We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, lots of fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
McCarren Hotel & Pool
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Land O Lakes, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, lots of fun”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We've stayed at King & Grove, Brooklyn several times since our daughter moved to Williamsburg. Jessica and Nisa were particularly helpful; they pointed us in the right direction for great food and fun. There is so much to do and see in williamsburg we barely made it into Manhattan. The restaurant in the hotel was to die for! We also had a great time in their roof top bar. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair M, Regional General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Robin P,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as appreciating all of our amenities.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    271
    116
    69
    54
See reviews for
258
360
90
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

my wife and i stayed here for 9 nights, returning a week ago.
we couldn't have had a better time.
the room was big for new york standards, with a balcony overlooking the park and an amazing view over to manhattan. super comfortable bed, could have maybe done with a bit more storage space for those staying longer than a weekend, i guess.
the elm was great, amazing food and a good bar area. i'm not a massive fan of hotel bars and restaurants, as i spend too much time in them with work, but the elm was great.
the hotel is in such a good location for other bars and restaurants around williamsburg, it was a shame to stay in really.
really good transport links into manhattan, and really friendly and helpful staff.
can't really fault it, would like to have seen the rooftop bar and pool open, but that's no fault of theirs we arrived just before the season started for both. both looked (from what we could see) to be really spacious and fun.
will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: we had a king room overlooking the park at the front. a little noisy from the traffic, but you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juniorpertwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My boyfriend & I stayed here to celebrate his birthday. I had planned a special getaway weekend, with a concert, brewery tour, great restaurants and sightseeing. This Hotel fit the bill. It is a boutique hotel I across from a park in Williamsburg, and everything about it felt special. Our room was small, but still wonderful for what we needed. The bed was comfortable, and the wooden floors were nice underfoot. We enjoyed looking out our window at the pool below, and the apartments across the way!! The bathroom was nice - very clean! I especially loved the soap - hand milled in NY - nice touch!! There was plenty of room in the closet for both our clothes for the weekend. We were there the last weekend the pool was open, and the weather was glorious! We enjoyed bobbing around the pool and having a poolside drink. The rooftop bar has spectacular views of the Manhattan skyline. Our goal was to explore Williamsburg & the front desk staff were helpful with maps and directions and ideas. Also, the other hotel guests were all pretty chic / hipster looking, and we enjoyed that aspect - no boring tourist types here! We loved every minute of our stay, and hated to leave. This was not an inexpensive hotel, but for us it was worth it!! We would definitely go back. I really hope we do!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corsagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair M, Regional General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Corsagi,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as appreciating all our amenities along with our convenient location in the heart of Williamsburg.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair Maclean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We've stayed here at least 5 times since our son moved to Williamsburg to attend Med School in NYC and this place is great as it is near an incredible selection of food and cultural venues. In addition the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The restaurant is world class-reservations are recommended. The rooms are well designed with good, clean functional bathrooms and large beds. Only complaint is that they are a little small and the work area is not well set-up. For us the location, in the heart of Williamsburg and next to a wonderful park makes up for some of the these deficiencies. Compared to NYC you'll find good reasonable parking options. Only 4 short blocks from the L line that gets you to NYC in less than 10 minutes.

Room Tip: In the back you get the view of the pool during the summer months. Otherwise it is located in a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deaixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair M, Regional General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear deaixa,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as appreciating our central location in the heart of Williamsburg.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Twitter and Facebook for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Recently stayed for a week visiting our son, daughter in law and little grandson. This will be the fourth time we have stayed here, the rooms are very nicely appointed with wooden floor, marble bathroom and the most clean and comfortable bed you could wish for. The hotel has changed hands over the last couple of years and has had some teething problems but everything is up and running now. The new manager Michael and his team couldn't have more helpful in trying to make our stay as pleasant as possible, nothing was too much trouble. This hotel is perfectly located for a trip to New York, you could easily spend a week eating in the great restaurants and looking around the individual shops and markets in this area without going into the city which is only a short train ride away. We'll be back!.

Room Tip: We've always stayed at the back overlooking the pool. The hotel does not have entertainment for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiseGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair M, Regional General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear louiseGuildford,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as appreciating our central location in the heart of Williamsburg. I have passed along your kind words to Michael who is a key part of our team here at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Twitter and Facebook for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Very stylish rooms. Not too big but all you need is there including a great bathroom. Pool area is very cool and the restaurant/bar on the top has the best view. On the other side of the street is a park.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fabio_Negro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair M, Regional General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Fabio_Negro,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Please feel free to follow us on Twitter or Facebook for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is the epitome of the pretentious hotel and the architects who designed it should be ashamed of themselves. Invariable it is the small things that make a difference. For example there is only one tiny hook to hang your towel in the bathroom. Where would two people hang two towels in the bathroom is something that did not bother the designers in the least. Of course the water in the designer shower does not all go into the drain and ends up outside, some of it in the bedroom itself. There is no place in the room to set your suitcase, which you have to leave on the floor, right in the middle taking up space. The (design) light switches are infuriatingly bad and do not work properly… All in all a rather disappointing experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAPESTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair M, Regional General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear GRAPESTRAVELLER,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read about your comments regarding the design of the room and I appreciate you giving us honest feedback.

Please feel free to contact me directly for all future reservation requests so that I can ensure you have the right accommodations to suit your needs.

I do hope to have the chance to have you back at the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The William Vale
The William Vale
#7 of 72 in Brooklyn
323 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 72 in Brooklyn
998 reviews
2.5 mi away
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
#4 of 72 in Brooklyn
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#5 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wythe Hotel
Wythe Hotel
#13 of 72 in Brooklyn
511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 72 in Brooklyn
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCarren Hotel & Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCarren Hotel & Pool

Property: McCarren Hotel & Pool
Address: 160 N 12th St, Brooklyn, NY 11249-1127 (Formerly King & Grove Williamsburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#7 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brooklyn
#12 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — McCarren Hotel & Pool 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Brooklyn's most vibrant neighborhood, McCarren Hotel & Pool is an exciting urban retreat. With 64 modern rooms, an ideal location overlooking McCarren Park and luxury amenities that include a rooftop bar with breathtaking views of Manhattan and one of New York City's largest outdoor swimming pools, McCarren Hotel & Pool is the first full-service lifestyle hotel in this thriving neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your McCarren Hotel & Pool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McCarren Hotel & Pool Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing