We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A South Williamsburg Gem”
Review of Pointe Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My staff and I recently completed a 4 night stay for The Williamsburg International Film Festival, and we were met by a staff that was courteous, accommodating and helpful with our transportation requirements. The rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. Only a 5 minute car ride to the festival, we would definitely stay at The Pointe Plaza again for any of our business or personal needs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica K, General Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We are extremely happy to learn that you were pleased with your stay here with us.

We hope to welcome you again during the next Film Festival!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

after being stranded, late in new york, we looked around the internet for an alternative to our closed down hotel.
we found Pointe plaza, called, and were helped on the phone by a very friendly gentleman.
our stay, in the high and roomy studio was great. the trouble taken to make cosher living possible is impressive.
room, living and bath are very clean.
windows are sound-proof, curtains are light-proof. ideal to sleep in.

the staff, as i said, are very friendly.

We'll reccomend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wilfried s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica K, General Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We are extremely happy to learn that you were pleased with your stay here with us. We take pride in providing our guests with the utmost service that meets their individual needs.
I hope you are never in a position that you will be "stranded" again- next time give us a call and we hope to accomodate you.
We hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Excellent! I really liked this hotel. My family (Two kids 9 and 12, my older kid, 24; my husband and I) stayed 10 nights + one thanks to Irene the hurricane. No luxuries but you have what you need, including TV. The rooms are really comfortable and the beds are the best; clean linen and towels every day and breakfast is included.
The location is very good, close to everything in New York, they have a shuttle at 9:30 every day, and if you miss it, the subway station is 5 blocks away; it is safe to walk all around the neighborhood, we came back late many nights and walk from the subway to the hotel without problem. There is also a grocery store, and a catholic church nearby
I was a little concern about the Jewish population as I didn’t know so much about their religion but, there is no problem with them. They are really nice people.
I have to remark that the hurricane didn’t touch us; we just saw the water falling by the window.
Take advantage of this hotel, it will become more stars and therefore more expensive; we have stayed at 5+ star hotels and have to say that found more comfort and cleanness in this hotel.
For sure will stay again at the Pointe Plaza in our next trip to New York and recommend this hotel to our friends and relatives. The staff is great! all of them.

Excelente! Realmente me gusto el hotel. Mi familia (dos niños de 9 y 12 años, un joven de 24, mi esposo y yo) estuvimos 10 noches mas una gracias al huracán Irene. No es lujoso pero se tiene lo básico. Las habitaciones son muy cómodas y las camas son lo mejor; lencería y toallas limpias todos los días y el desayuno está incluido.
La ubicación es buenísima, cerca de todo en New York, tiene transporte a Manhattan todos los días a las 9:30 y si no lo alcanzan, el subway esta a 5 cuadras; el barrio es seguro, nosotros llegamos tarde varias noches y caminamos desde la estación del metro hasta el hotel sin problema. Hay una iglesia Católica una cuadra más allá de la estación del metro.
Me preocupaba un poco la población Judía ortodoxa porque no conozco mucho de su religión pero, son muy buenas personas y no hay ningún problema con ellos.
Debo resaltar que no sentimos el huracán, solo vimos la lluvia caer por la ventana.
Aprovechen este hotel, va a tener más estrellas y se va a volver más caro; nosotros nos hemos hospedado en varios hoteles de 5 estrellas y debo decir que este es más cómodo y limpio. Se los recomiendo.
To improve, Lo que se puede mejorar.
The wifi didn’t work properly all the time, the breakfast is self service and there are only two tables and 8 chairs at the breakfast place but you can take it to your room, there is a dining table.
It would have been good to have a hair dryer in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSaavedra_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2011

Dearest Guest .

Thank you so much for taking the time and write us such a beautiful review.
We really appreciate that and it was our pleasure having you as a guest.
we looking forward to welcoming you again.
Just a little note, we had problems with our internet network that period of time and we now changing to another network , also hairdryers should be in all rooms in case there is no, we always have in stock more just call the front desk.

yours truly

Davy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We had a beautiful Shabbos at the Pointe Plaza. The rooms are beautiful and spacious.
i would deffinitely recommend the hotel to a friend!
A family had a shabbaton there and the coffee room was locked because the family ate the seudah there. I couldn't get hot water for bottles. otherwise, i had no complaints.
looking forward for another stay!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a couch or loveseat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Hello and thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay here with us at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We really do take pride in ourselves and our staff of their willingness to go above and beyond for our guests in order to better their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Couldn’t be better!!!

I am usually not the type of person to write reviews after my stay at a hotel but this time I decided I will write and the reasons are as follows.
This hotel is a new hotel opened up about a year ago and you can feel and see how much effort is been putting in there to make it work to a 110%.

Here in this boutique Pointe plaza hotel you don’t feel like just another number every guest gets a feeling like you are the one and only one, from the moment you check in.

Always you pass the front desk you get a warm hello and when you come back from your day out you get welcomed again with a warm hello and asked how your day was and what we can make it even better with info like where you can dine out or if you need the closest grocery shop to buy anything or if you just in the mood for a good ice cream from a shop near by…

The rooms for itself are very comfortable we had a nice spacious room with high ceilings. We just loved it.

They have the most comfortable and clean beds we ever experienced in any other hotel with quality duvet covers and very comfortable pillows.

The sheets were so clean and fresh (we even saw it arriving one morning from the cleaners how beautiful packed and rapped) that when you fall into this fresh bed after a day out, no words can describe those comfortable feelings.

They also serve a healthy and fresh continental breakfast.

We also loved the shuttle service going to Manhattan every morning that was just so convenience for us.

All together we loved it this hotel is sooo clean you can see how they put in an effort and attention in every little detail.

We thank you again for our pleasant stay !!!

The Schorstel family

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Hello and thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay here with us at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We really do take pride in ourselves and our staff of their willingness to go above and beyond for our guests in order to better their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at the Pointe Plaza in May for 5 days and we loved our experience! Being students, we were looking for a nice place that wouldn't ruin our budget and this hotel was perfect! Compared to other hotels on Manhattan, Pointe Plaza offered much nicer and bigger rooms, all in a brand new building and for a decent rate. Upon our arrival, we were given a warm welcome and the receptionist provided us with maps of the city and informed us about the Manhattan shuttle service, which was great! Also, as previously mentioned, the subway is about a 10-minute walk away from the hotel and it took from 25-45 minutes to get into the city.

Our room had high ceilings and was very clean and spacious. We didn't use the kitchen, which does not include utensils or plates, but it was nice to have a fridge to store some snacks and leftovers from restaurant dinners. The internet outlet in our room was not working at first but as soon as we mentioned it, they immediately sent a technician who fixed the problem in a matter of minutes! The next day, wi-fi was installed which was even better!

Our room was always cleaned and everything was in place. A couple of times we had to ask for some extra towels and soap but it was brought to us quickly and with a smile. The bathroom was very complete but it would be nice to have a hair dryer.

The breakfast was very good! They offered fruits, different breads and cheeses, cereals, cookies, yogourt, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc.

We recommend this hotel to everyone! The building is beautiful and the service is great but what makes Pointe Plaza special is its staff! The receptionists always welcomed us with a warm smile regardless of the time of the day and the manager, Davy, was always ready to help us in any possible! With a staff like that, this young business can only thrive! We will definitely be back, thank you for everything! :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zorassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Hello and thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay here with us at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We really do take pride in ourselves and our staff of their willingness to go above and beyond for our guests in order to better their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Don't stay here we had a room full of bugs they were everywhere biting us, and when we told the front desk they said they knew about it and it would be taken cared of, that is unacceptable we were never offered a refund or a different room we also spoke to other guest and they said there were huge bugs in the eating area, what a downfall. Me and my fiance will never stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrenchBaker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

We can find no record of this incident, and it certainly is not a issue that was ever brought up to our attention at any time . We urge you to contact us directly to discuss.”

Davy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#21 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,008 reviews
3.4 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 73 in Brooklyn
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BKLYN House
BKLYN House
#26 of 73 in Brooklyn
383 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 73 in Brooklyn
257 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249-7802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#11 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: £89 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pointe Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York hotel is located in Brooklyn NY, just minutes away from Manhattan. We are only 3.5 Miles from downtown Manhattan, 2 miles from Brooklyn Public Library, 7 miles from LGA airport, and 9 miles from Yankee Stadium. We feature Wi-Fi internet throughout the entire hotel. Some of the amenities include spacious rooms with high ceilings, operable windows, and some guestrooms include kitchenettes. We also feature flat-screen TVs in most rooms as well as a seating area and a desk. A complimentary continental breakfast is included with your stay. Flushing Avenue Metro Station is a short 10 minute walk from the property. The Pointe Plaza Hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to Nearby Subway/Train Station in Morning Hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pointe Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Plaza Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing