We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay ay King and Grove”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
McCarren Hotel & Pool
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great stay ay King and Grove”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I spent one night there last May, this time I stayed there for all three days of my quick vacation.
I love this hotel and its quickly becoming my favorite.
Its in a very vibrant neighborhood, with all the good things a big city has to do while maintaining nice neighborhood vibe.Great places to eat, lots of neat small stores, easy subway access.
The staff is friendly and accommodating and made my son and I feel welcome whenever we returned to the hotel. I have to say that Teddy felt like an old friend, because it seems like he was there every time we came or went.
The room was clean, quiet and comfortable.
We didnt eat at the Elm, but we had cocktails there and the bartender was outstanding...he clearly takes pride in his work.
The only negative was that the room wasnt cleaned when we got back one pm, but housekeeping brought us towels, they offered to clean then, but I was too lazy to move from the room.
Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRtheBrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair M, Regional General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear SRthebrave,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a reivew from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as appreciating our central location in the heart of Williamsburg.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the neat future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    264
    110
    65
    44
See reviews for
245
336
86
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a great hotel. We have stayed here many times and it is a favorite of ours. Location is very convenient. You can walk from the hotel to all the great stores and restaurants in Williamsburg. We especially love the pool in the summer. However, the best part of this hotel is the staff. The last time we stayed here we found that the bedside lamps were not working when we checked into the room. A staff member responded to our call very quickly and corrected the problem immediately. We have traveled all over the world and this staff is one of the best. They are responsive, helpful, and accommodating. We stay here frequently and the staff makes you feel as if you are returning home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdg948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair M, Regional General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear mdg948,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as appreciating out award winning service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I came from Boston to visit some old friends and for business. From the moment you step inside, the place is simply first class. I was greeted by someone outside who showed me to the front desk. The staff pointed me in the right direction and were very helpful. Later I went down to get drinks at Elm--had the best mojito of my life. After a busy Saturday, it felt so cool to see the design of my room--especially the heated floors and the view of the park.

The subway is right there to Manhattan and took me no time. Its a great value and I plan on coming once to King & Grove at least once a month when i travel to New York.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair M, Regional General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Jason A,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as appreciating our central location in the heart of Brooklyn but still a stones throw to Manhattan.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Twitter and Facebook for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We came across the East River for a staycation and could not have picked a better location. The staff was terrific from beginning to end, accommodating our every need. Though we didn't eat at The Elm, we certainly took advantage of the beautiful bar for cocktails and a couple of choice items from the kitchen before heading out to dine in the food-friendly neighborhood. Lastly, views from our room of the Manhattan skyline were terrific. Looking forward to returning when the rooftop and pool are open!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Manhattan skyline if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 899Adam899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair M, Regional General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear 899Adam899,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as appreciating our award winning service.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Twitter and Facebook for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Boutique hotel a subway stop from Manhattan at decidedly un-Manhattan prices! We booked a King room for a weekend getaway with friends and though services are basic, everything is clean, stylish, quiet (the otherwise noisy rooftop bar is closed in winter) and the location, steps from prime Williamsburg is awesome. Book in advance for best rates. I don't think we'll go anywhere else from now on. Makes a weekend escape to New York comfortable and affordable. Awesome bed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have nice little balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair M, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear KitLP,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as appreciating our central location in the heart of Williamsburg.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Twitter and Facebook for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
547 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights while attending a nearby wedding.

First, the staff was VERY helpful. Rooms were small but adequate, clean, and well stocked. Dining for breakfast was good but a bit pricey (but we are in NY).

The hotel is well located for shopping and dining and w/o traffic a 15-minute cab ride to Manhattan.

Recommended!

Only downside is the lobby is not well heated..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeHouston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlistairKingGrove, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear JoeHouston52,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as appreciating our central location in the heart of Williamsburg.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We came to New York to see 3 Broadway shows and didn't want to spend a fortune on a hotel. We got an EMAIL special offer for this hotel and found it to be a delight. The rooms are on the small side but very attractive and well-appointed. The staff is charming and very responsive.

Located next to McCarren Park, it's 5 short blocks to the L line into Manhattan. The neighborhood is vibrant, with lots of small restaurants and shops. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlistairKingGrove, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear FrequentTraveler4446,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as appreciating our central location in the heart of Williamsburg.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The William Vale
The William Vale
#7 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#6 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 71 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 71 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#10 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCarren Hotel & Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCarren Hotel & Pool

Property: McCarren Hotel & Pool
Address: 160 N 12th St, Brooklyn, NY 11249-1127 (Formerly King & Grove Williamsburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#7 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#12 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — McCarren Hotel & Pool 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Brooklyn's most vibrant neighborhood, McCarren Hotel & Pool is an exciting urban retreat. With 64 modern rooms, an ideal location overlooking McCarren Park and luxury amenities that include a rooftop bar with breathtaking views of Manhattan and one of New York City's largest outdoor swimming pools, McCarren Hotel & Pool is the first full-service lifestyle hotel in this thriving neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your McCarren Hotel & Pool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McCarren Hotel & Pool Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing