We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Pointe Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Poor”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Water was brown, mold in restrooms, beds not comfortable, room key problems, paid for suite but didn't get, no parking avalb, broken closet mirror, carpet dirty and loud. It's located about 15 min for subway . No great view from room. they do offer breakfast but its cereal , boiled eggs, and muffins. They also offer free wifi , ride to Time Square@930 am, and staff were helpful. I will not be coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adav0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your feed back.
I am sorry to hear about your not so pleasant stay.
What can I do for you Sir/ miss?

Wish I knew which room you were in and take care of these issues while you were here!
Can I offer you a special discount on your next stay?
Please contact me at imam@pointeplazahotel.com
Hope to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    256
    91
    30
    30
See reviews for
263
166
50
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel worked perfectly for my family. The suite was large and comfortable. It was the size of a one bedroom apartment, but there was not a door separating the bedroom from the kitchen/living room. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a first-time visit to NY because it's not located in a touristy area. Not an unsafe neighborhood, but definitely not the upper west side. But, it does have easy access to Manhattan with their shuttle, taxi, or train. Overall, it's a great value for the price. I would recommend this hotel to others, especially families….One last note, the hotel is in an orthodox Jewish neighborhood. The rooms have separate sinks for meat and dairy and masusas on the doors. Makes for a unique experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rexxy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your nice comments.
Yes, VALUE is what we are going for.

That is the most common assessment we get.
Of course we are not located on upper West side but, Brooklyn has it's own flavor.
We are just glad that you were here and hope you will be back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you need lots of room this is a great hotel. The rooms are very large and the kitchen area is handy. There is a food delivery option for meals but nothing very close to walk to for meals. This hotel is right in a Orthodox Jewish neighborhood so you should be comfortable with that. Very safe location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
We are glad that you stayed with us.
Yes, size of the rooms has been a big plus for us.
As well as the neighborhood being very safe.

Hotel location and the area is very safe for you to return at any time of the day or night.
We hope you will be back to stay with us again.
Looking forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for one night in July and were very happy. I was a little worried about what we'd get at a hotel not in Manhattan and such a low price however everything was good (we wanted to stay in Brooklyn to be close to places we'd be visiting). Staff was very helpful and kind. When I asked the manager about where to get breakfast pastries she walked with me right to a bakery 2 blocks away, talk about going above and beyond to help a guest. Safe area, and was quiet in our room. I booked over the phone b/c I had a question about bed sizes and the reservation agent honored the same sale price I found online and explained the room options so that I could select what I needed (wanted 2 Queen vs 2 Twin). I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are with 2 twin beds so make sure you reserve Queen size in advance if that's wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
We try to do as much as possible for our guests.
Your happy stay is our success.

Thank you for your endorsement and commitment to come back.
We would love to have you back. Sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Again, an outstanding stay ~ great facility, extremely friendly service, very comfortable rooms, terrific view of Manhattan from our room on the 5th floor ~ HIGHLY Recommend to anyone.
Definitely will return!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Nothing makes us happier than a repeat guest who is happy.
We would like to keep it going as long as you keep coming back.

Our goal is to show improvement every time you come back.
Please let us know where we can improve.
Your next visit should come with a 10% off of the then rack rate.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

By definition the rooms are large, there is a fitness center and they do serve breakfast, They also did the laundry on the 4th floor where we were (bags strewn on the floor of the hall outside the laundry room). Of the advertised 500 sq ft in the suite, I believe 275 of those were an oversized kitchen area, that was not functional. The fitness center contained items that might have been in someone's home 20 years ago, except for one good machine and the breakfast spread was of the poorest quality possible, though clean.

Our son interned on Wall St this summer and lived in Williamsburg and we thought we would try to be close.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank codeman13711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review.
I feel horrible that you felt that way. Wish I could do something to make it better.

Obviously the oversize kitchen was a no use for you, but we do have families
who stay longer and use the kitchen a lot more than others who are here for a night or two.
Perhaps a different type of suite could be a better fit.

I just hope you would give us another chance to make a better impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The staff is so efficient and friendly, it made our stay easy. The location is a short walk to the subway. The free morning shuttle lets you off in Times Square which is GREAT to sightsee. Our Grandson's wedding was a block away which was a reason to choose it. The breakfast was more than ample.

Room Tip: A suite gives you more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam K, Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Do we have to wait for another wedding for you to come back?
Please say no,

Now you know that we exist and we are one of a kind, please visit Brooklyn frequently
and stay with us. It will be our pleasure to host you any given day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#9 of 72 in Brooklyn
988 reviews
3.4 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BKLYN House
BKLYN House
#28 of 72 in Brooklyn
340 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#13 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Plaza Hotel

Property: Pointe Plaza Hotel
Address: 2 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249-7802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#11 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pointe Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York hotel is located in Brooklyn NY, just minutes away from Manhattan. We are only 3.5 Miles from downtown Manhattan, 2 miles from Brooklyn Public Library, 7 miles from LGA airport, and 9 miles from Yankee Stadium. We feature Wi-Fi internet throughout the entire hotel. Some of the amenities include spacious rooms with high ceilings, operable windows, and some guestrooms include kitchenettes. We also feature flat-screen TVs in most rooms as well as a seating area and a desk. A complimentary continental breakfast is included with your stay. Flushing Avenue Metro Station is a short 10 minute walk from the property. The Pointe Plaza Hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to Nearby Subway/Train Station in Morning Hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Pointe Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Plaza Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing