We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Union Hotel
Ranked #45 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worst!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

it was my worst hotel/inn experience.
I booked a queen suite, but it was 2 single beds pushed together. Oviously very uncomfortable.
Don't tell it's a queen if you are putting beds together!! It's a false advertisement!
It was the smallest room ever I stayed, and it didn't even have a coffee maker. The heater makes motor sounds every 15 minutes all day and all night....and still room was cold. The closet stinked, too.
The women who has freckle on her face at the front desk was very rude and annoying. She ruined my feeling at the first step of the hotel..
Only good thing was free breakfast served by near restaurant. ( You have to walk about 2 blocks, but it worth it)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    112
    89
    45
    81
See reviews for
56
140
57
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have mixed emotions about the hotel.

Booked a king, got 2 twin mattresses pushed together. Bed not very comfortable but adequate. Spartan rooms: bed, nightstand, tiny desk, one overhead light. Difficult to read in bed or work in room. No tub, but shower is very clean. I had a ground floor room & had a lot of noise from outside and inside the hotel. The fan doesn't run constantly; if it did it could mask the noise. Flat screen TV on the wall gets a handful of standard def cable networks, but frustratingly no local channels. Breakfast is included at a diner a couple of blocks away. Good restaurants and access to the subway within walking distance. No radio in room; there's an iPod dock that doesn't fit the current series iPod/iPhone. The message light blinked on my phone constantly but no desk clerk knew how to clear it nor did they seem to care. Bottom line: a good hotel; a better hotel than the price would indicate, but if they tried harder it could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Hook
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

If I could give this a 3 1/2 I would. We needed 2 rooms not far from Barclays Center that was not overly expensive. The rooms were small but they were so clean and very well decorated. The front desk woman was very helpful and helped us out with directions. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel was a disaster. The room was too small for 2 people with luggage. You could not walk around the bed if you had suitcases. The hotel lacked adequate security. Several times on returning to the hotel there was no one at the door providing unfettered access to the rooms. The neighborhood isn't very good (industrial) and there is no hotel parking and the street didn't seem like a safe place to park if you could even find a spot. Did I mention cockroaches on the bed, not the floor, the bed. The hotel staff didn't seem bothered by the cockroaches and when I complained to Choice Hotels they said I would hear from the hotel but it's been a month with no reply. There is one bright spot. The breakfast is served at a nearby coffee shop with good food and a friendly Greek owner and good wait staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fehlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unionhotelbrooklyn, Manager at Union Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hello,

We are sorry to hear your concerns , however we think that you are mistaken regarding all.

1) We have a 24hour concierge/front desk and the only time they can be missing is if they left to use the restroom.
2) We are a new construction hotel without any food and beverage operations on site and thus cockroaches were mistake for spiders. We have not had a single review on any review sites with cockroaches.
3) You had a received a rate of just over $100 a night in Park Slope for a cozy queen room which are on the smaller side as advertised. An opportunity was given to you to upgrade to a larger room but was declined.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our hotel room was very small(i knew before booking) but it was cool for what we needed. Everything was clean. The free breakfast at the the restaurant which is about a block away is good as well.

The location was great we were about 15 mins away on foot from the Barclay Center and from the shopping area. We were also right by the subway.

Overall it was pretty cool for the low price we paid.

Subway from time square took 15-20 mins wasnt bad at all

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgadson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
760 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a Brooklyn hotel located near the R subway line on 4th Ave as well as amid many of the dynamic restaurants, shops, and food stores that make this section of New York City so popular among the millenial crowd. But for older travelers or those with a lot of baggage, this may not be the ideal place. This really is a spartan facility as far as room size is concerned. A king bed takes up 90% of the room living space making it difficult even to stand up without having to go into the bath area for additional space. The land line phone was stored in the closet and there was a folding chair for the room which, when opened, took up the entire aisle aside the bed. Lighting was poor and there were few room or bath amenities (though the bath sink area and shower was of ample size). The TV was cable and I couldn't seem to find any local stations for the news or weather report. Maybe that's the way it was pre-set. I can't say. But it was an inconvenience, nevertheless. There is no lobby to speak of, just a reception kiosk in the entry way. An attendant is available 24/7. The staff uses a downstairs break room which I guess you can use for the refrigeration or heating of food items you might have brought in with you. They do get several copies of the NY Times, though, and the free breakfast is served daily at a restaurant next to the subway. The menu choices are fine and note that a gratuity will be expected. This was fine as long as the weather was decent for the 2 block walk (it was for me but if it's snowing or raining heavily you might decide to forfeit the walk and, hence, the free meal). I think young travelers will actually like the simplicity of this lodging but those used to more lavish surroundings might be in for a mild shock. The neighborhood is great, though. Barclays Center and the BAM are walkable as are the storefronts along popular 5th and 7th avenues. Junior's restaurant, a legacy from President Truman's days, still thrives across from LIU on Nevins and Flatbush, a 2-minute subway trip away. Just think like a minimalist and you might be O.K. If you can't, try bigger digs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the most space available.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoom_Gotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I reserved a room here a couple months in advance and even called the week prior to confirm my reservation. However, when I arrived only about an hour after check in I was told that "someone was smoking in two of the rooms and a pipe burst" so they did not have a room for me. The guy at the desk called the Sleep Inn about 22 blocks away and reserved a room for me there. However he said I would have to pay for it out of pocket and then they would reimburse me. Why they didn't call me earlier in the day to tell me about their "plumbing problems" is beyond me and more than unprofessional. He said they were hoping they would have some cancellations... Their reason for not having a room for me sounded really suspicious so after some researching I have found several complaints from other people being told about plumbing problems. Sounds to me like they frequently overbook and then lie to anyone who shows up once all the rooms are full.

Room Tip: Do not "reserve" a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unionhotelbrooklyn, Manager at Union Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hello,

This customer declined alternative accommodations of equal or better quality near our property. It was an unfortunate occurrence of a room that was damaged the night before and the customer was notified ahead of time.

Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
1.9 mi away
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Pointe Plaza Hotel
#22 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Hotel

Property: Union Hotel
Address: 611 Degraw St, Brooklyn, NY 11217-3120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Union Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing