We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good meal”
Review of Okeanos Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Okeanos Restaurant
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 8th Street
Transit: F Train Stops on Corner of 7th ave. and 9 Street one block away from Okeanos. Bus stop on same corner, the B67 and B69. Check MTA website for more detailed information.
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always a good meal”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We have eaten at Okeanos several times. Our meals have been consistently good. The food is well prepared and presented nicely. Service is attentive and helpful. We have always found parking within a block of the restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan17584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville Centre, NY
Level Contributor
143 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Park Slope Treasure”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We went on a Sunday night so we did not experience any noise or crowds as other reviewers experienced. The place is small, but not significantly so. There is more than ample space to dine, and it is decorated in an unassuming and local restaurant-type manner. The service was excellent, staff very pleasant and accommodating, and the food was very good. The bread and complementary hummus is welcoming, and the arugola salad, and greek salad was plentiful and can be shared for two. The fresh whole Bronzino fish was among the best my wife has had, and the salmon was delicious and a nice portion. The grilled vegetable sides were also tasty. Friends had the moussaka and enjoyed it as well. Desserts are homemade and authentic. Definitely worth a try if you are not going to Greece or maybe Astoria in the near future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ItalyLovers4Ever_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't go if you are looking for Greek food”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Small, noisy place. Whatever we tried did not taste like Greek food. I made my wife go because I love sardines. Very disappointed! Moussaka was not good either! Save your money for something else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanbrat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you love fresh fish, this is a great find”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Not knowing what to expect, we dined at Okeanos and what a lovely surprise! To start off, the manager and the servers were so friendly, that we immediately felt comfortable. This Greek restaurant has some traditional dishes but they specialize in fresh fish which is excellently prepared. We had three appetizers and then shared one of their daily catches. The Htapodi is grilled octopus which was smoky, soft and tender, very different from the Spanish style octopus which tends to be tougher. It was nicely presented with a creamy puree and some capers...a treat. As tasty as this was, we are still talking about the Feta Saganaki... feta crusted in sesame seeds and then pan fried, with a small helping of a fig compote to help offset the tangy fresh feta. So delicious...you must try it! Then we ordered some grilled vegetables to fool ourselves into feeling healthy and found ourselves savouring a plate of crisp zucchini, red peppers and eggplant simply grilled to perfection. Our main dish was a whole Striped Bass which we ordered as fillets. The restaurant will ask you to choose how you want it: whole on a plate, cut into pieces (with head and tail included), or filleted. It comes with one side and we chose lemon potatoes (oven roasted potatoes cooked with oil and lemons). The fish was fresh, light, flaky and soft. You could tell the kitchen knew their stuff. We did find a few bones around the edges, but that was not a problem. Dessert had to be passed over as we were too full, but as we had both requested a couple of their cocktail martinis, we counted that as our sweet treat. A great little place in the thick of Park Slope.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puffin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and Great Service”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We found this place by accident, our good fortune. The owner, Tom, was so nice! The service was good, and the food was excellent! Especially the seafood trio - grilled. Great Greek neighborhood seafood restaurant in Astoria.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Okeanos Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing