We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Cozy At Home in Brooklyn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
At Home In Brooklyn
Ranked #4 of 55 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Triangle, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Cozy At Home in Brooklyn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Don is a great host! My wife and I celebrated my 50th B'day this past June and stayed At Home in Brooklyn. It was like going home for Thanksgiving. The house is gorgeous, cozy and very nicely appointed. And you can't beat the location - you are right there at Grand Army Plaza at the entrance to Prospect Park and around the corner from 7th Ave/Park Slope where there are excellent restaruants galore. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNHSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
17
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

What a host is Don! You don't just 'stay' at his wonderful house, you experience it. Breakfast with him and his guests is always interesting; in fact, so much so that you can forget about getting an early start into town! Park Slope is a great area, especially on weekends, with the growers' market and the park attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Emigrating to the US for the UK with my wife and 2 young daughters was challenging, however thanks to the warmth and comfort that Don shared with us in Park Slope, Brooklyn, we landed especially smoothly. To the point my kids didn't want to leave!! It's been a pleasure to meet you; thanks making us so welcome.

Room Tip: Embrace home comforts; all rooms are great; the bathroom too!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpad73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Dear Don,
Thank you for your hospitality, pleasant surroundings, and great conversation. Marvelously organized, well maintained, your B&B runs like a ship. Belying this machinery, you create a caring comfortable environment. Evie (Evanthia) and I had a great time. I loved my morning walk in the park. Breakfasts were great and diverse enough to accommodate any palette. I got to read in your sitting room one evening without interruption.

Thanks, Don.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John45B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

As the name suggests, "At home in brooklyn" is a perfect accomodation for a city-trip to New York but to feel like visiting relatives - those relatives you like, the cool ones, that have a nice DVD-Collection you can use (every room has a DVD-PLayer), a fridge from which you can help yourself with refreshments without getting poor. The rooms are very beautiful and very comfortable furnished (my favourite: Garden Room!) and very clean.
I pretty much enjoyed the breakfast at the long table, where all roommates have breakfast and of course a very nice chat together.

The metro-connection to Manhattan is perfect. You just have to walk less than five minutes to Grand Army Plaza and got a direct connection that takes you in less than 10 minutes to South-Manhattan. You can even do this during the lnight as a single travelling woman without any problems.

I would love to come back!

Room Tip: Garden Room: interior is great and it is a very calm room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christiane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed here with my family, 7 in total, so we booked the whole house for a week. Don was very welcoming and hospitable, with useful advice about Brooklyn and New York. The house is very comfortable and tastefully furnished. Much more space than we have ever had in a New York hotel. It is very easy to get about and explore all the city from here - 20 minutes and you are in Mannhatten. There is also lots to do in and around Park Slope which is a very attractive neighbourhood, with lots of good and reasonably priced bars and restaurants.

Taking over the whole house was also a real bonus as it provided a great base, where we felt comfortable and very much at home.

The breafasts were excellent and set us up for a full day exploring.

The art deco bathroom on the 2nd floor is a marvel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancsLad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

This house abounds with books, original artwork, readily accessible bottles of chilled water, yogurt, and friendliness. There's a DVD library and daily newspapers including the New York Time, New York Post, and the Wall Street Journal. The breakfast table was full of lively conversation about families and politics. Many of the guests were regulars and had family members from Brooklyn dropping by to join them for breakfast. And you can't beat the location. A few steps from Prospect Park, the public library, Brooklyn Botanic Garden, and the Brooklyn Museum, the location offers plenty of activity. There's also a beautiful patio if you'd rather read a book and relax. Home away from home doesn't get much better than this.

Room Tip: The suite on the 3rd floor has a private rooftop patio and large soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#13 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#15 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home In Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home In Brooklyn

Property: At Home In Brooklyn
Address: 15 Prospect Park W, Brooklyn, NY 11215-1705
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home In Brooklyn is a luxury B&B and Inn in a townhouse on Prospect Park, surrounded by nearly 600 acres of park and a broad avenue of landmarked grand Victorian mansions dating to Brooklyn's golden age in the 1880s. Short walk to subways to Manhattan, the Brooklyn Museum, Botanic Garden, BAM, and Barclays Center and 5 wedding venues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At Home In Brooklyn New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing