We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Brooklyn”
Review of Pointe Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay in Brooklyn overall. It's a little off the beaten path but it's a 5/10 minute Uber ride from everything which isn't too bad. The rooms were clean and comfortable, beds we nice, fridge worked great, parking was easy too. The only real downside to the place was that the tv in the room was in the bedroom at an awkward angle instead of being out in the suite parlor area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to acknowledge.
We try our best and your comments mean a lot.
TV in Suites definitely need attention.
Perhaps different location in living area would be the solution.

I promise changes will be made. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Since I travel a lot I see a lot on hotels, I never think that I could find a nice hotel local in my area, I since I renovate my home I was looking for nice room for my family and Point Plaza Hotel didn't disappoint me

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 95sam96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

It was our pleasure hosting you here.
You are local but I am sure you have friends and family who visit you frequently.
Now you know where to place them.
We will be glad to accommodate you in any capacity.

Happy to know that we did not disappoint you.
Your approval is important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Our flight was cancelled and we found this hotel in Brooklyn. They gave us an upgrade to the suite, we were shock how big was the room with a kitchenette and room for 5 guests. They allow us to use the laundry with no cost and during the morning they have a continental breakfast. They also offer during the morning a shuttle bus to 42nd St. In Manhattan!!! Definitely we are coming back in our next visit to New york!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank shikse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

First of all thank you for staying with us.
I like the fact that you recognized the UPGRADE.
It is our pleasure to make our guests comfortable.
Hope we can do that again when you come back.

Your kind words are our inspiration and we look forward to that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

There is little parking. The hotel charges $15 for off street parking. The layout of the suite is weird. Our room had one TV which was in the bedroom. It was mounted beside a column so the person on one bed couldn't even see it. At the other end of the suite was a love seat facing the door, no TV. If you wanted to watch TV you had to sit on the bed. The street noise was loud. We booked a package that included a bottle of wine. There was no wine in the room when we arrived. The next morning I asked about it. The staff looked in vain to find nothing. I was asked to leave contact information so the matter could be addresses. End result, never contacted and no wine (except for what I'm posting in this review). The shuttle that brings you to Times Square leaves only once, at 9:30 in the morning and it's a 45 minute ride. Not much to do in the local area. Overall we were not impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ninersfan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Sorry to hear about your unimpressive visit.
Rightfully so. Not that it will make any difference now, but I would like to make it right.
Your wine will be shipped to you.
About parking, It is a secured parking lot. You need to have the code to get in, which we provide with and 99.9% of our guests are happy with the arrangement.
There is not more than one TV in our suites, perhaps we should place it in the living area. We will consider making the change. Thank you for your tip.
The complimentary shuttle to Times Square is really COMPLIMENTS of the Pointe Plaza Hotel.
9:30 am happens to be the most popular time, by guest survey.
The travel time to Times Square totally depends on traffic. Very little we can do about that.
What we can do, is invite you back and see the improvements that we make over time.
Hopefully you will give it a chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Friendly staff, quiet room (some street noise, but no hall noise), good breakfast (although room was too small and TV too loud), and interesting neighborhood -- largest Hasidic community in North America. Safe walking, about 45 minutes to "downtown" Brooklyn. One route is along Myrtle Street, which is diverse and intriguing. The other is along Flushing, past the old (but currently being revitalized) Brooklyn Navy Yard; fascinating!
Brooklyn is on a human scale, and the Williamsburg neighborhood (where Pointe Plaza is) elevates the humaness by about ten-fold. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Rooms NOT on the Franklin side will have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bigskies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review. Williamsburg is a very diverse neighborhood and thank you for taking the time to acknowledge. Brooklyn itself is very trendy and hip a lot of the local neighborhoods are up incoming and growing in popularity. We also pride ourselves on great customer service and to hear that are staff is delivering friendly and outstanding service is music to our ears. It would be our great pleasure to have you stay with us again. Please visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

First negative. We booked a suite for 5, my husband, myself, and 3 kids (16, 14, 10). Frankly, this was the major reason I booked this hotel - so 5 of us could be in one room. The room we were given had two double beds but no pull-out couch. When I called, I was told this was the suite - no pull-out included. Then they sent up a "cot" composed of aluminum legs covered by the same material as our trampoline at home, attached with the same sort of clips as the material of our trampoline. In other words, no support. No mattress either!

Second negative. There is nothing near the hotel as far as food, entertainment. I would describe the neighborhood as marginal. The closest subway is a 15-20 minute walk. We walked to the metro on two mornings. (The advertised shuttle is offered only once a day at 9:30 AM - not at all on Saturdays - and 9:30 was too late for us) The first morning it took us 1.5 hours to get from that station to the 9/11 Memorial. The next morning it took us over 2 hours to get to the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island boat dock. We watched express train after express train pass our Brooklyn outpost before a local finally stopped - and this was at a further metro than the "closest" one because the further one was a more direct line to touristy things in Manhattan.

Third negative. One rainy evening we asked the front desk employee to hail us a cab to get pizza (again, nothing walking distance). The cab service the desk person called did not appear "official" - the car had no meter! We went 2.2 miles to DUMBO for pizza and he charged us $22! Coming home we hailed a yellow cab it it cost us $9.

Overall view: The hotel was clean and the employees appeared pleasant enough, but given the disappointing suite which only slept four, the disappointing continental breakfast, the inconvenient shuttle service, the overpriced taxi we took thanks to the front desk and, most importantly, the inconvenient location in a marginal neighborhood, I would not recommend it, especially if your primary goal is to visit Manhattan.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virginiamom729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Happy New Year and thank you for letting us know how your stay was.
I am very disappointed that our guests went home with these negative experience.
This does not sit very well with our conscious and I want you to know that we care.

First of all, If you have given a wrong room type, some type of adjustment is in order.
Please expect my call, we will definitely address this.
About the area restaurants, there are so many, especially on Myrtle Ave. within 3 to 4 blocks.
There is an area restaurant guide at the front desk and a binder in your room which has 7 selected restaurants who also deliver. I am puzzled that we missed all that.
Yes Subway station is 4 blocks from the hotel and you do not have to walk these 4 blocks if you don't want to. The B57 bus from the corner takes you to the subway station.
Yes, our Shuttle service run once a day. We settled with 9:30 am because it is the most popular time guests wanted. Settled by guest survey.

About the Taxi ride, very unfortunate, usually these car services are reliable and reasonable. of course there are always exceptions. We will be sure to verify price ahead of time. Just so you know, We can not call a yellow taxi, they pass by when they pass by. For rapid service, we call car service for our guests.
About your delays to certain destinations, there really is no certain formula. Keep in mind, you were here during holidays, Subway services are little slow because they run on holiday schedule, combine that with rain, not a good mixture.
Sorry you have experienced the delay, please allow me to tell you New York City Transportation system is really efficient given the volume they handle. I just hope your next trip changes everything you have experienced this time around and we will be fortunate if .we can play a positive role towards that. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Staff was very helpful, accommodating, and knowledgable about the area, transportation, etc. A clean and pleasant environment. Would stay again. Hotel also provided convenient parking for hotel guests. Only draw back was distance to nearest subway stop.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Happy new year.
Thank you for taking time to wright your experience. Your comments help us improve and give us satisfaction for what we do. We appreciate your praise and we will keep improving.
Hope to see you soon, welcoming back a happy guest is the best reward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#21 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,008 reviews
3.4 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 73 in Brooklyn
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
1.1 mi away
BKLYN House
BKLYN House
#27 of 73 in Brooklyn
386 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249-7802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Best Value Hotel in Brooklyn
#11 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: £88 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pointe Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York hotel is located in Brooklyn NY, just minutes away from Manhattan. We are only 3.5 Miles from downtown Manhattan, 2 miles from Brooklyn Public Library, 7 miles from LGA airport, and 9 miles from Yankee Stadium. We feature Wi-Fi internet throughout the entire hotel. Some of the amenities include spacious rooms with high ceilings, operable windows, and some guestrooms include kitchenettes. We also feature flat-screen TVs in most rooms as well as a seating area and a desk. A complimentary continental breakfast is included with your stay. Flushing Avenue Metro Station is a short 10 minute walk from the property. The Pointe Plaza Hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to Nearby Subway/Train Station in Morning Hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pointe Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Plaza Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing