We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”
Review of Pointe Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not recommended”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We are not the most picky familiy, but the stay was a disappointment. The spare bed was extremely uncomfortable, the blanket on top was dirty and not removed when we asked. The room had a funny smell of old dust, which our daughter referred to as the smell of earwax...There was a constant lack of toilet paper, the stadard of the cleaning was uneven, probably depending on who was the maid of the day. They did not seem to have a list of necessary things to remember when cleaning. The staff was friendly, but did not warn us that the breakfastroom would be closed for renovation for the rest of our stay. This happened on the second day. The cafe we got vouchers for was a fifteen minutes walk from the hotel in a remote area. We ended up not using them and had to pay for breakfast at a more centrally located place instead. The bathroom was poorly heated so the towels never seemed to dry. Most surprising though was the fact that even though there was a kitchen, which was part of the reason why we chose this hotel, there were no utensils, plates, glasses or anything in it! We asked, and got some knives and forkes, but no plates or glasses... Next time we will definitely find another place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
First of all, I am very sorry to hear about the issues you had while you were staying with us.
It is not norm that we have these kinds of issues. I have certainly looked into it. Mostly rectified, solved and improved.
About the breakfast room remodeling, it had to be done to improve, sorry it coincided the time you were here. That's why we arranged with a nearby best option. I understand it was a few min. walk but that was the best and nearest option I had.
I respectfully disagree that Myrtle avenue and Bergen street is a remote area. It is right next to the Pratt institute. One of the very well known institutes in Brooklyn. Very happening place.

Nonetheless, I am still sorry that it did not meet your expectation, that's why we have tried to make you happy by extending your stay and gave you a complementary 6 pm late check out.
I guess you forgot to mention that.
We try our best to accommodate our guests as much we can. Your recognition goes a long way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    256
    93
    30
    30
See reviews for
265
166
50
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is located a little ways away from The Barclays Centre. Subway was accessible though.
Lots of traffic on the surrounding roads as there are many businesses (repair shops and food warehouses) in the vicinity.
Overall, the staff was pleasant (from our limited interactions). For the price it was a decent stay, but I wouldn't say I was blown away by this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
Your response is important to us.

Little we can do about surroundings, though it is improving everyday.
One thing we can guarantee, it is very SAFE.
Sorry it did not create a "blown away" effect on you, but we try to do as much we can within our limitation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed at the Pointe Plaza Hotel for the 5 Boro Bike Tour the first weekend of May. Room was spacious and clean, and front desk staff was extrememly helpful. However, the suite smelled like cigarette smoke when we arrived, and in the late evening the entire room was filled with the scent of cooking with lots of onions. Location is safe but not convenient to restaurants or shops. Decent walk for kids to get to train station or food options. Traveling by bike was the way to go.

Hotel allowed us to store bikes for free, which was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodeci68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your review.
We appreciate your comments, give us ideas to improve.

Yes, we remember you being here for the Bike week.
Hope you come back and see the improvement on the issues you have mentioned.
We would love to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We are friends from college and visiting NY to see our old friends. We were satisfied with our stay at a high ceiling room with a very nice kitchen. There was a big pillar between the bed that was a bit annoying. The staffs were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was perfect for something to munch on before going out for a big brunch/lunch. Walking distance to the G-line subway. Not a very happening place but it felt like a very safe area. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanoko m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to give us a review.
You need to visit your friends more often.

Glad that you had a good stay,
Appreciate that you appreciate the start up morning continental breakfast.
It is very safe around here and the G train is just 4 blocks away.
We hope you make it back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Overall a very nice stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Loaned me a phone charger, helped with directions, calling cabs, etc. Did not get to use their shuttle service to Manhatten, which is a nice service to offer, but many others did. Free breakfast was okay - mainly sweetened cereals, muffins, some fruit. Might be improved with yogurt, oatmeal, cutup fruit or cottage cheese. Neighborhood very quiet at night. Price was reasonable. Had a kitchen unit in the room which was helpful as well.

Room Tip: Kitchen helpful to have if staying 2+ nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Very happy to know that you had a good stay.
Whatever we do for our guests, we do it because your experience matters to us.
You have rewarded us by acknowledging that.
Thank you.

Yes, we are moderately priced and all about service.
Hoping you will come back to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A family of five, including three teenagers, spent one week at Pointe Plaza hotel. Very large two section room for five people. Kitchen with fridge and freezer. Even suitable for persons holding strict kosher household, though the kitchen had a sink for milk products and another sink for meat products. The neighbourhood is hassidic, so one assume that the hotel has hassidic guests rather frequently. Our room had a great view to Manhattan.
The hotel service is fine, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is okey for a start. The closest subway station is Lorimer st, a ten minutes walk in a very nice quiet neighbourhood. The hotel has a Monday-Friday free shuttle to Manhattan at 9.30 AM.
The room price is a bargain comparing with an equal hotel in Manhattan. NYC is not all about Manhattan. Brooklyn is very nice with good restaurants and nice neighbourhoods.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on fourth to sixth floor to get the Manhattan skyline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuicyJuice43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Appreciate your nice comments.
We want to thank you for taking time to write a review, also thank you for staying with us.
Those 7 days went fast. It was great to have you here,

We are happy that you recognized the value, our goal is to make sure guests are happy.
Hope you come back, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Room was not ready even if we arrived around five oclock.
Breakfast area was too small for guests but some employees were there for THEIR breakfast.
Disappointed with the service and overall facilities also.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I am very sorry you had a disappointing stay.
Also disappointed to learn that facility did not do the charm.
We try our best to accommodate everyone and the breakfast room can be little crowded at times.
That's why we have it spread out in 4 hours (6 am to 10 am).

Please let me know if I can do anything to make up,
I will expect your call.
718 782 7000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#10 of 72 in Brooklyn
998 reviews
3.4 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
BKLYN House
BKLYN House
#27 of 72 in Brooklyn
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#26 of 72 in Brooklyn
595 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#16 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,048 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Plaza Hotel

Property: Pointe Plaza Hotel
Address: 2 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249-7802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#11 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pointe Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York hotel is located in Brooklyn NY, just minutes away from Manhattan. We are only 3.5 Miles from downtown Manhattan, 2 miles from Brooklyn Public Library, 7 miles from LGA airport, and 9 miles from Yankee Stadium. We feature Wi-Fi internet throughout the entire hotel. Some of the amenities include spacious rooms with high ceilings, operable windows, and some guestrooms include kitchenettes. We also feature flat-screen TVs in most rooms as well as a seating area and a desk. A complimentary continental breakfast is included with your stay. Flushing Avenue Metro Station is a short 10 minute walk from the property. The Pointe Plaza Hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to Nearby Subway/Train Station in Morning Hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Pointe Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Plaza Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing