We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Cool for School”
Review of Hotel BPM Brooklyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel BPM Brooklyn
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kansas City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Too Cool for School”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I absolutely LOVED this hotel, the room, the bed/bedding, and the bathroom, as noted by everyone so far. The location was great for us, while visiting my brother's family in Brooklyn. The price was fantastic, the parking was easy, cheap, safe, (and such a relief!) I really want this hotel to succeed, as I really want to come back!

Here are a few, minor things we thought could have used some more attention:
- The Keurig in the room was AWESOME. Having sugar and even powder creamer would have been even better.

- The room was very clean. The coffee mugs in the room were not.

- The staff is very cool, friendly, and enthusiastic, but some of them might need a bit more training to appear more professional. This has nothing to do with the dress code, which I love. It was just very clear that some of the morning crew on Sunday was hungover/tired.

- We were traveling with a baby, and brought our own pack n play, which was good b/c no one offered us one. I don't know if children are a rarity or discouraged at BPM, but we were definitely the only ones I saw.

- Our neighbors smoked pot every evening, which truly wouldn't have bothered us except that the walls are super thin or the ventilation is tied from room to room, because our room REEKED every time. We didn't complain to the hotel because we knew going into BPM that this was likely a party crowd. But after we loaded our stinky luggage and baby gear into our rental car and could still smell it a day later, we became a bit more annoyed about it.

- Sound travels thru this hotel very easily. The good news is that the floors are small, so there aren't a lot of rooms on each. The bad news is that from our bed with the TV on, we could hear every time someone came off the elevator on our floor.

- The breakfast/cocktail room is very cool, but the breakfast bar experience was a bit awkward. We weren't sure if we were supposed to just grab things from the bar, like regular hotel breakfast rooms, or if the breakfast attendant was bringing things to us. Coffee should have been available as a stand alone. There were items offered that were not readily available, and no one would have known were available unless a guest hadn't asked specifically. (Cereal, omelettes, bacon, etc)

Overall we really liked the hotel. I am sure the tiny things we noticed were just due to a new property and new staff finding their groove, and we cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, General Manager at Hotel BPM Brooklyn, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
SMC143,

We are glad you LOVED the hotel because we LOVED having you visit us! Knowing that you've got family in Brooklyn lets us know that you’ll be back and we'd like you to consider us as your extended family too...we'll always keep a room for you!.

Just for the record..we love kiddies...never discourage families but they are a rarity here. Does not mean for a second that we don't love'em to pieces...cause we do. We even have some excellent babysitter referrals if you need any.

We don't encourage any kind of smoking in the hotel as a matter of fact we are a smoke free property and apologize for the inconsiderate behavior of some.

All of your comments are appreciated and will only help us to improve and make your next experience better.

Thank you and look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    243
    128
    59
    59
See reviews for
128
247
84
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

just returned from a wonderful stay at Hotel BPM! And i loved it...it was comfortable, welcoming, modern rooms and great service. The hotel has great staff with great energy...loraine and donald...big up! the staff at BPM are a wealth of information and make you feel totally welcomed.

the hotel is in its infancy...so i will stay there again and see how it grows and develops. for me the only draw backs is that there is no bathtubs, pool or workout space. The staff of this hotel will go out of their way to please.
Just a friendly suggestion... the dj's should diversify for its clientele...maybe start with a oldies hour...jazz & just work your way up to the party stuff for late night. to embrace a diverse cleintel. But i will most certainly return.
Also the hotel is exactly as it appears in its pics...i stayed there from aug 30-sept 4 2012!

Room Tip: refrain for rooms close to the elevators...their a little loud when the button is pressed...if your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaycee852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Manager at Hotel BPM Brooklyn, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Jaycee852,

We are happy to hear that you had a great time at Hotel BPM. Loraine & Donald both asked me to thank you for the kind words.

We are very appreciative for looking past some of our flaws that everyone "rubs up against" and understanding that we are in fact in our infancy.

We are exploring "partnership" opportunities with some fitness centers in the area that have great work-out space and will keep everyone updated via the Hotel's blog. (You better be reading it LOL)

We appreciate all your comments and suggestions and look forward to your return.

Cheers,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Great staff: Jonathan especially was very very helpfull :). Paul is also a very welcoming manager. Overall everybody was nice. Rooms were comfy and i loved the fact that it is not a touristy area. To finish dj playing music in the lobby is amazing
Would go back if the price stays right!
Rima and Fares from Paris and Toronto

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rima88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, General Manager at Hotel BPM Brooklyn, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Rima88

Thank you for the review! As you know our property is in the "soft opening" stage preparing for our grand opening on the 28th of September. When we receive feedback from a customer like you it let's us know that we are on the right track.

Looking forward to your next visit to Hotel BPM :)

Cheers,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We were a little hesitant, not being Hip Hop clientele, but our stay here was excellent. We were welcomed with bottles of cold water, shown to a nice, comfortable room, and advised that street parking would be safe and save us $15 a night. We were able to park under the expressway, and the car was just as we'd left it the next day.

When we went out for the evening, the desk called a car for us so we didn't have to hunt down a cab, a very nice touch. It is a rather quiet part of town, not much going on around it, but it's an easy trip to Park Slope.

The linens were fantastic and we slept very well in the comfy king-size bed. The street was surprisingly quiet for a city. The room was small, but definitely normal for locale, and it was well appointed. I would have liked to see some water glasses, and perhaps a corkscrew in the room, but we made do with coffee mugs.

The next morning we got the time wrong for breakfast and were confused when there wasn't anything out, but the chef went above and beyond to provide us with a good hot breakfast, and we were thrilled with the service.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, General Manager at Hotel BPM Brooklyn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
TravelingSum,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for Hotel BPM. Once again our staff looks as though they were on the mark and provided the service which is our standard...excellent.

Knowing that you will come back and see us again speaks tomes to your experience and I can assure you that we will only get better. Our "fun" green glasses that we ordered for our rooms should arrive any day and next time you visit rest assured that glasses and a corkscrew will be waiting for you.

Thanks again and we'll see you soon!

Cheers,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed at Hotel BPM opening weekend. The hotel was excellent. Rooms were very clean and the staff was extremely friendly and courteous. Every question was answered in a warm and professional manner. WIth the convenient location to downtown brooklyn and the city...this will be my NY hotel destination for a long time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josh a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, General Manager at Hotel BPM Brooklyn, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Josh,

Thanks for taking the time to check us out and for the great review. Our goal here at Hotel BPM is to get better every day...the pursuit of perfection!

It's great guests like yourself that inspire us to live up to our credo and make Hotel BPM the Best Place to Stay in Brooklyn!

We'll leave the music on for you...see you soon.

Cheers,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My friends and I had such a great time at this hotel this past Saturday! The staff is ridiculously cool and friendly, and we loved the music-related branding. There was a DJ in the lobby that night and they had free drinks in the lounge area. We probably should've just stayed there and partied instead of going into the city! We also really loved our room. NYC hotels are known for being crazy small, but we were actually impressed. The rooms are very modern and comfy, and the shower is awesome. They also offer free bottled water and wifi. We definitely plan to stay here again for our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelchick202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, General Manager at Hotel BPM Brooklyn, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Your review is appreciated! It's great to hear praise for the staff as each and every one goes the extra "mile" to make our guest's stay memorable. Hearing about you level of satisfaction from our staff and your enjoyment of the room reaffirms to us what we know: Great customer service and clean comfortable, well-appointed rooms = Happy Guest!

Thank you and see you back here soon...we'll leave the music on for you :)

Cheers,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My boyfriend and I spend two nights at this hotel for our anniversary. We booked through the hotels website and the prices were cheaper than on hotels.com. $132/night is amazing for New York. The hotel hasn't even had their grand opening yet, and I'm assuming prices will increase during basketball season due to the new Brooklyn team.
If taking the subway, take the N, Q or D train to 36th St in Brooklyn. The N & Q are express trains so the trip is about 20-25 minutes from Grand Central. Exit the subway on the 36th SE side and walk on 4th Ave down to 33rd St then take a left. You will see the hotel from the street corner.
We arrived way before check-in time so we decided to leave our bags at the hotel and head back into Manhattan. They were very good about that and gave us tags with numbers on them to retrieve our bags when we were ready to check-in. When we came back around 5pm, our room was ready and we received our bags. We also got a few bottles of water, complementary of the hotel. The staff was super friendly. They always treated us as if we were the only ones staying in the hotel (which I think we were on Thursday night). Chelsie was a woman working at the front desk most of the time we were there. I swear she worked about 16 hours a day. No matter the time, she was always smiling and laughing.
Our room was just a standard king. We had a room on the 5th floor facing 33rd St. (There are 6 floors) The room was great! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was fun! The speakers to the television are in the bathroom. We couldn't figure out if there was a way to change it to just be in the bedroom. We didn't care that much because we were just there to sleep really. The shower was the cool part. It was a rainfall shower. Nice touch. There was never any noise at night that woke us up either.
There is complimentary breakfast in the morning until about 10:30. They have bagels, fruit, omelets, bacon, french toast, tea, juice and coffee. We left a tip on the table both mornings because the staff brought us omelets, french toast and our drinks. Then he cleared the table as well.
I strongly recommend staying here. The area might look sketchy for those who aren't used to the city, but we didn't see any bums at all. We felt comfortable walking whether it was 3am, 10pm or 8am.

Room Tip: Stay on the side facing 33rd St. You get a nice view of the sunset over the buildings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, General Manager at Hotel BPM Brooklyn, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Yellowkat,

We are so happy to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us. Chelsie is indeed a treasure and we are delighted to have her at our front desk...we actually let her go home every now and then too :)

There will be events at the new Barclays Center that will affect our rates for sure but we will always keep them as affordable as possible and certainly would love to have you back.

Thanks to guests like you two we were notified today that our rating from Expedia was being increased from 3 stars to 3.5! A pretty amazing feat for a Hotel that hasn't had its Grand Opening yet. Thanks to guests like you that made that possible we give you a big Hotel BPM Salute!

Cheers,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Brooklyn Sunset Park
0.4 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#24 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#15 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#10 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
2.4 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#11 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel BPM Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BPM Brooklyn

Property: Hotel BPM Brooklyn
Address: 139 33rd St, Brooklyn, NY 11232
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel BPM Brooklyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where music meets hospitality; Hotel BPM (inspired by the music term "beats per minute", referring to the pace count of a song), is about redefining the travel experience to a new generation of travelers, this lifestyle brand, focused around music entertainment culture, offers it's clientele a modern minimalist feel with upgraded amenities & aspects of music lifestyle mixed in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel BPM Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel BPM Brooklyn New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing