We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Condor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Condor Hotel
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is not right in the heart of the action in Brooklyn but it is only a $5 or $10 cab/Uber away. Close to Williamsburg, Green Pointe, Brooklyn - all the best spots for food and drinks but at a reasonable price. Rooms are slightly larger than the usual NYC shoe box. Our room had two large single beds with a small kitchenette and fridge. A large balcony and windows that opened. Ah, fresh air. And quiet too, in the city! In the morning you can have a cup of tea on the balcony and read the newspaper and not feel like you are in urban hell. It is a family neighborhood so no trucks and horns blasting all night. Close to the freeway and very handy to LaGuardia, only $30 for car service booked by the front desk. Free continental breakfast i the courtyard, free wi-fi that actually worked, free newspaper each day, free coffee in the lobby 24 hours. Simple, plain, clean and effective. All for a reasonable price. Usually $50-$100 per night cheaper than other hotels a mile away. Everything you need when you come to New York and will be spending most of your time out and about. There is a large Orthodox Jewish community in this neighborhood so it is more residential and quiet - almost suburban. Safe to walk around at night and quiet in the evening. Best part, the staff were great too! So friendly and helpful no matter what we needed. They let us check in a bit early, gave us an hour late check out as our flight was delayed and then they minded all our extra luggage in their storage room for no charge so we only needed to take one suitcase upstairs. Helped us with cabs, directions, eating suggestions. Nothing was a hassle no one was rude or disinterested. All nice regular folks who know how to do their job. This place is not in a hipster part of town or a swanky, cool, luxury hotel but for $50-$100 a night less who needs it? This hotel is real NYC as far I am concerned. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor can be a bit noisier than the upper floors. But the back room on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    199
    61
    15
    15
See reviews for
250
188
95
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I can't remember how many times I have stayed at the Condor although, I can tell you it will not be my last time. Each and every time I arrive I arrive it is a pleasant experience. This particular time I brought a co-worker with me and he conveyed the same sentiments.We were greeted by Mo at the front desk and she welcomed my co-worker as if he had been there before. "The hotel was so comfortable" he told me on the way back to Philly. I thank you for not changing what makes you great!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 215chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Would highly recommend this hotel. Friendly and very helpful staff, close to subway very comfortable beds healthy breakfast quiet area noise wise ..adored the fresh baked cookies at the front counter each day .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel was great and the staff was very friendly. I was not sure of what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised by the clean rooms, the attention to detail, the quality of service and comfort. The hotel is close to public transportation (trains and buses) and there was a great deli for breakfast nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here recently overnight, and as a native Brooklynite, I was pleasantly surprised. The room was furnished beautifully and the bed can give the Marriott's a run for its money. The staff I encountered were very professional and helpful. Didn't get the chance to enjoy the breakfast, but I plan on returning to the Condor.

My only critique...I believe the parking garage is shared with another neighborhood establishment or more, but I think lighting should be added. As a female parking there at night, alone, I didn't feel comfortable. Also, I had to call the front desk because the door to exit once parked was not clearly visible at night (and in the pouring rain). The gentleman was so kind as to come out and get me. So for that, my rating has to be a four. I will change to five once these changes are made.

To me,the pricing was fair. For an overnight stay with taxes, I paid $182. To park is $20, there was a discrepancy because my friend was told $3. Not sure where that miscommunication happened, but oh well.

Can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Deborah,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and your enjoyable experience here! We are grateful that you took time out of your day to share this with us. :)

I am saddened to hear that although our parking lot does have lighting you didn't feel our parking lot was lit up enough. We have limited control over the parking lot which is why the rate is so affordable. If I push the parking lot owners to make upgrades then our guests will have to pay market rate for the parking. Anywhere from $30-$40 per day.

Hopefully we can find a middle ground.

Hope to see you again soon!

David Margolies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

To say this is number one in Brooklyn is a joke and makes you wonder who is really voting here. Well, actually the joke was on us.
It’s a tiny hotel (I think they used up all the electricity taking the TripAdvisor photo) and the nearest subway station is 15-20 mins walk in a rundown albeit neighborhood. We got a room with a balcony – but we had a huge brick wall right outside about 6 feet away (mind you the smell of rubbish from the alleyway meant the door was always shut). The room was otherwise OK, if you forget the faulty TV remote control, industrial rattling A/C machine and other small stuff. The worst thing about this hotel is the breakfast room. It’s in the “ballroom”, which is a small windowless storeroom in the basement. The food was kosher (no major problem as such) but the meagre choice, sporadic availability of electricity and inability to provide hot water for self-service porridge or tea every day was annoying to say the least. Half the room was icing over from the ceiling A/C. There were often not enough tables and chairs for the guests. The response to little crises like these depended on who was on duty. If you want to eat, best to go early. The breakfast is supposed to be until 10 am but sometimes the staff start clearing things away at 9.30, look the other way and say “sorry, we’re closing soon”. The most bizarre event was that most mornings at 9 am, 1-2 cleaners come into the breakfast room, pile up their plates with the rest of the tomatoes, cheese and pineapple and sit down with guests. Any guest coming in after that is confronted with an empty food table and a game of musical chairs.
In contrast, people on the front desk are very friendly and helpful as long as you stay in their good books. Not the worst hotel in the world but definitely deserving the top spot in Brooklyn. Feeling screwed - definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinlandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We went to visit my son who has moved to Brooklyn and found this hotel very pleasant, convenient and reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.
Parking on the street or in their private parking lot. They also have nice simple area to have a light breakfast. It was perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: Got a good rate for non-refundable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-CondorHotel, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Ann,

We hope you are back home and enjoying Bethesda. We get a good amount of guests from there! :)

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and that it was perfect for your needs.

We are eager for your next trip in to visit your son!

David Margolies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.8 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.7 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#10 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
2.2 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 72 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
1.4 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.5 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 72 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condor Hotel

Property: The Condor Hotel
Address: 56 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11205-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#3 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Best Value Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Condor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Brooklyn's vibrant Williamsburg, The Condor boutique hotel offers 35 beautiful accommodations and the fine additions of a garden, inviting lounge area and excellent meeting and events space. For leisure, business or family visits, your choice of The Condor Hotel will be perfect. Just 20 minutes from Downtown Manhattan, your stay allows a full business day,as well as the chance to experience one of NYC's newest preferred neighborhoods. Guests enjoy our accommodations, all with suite-like kitchenettes and private balconies. We feature signature plush bedding, satellite TV and free calls within the US. Complimentary WiFi offered throughout the building. Free Continental breakfast, served in our dining room, is always included and features waffles, bagels, muffins, juices, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruits and more. Concierge service, local moderate-price parking and Zipcar rental sites close by enhance our features and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Condor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Condor Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing