We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
McCarren Hotel & Pool
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Taunton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and friendly staff”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Drove up from MA with the boyfriend for just one night, the location was the main reason I chose King & Grove. I didn't want to deal with the hassle of cabs and even though it was freezing out the hotel was perfectly located near some places I wanted to see: Brooklyn Brewery, Output nightclub, Restaurants etc.. all walking distance.
I've been to Manhattan many times and this was my first stay in Brooklyn. I couldn't have been happier. The neighborhood is quiet and perfectly safe. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Upon checking in, I went up to my room which was still being cleaned so I went back down to the lobby and they changed my room without a problem and in fact I was happier with the change because my original room was right by the elevator (which I assumed is what you get when you book with an outside company) and my new room was a little further away from the elevators. Also we were able to check in a little earlier than the 4pm check-in time so that was another plus.
My only complaint was that there was a constant noise coming from the shower. My guess is it must have something to do with the way the pipes run internally. Had I been staying more than one night this would have bugged me but I was able to sleep through it for the most part.
I would definitely like to return again when the weather is warm out. The roof top deck is really neat.
Oh and I thought the bed and pillows were amazing, gotta find out where to get the pillows!

Room Tip: I booked with "jetsetter" and I didn't have the option to select a room so what I auto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0lieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlistairKingGrove, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear C0lieN,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay .

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I apologize for the problem you had with the noise from the shower. We have investigated this and it has since been fixed.

I look forward to welcoming you back in near future and in the meantime please free free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    271
    116
    69
    54
See reviews for
258
360
90
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I was deciding between King and Grove and the Wythe and decided on K&G because I'd been to the Wythe for drinks and wanted to try something new. I kind of regretted my decision once arriving. The decor of the hotel is supposed to be Brooklyn edgy which essentially equals concrete. It was really cold in NYC when I was in town which made the front area very, very cold as well as the rest of the hotel.

Front desk is also the bar. I stayed in Room 201 - the deadbolt does not work! The deadbolt is misalign to the hole in the door jam. This was slightly concerning given that the room was next to the fire exit with easy access to other floors and outside. The floors in the bathroom were heated (nice Korean-style touch) but the rest of the room was hardwood floor which was really cold. It was the first time I really understood why carpeting in hotels is important.

The best perk for me about the hotel was the Mailn + Goetz products. Otherwise, the hotel was just meh to me. It's a small room and not very comfy. The closet is tiny and only has three hangers. I had to call downstairs for an iron and ironing board and when I woke up the next morning both had not been picked up by the staff.

I had breakfast downstairs at The Elm. Beautiful restaurant that was very overpriced. Don't get me wrong, service was great and the granola that I ordered was very good, just not $12 good.

I would definitely try the Wythe Hotel before returning to King and Grove. It was a bummer that I didn't get to see the pool which probably would have made a difference in this review.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nycbuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlistairKingGrove, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear nycbuttercup,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay overall. I have made not of your comments and they will be addressed.

We have recently made some changes to the property and yes having the pool open certainly brings a whole different scene to the hotel. We plan on opening the pool in May.

Please feel free to contact me if you are in the area and if I can help with pool passes at any point during the summer.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Terrific Hotel with a Michelin starred restaurant, which makes a pleasing change to staying in Manhattan. Well situated next to Bedford Avenue, which is the busy thoroughfare at the heart of the very up and coming area of Williamsburg.
Excellent rooms, ours had a view of the Empire State Building, which was impressive whilst the breakfast was good with really excellent service. The evening meal we had was simply fantastic but a little expensive. I guess that comes with the Michelin stars. Not only were the waiters pleasant and efficient but they were knowledgeable about the food they served and the wines they dispensed.

Brooklyn is the best spot for viewing the Manhattan skyline and at this Hotel what better than to view it from the rooftop bar. Fantastic views, great drinks.

With its fast underground connection to Manhattan I can recommend people to think about staying here when they come visiting New York City.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlistairKingGrove, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear David P,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as our central location to both in Brooklyn and NYC.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is very well situated, being opposite the park and so in a quieter part of Williamsburg but within easy walking of all the fab restaurants and cafes. The check in staff were great (contrary to other reviews) - friendly, helpful and engaged. There were a few tiny things when we got to the room but the reception dealt with them immediately when we phoned them. The room was just fine, although nothing out of the ordinary in terms of style or size. There did seem to be a lot of redecorating / reparation going on throughout the hotel so a lot of details were not finished. Free parking on the streets at the weekend is a great bonus. Very very comfy beds. The hotel was quiet although the hotel attracts a fairly young crowd who can be noisy coming back in the early hours.

The maid service on the other hand are a disaster. We had to ask twice to have our room made up, and even then the bed was made but the drapes and cushions buried on other furniture. Make sure to lock your door - the service staff walked in without adequate notice on two occasions (even at 10 am on a Sunday!!!). They would only leave us one set of towels, which for a king size room was annoying and so we had to ask for more towels on both days. The bath products were not fully replaced - again for a king size room with two people at the price of the hotel this should have happened. More than anything else the rooms were not really clean.

Would have been great to know about the bar - but we weren't told about it on check in and there was no hotel information in the room or on the website about it. Pity to have missed that! I note that a 'turn down' service is advertised on the website. This is a bit of a joke - our room was only made up at 5pm when we requested for a 2nd time.

This is somewhere to stay in a great area, but misses all the details and touches of somewhere that has any personal investment. It is clearly a corporate set up.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise64London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlistairKingGrove, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Louise64London,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read that we fell short of your expectations and I apologize for that.

We have undergone some changes in the hotel since your visit and you can be rest assured you will not have a repeat experience should you wish to give us another chance.

Please feel free to reach out to me personally so that I can take care of your reservation.

I hope to hear from you and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Twitter and Facebook for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence Township NJ
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Williamsburg is very cool with lots of restaurants -a great weekend getaway. We stayed at King and Grove with a TravelZoo and were very pleased, wished we'd booked another night but they were full. They upgraded us from our Superior room to a Suite, so we don't know what the first room would have been but the Suite was great! Very quiet too. Rooftop bar was nice but DJ was too loud and wine caliber was just OK. We didn't try their restaurant but it's rated very well.

Had breakfast at Allswell, there are many Happy Hour specials all around with $1 oysters, tour of the Brooklyn Brewery, went to Brooklyn BAM via subway. A little inconvenient from Manhattan, just one subway line in & out of Williamsburg, but worth it. We found the hotel to be a nice home base, despite a snowy/rainy weekend, and recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid room too close to rooftop bar if you want to sleep before 1AM. None of the rooms have great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katkin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlistairKingGrove, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Katkin52,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as the complimentary upgrade.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Twitter and Facebook for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed 5 days and encountered several problems, e.g. Strong smell of drains in bathroom (only partially rectified), rooms often not serviced until mid afternoon, incorrect information from reception- told rooftop bar was open on the Saturday night, only to find residents were excluded because of a private party, tried to charge half a day rate for a 3 hour late check out request, restaurant is a totally different operation, so no public areas in hotel so total lack of atmosphere, rooms small and poorly planned. On the plus side the hotel is very well located and the beds are excellent quality and very comfortable, and the hotel is generally quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlistairKingGrove, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear PaulM47,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read your comments but nevertheless take them constructively and we have addressed them.

Unfortunately with regards to the roof top there are times that events pop up at the last minute which may have happened in your case. Also with regards to the restaurant, it is not a separate entity. It is most certainly part of the whole operation for the hotel.

I certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and I do hope you will give us another chance on a future visit to NY.

In the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook or Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed at King & Grove: Williamsburg about 2 weeks ago for a bachelorette party. I was very surprised at how modern everything was and to how accomodating all the staff members were. The bed was super soft and comfortable, and the balcony we had offered perfect views of the city.

I got to spend a little time in the rooftop lounge upstairs and it was a great time!The DJ was playing awesome music and even though it was December, the whole place was nice and toasty.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for modern, convenient accomodations right in the heart of Williamsburg...or to anyone looking for a great place to party on the rooftop!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The William Vale
The William Vale
#7 of 72 in Brooklyn
323 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 72 in Brooklyn
998 reviews
2.5 mi away
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
#4 of 72 in Brooklyn
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#5 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wythe Hotel
Wythe Hotel
#13 of 72 in Brooklyn
511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 72 in Brooklyn
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCarren Hotel & Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCarren Hotel & Pool

Property: McCarren Hotel & Pool
Address: 160 N 12th St, Brooklyn, NY 11249-1127 (Formerly King & Grove Williamsburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#7 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brooklyn
#12 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — McCarren Hotel & Pool 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Brooklyn's most vibrant neighborhood, McCarren Hotel & Pool is an exciting urban retreat. With 64 modern rooms, an ideal location overlooking McCarren Park and luxury amenities that include a rooftop bar with breathtaking views of Manhattan and one of New York City's largest outdoor swimming pools, McCarren Hotel & Pool is the first full-service lifestyle hotel in this thriving neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your McCarren Hotel & Pool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McCarren Hotel & Pool Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing