We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Surfish

Surfish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th St & 5th Ave
Transit: Trains F, G, R at 4th Ave/9th St subway stop
US
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Surfish is an unassuming little place, with a lovely garden in the back, where diners can sit. Two tables are beneath a tent, and we sat very comfortably during a heavy rain. The tapas are excellent and the service is friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glynnstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    19
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

4 of us went yesterday for an early dinner. The weather was nice enough to sit outside in the garden area, which was so pleasant. We ordered 2 soups and 4 Tapas dishes. One dish only had 3 servings and the waitress said she would request 4, so we could all have one. I thought that was so accomodating. The meal was delicious. I wish we could have tried everything. We'll just have to go back and sample some other dishes. Very enjoyable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandJMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Superb parihuela”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Try their parihuela (seafood) soup. It was spicy and delicious. Their ceviche mixto was excellent as was the pineapple ceviche

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AvidTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious but way too pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

This place has excellent ceviche. The pineapple tuna is excellent, the zapatillos is great and so is the ceviche mixto. My biggest complaint is how overpriced these things are. The pineapple tuna is less than a cup in size and its $13. Same with the rest of the dishes. They are so unbelievably small and you pay so much for them.

Won't be going back. I can make most of these at home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daveded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ceviche is a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

One of my favorite restaurants in the area. Having been here a few times, I am never disappointed.Highly recommend their ceviches, especially the pineapple tuna. The entrees are very big. The skirt steak is excellent, as well as their seafood paella. Their lychee Bellini is delicious. Profiteroles and churros are great desserts here. The restaurant can be very crowded on weekends considering it is a very tiny area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surfish also viewed

 

Been to Surfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing