiet location with very nice rooms. The hotel is clean & smells nice :-) The bed was a bit soft for our comfort but we still slept well. The breakfast is standard, meaning more than adequate. The HVAC system is very quiet! Hooray! The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the subway station. I'd definitely stay here again. Oh yeh, and the internet is good!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, basically,. You can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maura5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Maura5:

Greetings from the staff and management at the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Brooklyn. We would like to say "Thank You" for taking the opportunity to share your comments regarding your recent experience at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your excellent rankings for our guestrooms, the cleanliness of our hotel including our guestrooms , our service and our convenient location. At Marriott, we know how important it is to stay connected, and we have recently upgraded our complimentary high speed internet access which will allow us to offer some of the most reliable and fastest internet service available in the industry. Thank you for noticing! :-)

I have shared your great comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel with our housekeeping department. What a great morale booster and motivator. We are ecstatic that our hotel is currently ranked #15 out of over 700+ Fairfield Inn hotels nationwide for cleanliness of our guestrooms and are you ready for this, we are ranked #1 for the cleanliness of our lobby and public areas. Why do we work so hard? We do it for you and all of our valued guests, we believe in loyalty and taking excellent care of those who have made us the #1 choice for corporate and leisure travelers visiting Brooklyn.

Thank you again for your excellent review and we invite you back to our hotel on your next visit to the Brooklyn/NYC area. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Darren Piercey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Free Wi-Fi? Don't really care. Being over 50, all we wanted was a clean room, a good shower, and a good cup of coffee. The special gem of this hotel is the rooftop seating area, which was a nice touch with a seating area and a beautiful view. It was a great way to end the evening or start the morning. I was impressed with this hotel, but please remember that this is Brooklyn, so the lot may be full and you'll have to park on the street.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenuzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Super friendly staff, great view, and very new looking rooms. First time to NY area- was quite happy with the experience. The property also offers a rooftop terrace to all guests that has a really nice view if the skyline.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

we've been to new York many times and always stayed in Manhattan. this time we decided to stay in Brooklyn and the Fairfield inn was excellent. The staff were very accommodating and helpful and always had a smile on their faces. We do a lot of walking and it was about 30 main walk to Brooklyn bridge.

breakfast was good quality and set us up for the day and the best part was coming back to the roof top viewing area for drinks and watching the sun go down with a great view of lower manhattan. We used the well stocked lobby grab and go cupboard for coronas, wine and chips. They were reasonably priced compared to other hotels i've stayed at.

my room was well appointed and beds were so comfy and always cleaned well.

overall I can't fault this hotel, Brooklyn might not be everyone's first choice to stay when visiting NYC but your Deco missing a treat if you don't.

I'm booking again for next year when I get home :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copleycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Great service, 24 hour coffee and internet. The only problem I had was that I tore my shoe going on to the rooftop because there is a strip of metal sticking up in the doorway. Other than that, nice hotel with good service and clean!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DALEmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.5 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#12 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#15 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.9 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Address: 181 3rd Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11217-3003
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#8 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing