We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Condor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Condor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“OK for the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a good choice for this part of Brooklyn. In the midst of a mostly commercial, occasionally residential, area this hotel is distinct. Entry is very modern and front desk staff were consistently nice and accommodating. You quickly get the feel how small and narrow the property is as it extends straight back to a nice library/lounge and L shaped outside courtyard. Rooms are nice enough, more modern than old, but still have some quirks that spans both old and new. Sink has little storage space. Bed is comfortable and overflowing with a variety of pillows but if you're 6 feet or over you may feel it's too small. Also, no top sheet but just a lined comforter if you're picky. Odd placement of the lights near the bed as they are just above the mattress behind the middle pillow and I ended up accidentally turning on the lights twice my first night there (which was not appreciated as I needed a good nights sleep after a long flight delay). As has been commented earlier, the AC unit is loud and I could not figure out how to keep it on the "fan" setting so it would not go on and off thru the night. It's generally not too noisy outside (for the city) but my noise machine really helped when the AC would click off. Also, you need to leave a room key in a slot near the door to operate the electricity/AC to the room which took a few minutes to figure out. Safe is on the floor, as others have mentioned, which is odd and uncomfortable for those who don't/can't bend down. Some rooms have balconies but the first 3 floor balconies face a brick wall and floors 4 & 5 look out over the roof to less than impressive views of other buildings. Breakfast is waffles/pancakes, bagels, fresh fruit, fresh vegetables (and a very impressive array), yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, and assorted breads/pastries. Still, it is clean, convenient to the area, the staff are great, the cookies are fresh, the mini fridge is a bonus, the internet is included and reliable, the area is safe, and the prices are reasonable for this part of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Rob,

It was really nice meeting you. Especially because I grew up in Dallas, where you are from! Thank you for pointing out such amazing qualities of our hotel!

Thanks again,

David Margolies
General Manager

P.S. Our Promotional Rates of Up To 20% Off Can Only Be Found On Our Website!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    198
    59
    15
    13
See reviews for
247
185
94
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I moved my son to Brooklyn last week and were looking for a hotel in Williamsburg. We could not have been happier. Nice room with a balcony to check the weather and a mini frig and coffee maker, big bathroom, good breakfast and great staff. Had a SUV full of his belongings that we were happy to pay 20 bucks for the secure parking across the street. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashvillefamily08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Nashville,

I am so happy to know that your expectations were fully met on your recent visit with us!

We enjoyed your company and really hope to see you again soon! :)

Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback with us. It really helps us to know what we are doing right.

Thanks again,

David Margolies
General Manager

P.S. Our Promotional Rates of Up To 20% Off Can Only Be Found On Our Website!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My only issue is I wish when I called and mentioned I would've been told about the Pratt discount. I mentioned Pratt - my daughter goes there. A rate adjustment would have been helpful. Other then that we will be back for sure. Everyone was courteous, very friendly and very helpful. We needed an early check-in so we could do that apartment hunting we had come for. They got us into the room, then the next day stored our bags until 9:pm. Beds were fantastic. We will be back proximity to Pratt and the apartment works well. I would classify the hotel as 'hip' but not cold. Personal would be a better word.

Room Tip: Just ask about discounts in detail. Everything else will be taken care of we were on the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmptraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi KMP,

We are so delighted that you chose our hotel on your recent visit with your daughter to Pratt. We do a lot of business with Pratt as we are the nicest and closest hotel to them. We are just a few short blocks. I hope this means that we will be seeing you again and again!!

Until next time,

David Margolies
General Manager

P.S. Our Promotional Rates of Up To 20% Off Can Only Be Found On Our Website!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is in a nice neighborhood, we felt safe, and STREET PARKING was easy and free, a huge plus, I don't know but not exactly Williamsburg, but the place was really clean and comfortable, the front desk terrific, the breakfast good, the only problem was the air conditioner, so noisy that I could not sleep..... so for the value, I guess okay but a problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifeisgood9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Lifeisgood,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. While we are unbelievably delighted to know that your stay was wonderful, we are disappointed to know that you felt the air condition was a bit loud. The air conditioner has two settings. One for a low fan and one for a high fan. If it's set on high fan then the unit can be VERY loud. I am working on a way to limit the units from going to high fan so that our guests never have to experience the louder setting. Thank you for pointing this out.

We would love to see you again soon!

Thanks again,

David Margolies
General Manager

P.S. Our Promotional Rates of Up To 20% Off Can Only Be Found On Our Website!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I really enjoyed by stay at the Condor. The staff was so friendly and very helpful. Devon and Mo was so helpful with getting us directions to different areas in New York. We were lost a couple of times and we called the Condor hotel and they gave us great directions. They are very knowledgeable about New York and where to go visit and eat during our stay. The rooms were very clean and they were quick to bring us towels without us having to ask. We were able to use the computer in the lobby and the complimentary breakfast. The rooms were comfortable, updated and quiet. i will return to The Condor and i highly recommend this hotel to others. Thanks again Devon and Mo for your help.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Felicia,

Mo and Tevon are so happy to know that there hard work paid off in that you had a wonderful experience! We all enjoyed your company and are glad that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for sharing such helpful feedback.

Thanks again,

David Margolies
General Manager

P.S. Our Promotional Rates of Up To 20% Off Can Only Be Found On Our Website!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I arrived from JFK and headed straight to this hotel with quite high expectations. We got to the hotel and observed that the exterior was not the neatest you would expect. Leaves littered the entrance and we struggled to move luggage in. We were in good time but too early for check in and waited for some 30 minutes before we got allocated a room by a certain Mr Price. Rooms were very neat and upscale. Internet was good and environment was serene. We liked the room. I was however shocked at what was supposed to be an "oversized" single bed as we were in the Twin room. The bed was not long enough to accommodate me a 6'2". The safe was also on the floor! How can? Apart from these flaws expect to be treated with utmost respect! These guys are helpful and very friendly. Mo to Tevon to James and all the workers. Good Internet connections and a lovely bathroom experience. You can't be wrong with this choice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wallzbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear wallzbaba,

I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience with us. However it sounds like you expected a much larger bed. I am sorry for this. Our twin bids are approximately half a foot wider than standard twin beds. And our king beds are also wider than standard king beds. We'd love you to come back and try a king room to see if that suits you better!

Thanks again,

David Margolies
General Manager

P.S. Our Promotional Rates of Up To 20% Off Can Only Be Found On Our Website!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely little hotel with excellent service. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was stylish and clean. The room was also generous in size. The location for us was great because the hotel was a short walk to Pratt Institute where my daughter was attending a summer program. Trendy and interest restaurants and bars were a short walk away. Breakfast was complementary at the hotel which was very dilcious with many choices. The Condor is a special little jewel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabetconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Elizabet,

Having you stay with us means so much to us. We really enjoyed your company. Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We learn so much from you.

Hope to see you again soon!!

Thanks again,

David Margolies
General Manager

P.S. Our Promotional Rates of Up To 20% Off Can Only Be Found On Our Website!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.7 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#8 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.5 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 71 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#5 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condor Hotel

Property: The Condor Hotel
Address: 56 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11205-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#2 Best Value Hotel in Brooklyn
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#3 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Condor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Brooklyn's vibrant Williamsburg, The Condor boutique hotel offers 35 beautiful accommodations and the fine additions of a garden, inviting lounge area and excellent meeting and events space. For leisure, business or family visits, your choice of The Condor Hotel will be perfect. Just 20 minutes from Downtown Manhattan, your stay allows a full business day,as well as the chance to experience one of NYC's newest preferred neighborhoods. Guests enjoy our accommodations, all with suite-like kitchenettes and private balconies. We feature signature plush bedding, satellite TV and free calls within the US. Complimentary WiFi offered throughout the building. Free Continental breakfast, served in our dining room, is always included and features waffles, bagels, muffins, juices, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruits and more. Concierge service, local moderate-price parking and Zipcar rental sites close by enhance our features and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Condor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Condor Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing