We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique!!!”
Review of Hotel Indigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Boutique!!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Indigo Hotel, sadly, we only stayed 1 night. Everything was just right, were were in town from Washington, DC and truly the location!! The bed and decor was trendy and modern, I love "boutique" hotels, and this will be a favorite spot to stay while in Brooklyn. The staff was great, Sue and "Zellie" were very helpful and friendly. My husband and I were very happy with out stay, the price was very affordable and the staff was extemely accomadating. We highly recommend this Hotel to anybody who is visiting Brooklyn for its convenient location, great customer service and good value for the money, please save 1 room for us!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyyb616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl B, Regional Director of Operations at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear tracyyb616,

What a great review, thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to write such nice comments on your most recent stay with us. Thank you for also mentioning some of the staff that provided you with exceptional service. I'm going to share your comments with them, they'll love it.

Thank you for you business and hope that when your travels tack you abck to Brooklyn, you will be staying with us again.

Best Regards,
Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    203
    102
    41
    40
See reviews for
104
167
71
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Indigo Hotel (we stayed 4 nights). Everything was just right - the size of the room (we had a Standard King room), great shower, trendy bathroom amenities, amazing view on Brooklyn (choose the higher floor), huge flat-screen TV on the wall with plenty of channels. We had a very good sleep as the pillows and the matress were really soft and comfy. Every morning there was a complimentary coffee in the lobby for the guests, in addition to a very nice coffee-maker in the room.
We were pleased that local calls from the room were free of charge. And it was great to discover a small refrigerator as well.
The staff was just fantastic, very helpful and friendly. When we arrived the lovely receptionist Anetta helped us very quickly to resolve a small issue. The next morning the other receptionist girl (forgot her name but she is from Honduras) was extremely helpful with local directions and advices.
Overall we were very pleased with our stay (even better than expected)! We definitely recommend this Hotel to anybody who is visiting Brooklyn for its convenient location, great customer service and good value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to enjoy a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RV22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl B, Regional Director of Operations at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear RV22,

What a fantastic review. Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write about your recent 4 night stay with us here at the Hotel Indigo Brooklyn. It sounds like you really enjoyed your trip and most of all really enjoyed our hotel. I was also pleased to read that several staff members also helped you when you needed. I will be sharing your comments with the staff.

Thank you for also pointing out some of the many amenities we have to offer in our guest rooms.

I truely hope that if your travels take you to NYC and the Brooklyn area again, that you'll make the Hotel Indigo your hotel of choice and stay with us again. We always love it when past guests stay again with us and see all of the new improvements we've made.

Best Regards,
Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I was all ready to fall in love with this adorable new hotel. The location is great, and I loved the rooms' modern, comfy design. I didn't even mind that the rooms are kind of small.

However, the experience changed my mind. I don't think I'll EVER be back to a Hotel Indigo, or any part of InterContinental Hotels Group (this includes Crowne Plaza, Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Holiday Inn Resort, StayBridge, Candlewood).

I'm a former New Yorker, by the way. So it's not a case of an out-of-towner thinking locals are "rude." And I was 100% courteous.

First, there were hairs on the shower wall (clearly not mine), and the heat didn't work, so the room was COLD. I was assured everything would be fixed while I was out for the day. The concierge told me the issues had been fixed when I returned, but they weren't. Same cold room, same gross hairs. They switched my room to a bit bigger one, but didn't offer anything to smooth over the issue until I asked--then I got one breakfast comped.

The hotel's credit card policy wasn't fully stated when I booked. The email said "Please note that your credit card may be pre-authorised prior to your arrival." Be warned: what they really do is authorize the first night, then charge the full stay. So until the authorization falls off, you've basically been overcharged. This locked my account; I hadn't planned on an extra night, so I didn't have enough funds available in the account at the time.

I was given the okay to write a check instead, which I did (they later denied this). The next day, the manager called and overrode this, saying they would not accept a check. After berating me over the phone, she called 911 and had the police order me out of the hotel. Yes, you read that right. It was awful. And I'd already paid for half my stay by card. This was all after the hair, cold room, and moving to another room.

The hotel had empty rooms during my stay. They weren't losing money on me. Instead of full payment and a happy, returning customer, the hotel manager chose to lose money, credibility, and a lot of future business by kicking me out one night early in case my check didn't clear (it would have, of course). I still can't believe it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a little extra space. The first room I was in was so small that I couldn't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Lindsay B,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This Hotel was a a pleasure to stay in.Very Very Friendly Staff from the Front Desk to every employee I met.Great Location,Within walking Distance to many restaurants, stores and the Barclays Center.The room I was in was spacious enough for 2,decorated in a hip urban metro manner.Wi-Fi easy to acess.The Only downfall was the restaurant wasnt open as of yet,but once it is,it will be a really upbeat and convenient amenity.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl B, Regional Director of Operations at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Lori B,

I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for writing a review about your most recent stay here at the Hotel Indigo in Downtown Brooklyn. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us. Hoping you also got to experience a bit of downtown and take advantage of all the shopping and restaurants in the area. I apologize that our restaurant was not open during your stay. We anticipate that the Brooklyn Brewhouse will open within the next couple weeks.

Best Regards,
Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

If you watched the movie Zoolander, you'll appreciate the title of this review.

I booked my room through Priceline. Check in took a little long.
The room and bathroom were clean. BUT.....smallest rooms ever. Like another poster said, there was no place for my luggage. The room is barely big enough for two people. This is less the fault of how space was divided and more about the building itself. Its extremely narrow. For that reason alone it should NEVER have been converted to a hotel.

The ambiance in the common areas was fine. You get a small discount on breakfast at the Sheraton and the Aloft across the street.
It's in a great location. You have the Barclays center in walking distance. Chinatown and Wall street are one stop away on the train. You can dine and shop on Fulton street and Flatbush avenues in Brooklyn.

I almost always book my hotels through Priceline. But as long as this hotel is in their inventory, I will NO LONGER bid on a 3 star hotel in Brooklyn.

Room Tip: Do not accept a "standard" room. Too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackJohnDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl B, Regional Director of Operations at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Dear BlackJohnDoe,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review on your recent stay at the Hotel Indigo Brooklyn. I apologize that your accommodations weren't as large as you may have anticipated. We have made ever effort in organizing the rooms to work as efficiently as possible due to some of the sizes of rooms we have. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.

I am happy to see you pointed out the benefits of our location and all that is around to do and even see. Plenty of shopping, dining and the Barclays center are all definately within walking distance of the hotel.

Thank you for your business and again for writing about your stay with us.

Best Regards,
Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed in a two-queen bed room for one night for a show at the nearby Brooklyn Academy of Music and were very satisfied with our stay. For the AAA rate, we thought the value was excellent, I've never stayed in NYC for anything close to this. Our room was on the 15th floor and was absolutely silent the whole time we were there; no street noise or hall noise. The hotel is clean, modern and comfortable. I laugh at the "tiny rooms" comments because folks who say that have obviously never seen the closet-sized rooms in Italy or France, apparently! This room was more than ample for my sister and me and we had plenty of room to change, spread out our bags and move around. Beds were comfortable, bathroom clean and roomy, shower was hot, WiFi was free. That's all we could ask for.

The location was a short walking distance to BAM for the concert, which was perfect. Also we took the subway to Brooklyn Museum of Art and back, and it was quick and easy on the 2/3 line nearby, which left us right in the museum's front yard.

Check-in and check-out staff were friendly and efficient. We valet parked our car for $37, which is not a fee of the hotel but of an independent service. It's expensive, but it IS NYC.

As part of the renovation, there was no sign on the hotel, which made it very difficult to find (just look across from the Sheraton) and the restaurant was not yet ready for business, which just meant we ate at the wonderful Junior's for lunch and breakfast anyway. I'd return here for sure, would be interested to see how it is when the renovation is complete.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amybatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl B, Regional Director of Operations at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear amybatt,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We appreciate your business and are so glad you enjoyed your room and the hotel overall. I love sharing comments such as yours with the staff as it's a real motivator to them.

I do apologize that our sign was not visable to you. I'm glad to say that as a new hotel, we recently had the sign installed and is now visbale for all to see.

I hope that next time your travels take you to the NYC area and Brooklyn in general, you will stay with us once again. I think you'll find many more improvements coming down the line shortly as we love sharing how we've grown with past guests.

Best Regards and again, thank you!

Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

Having read a TA review about the tiny rooms, I was prepared for the worst. But note, I still made a reservation because of the sweet price I got! The room was small , but it was quite comfortable for two of us on a weekend trip to the city (note one small bag). The location was great only a shot walk fr the subway, and also a short walk from Juniors restaurant, a Brooklyn institution worth a visit for breakfast and /or cheese cake. The parking is close, but expensive. I would return , especially with a good room rate.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAEberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl B, Regional Director of Operations at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear BAEberly,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay with us here at the Hotel Indigo Brooklyn. We appreciate the time you took to write this as well as having you as our guest. Sounds very much like you enjoyed your stay too.

Thanks for mentioning Juniors too, it truely is a Brooklyn institution and only a short walk from our hotel. Next time when you find yourself staying in Brooklyn, we hope you'll make the Hotel Indigo your hotel while traveling. Look for our new Brooklyn Brewhouse Restaurant to be open too, we're excited about it.

Best Regards,
Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#23 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#14 of 72 in Brooklyn
913 reviews
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo

Property: Hotel Indigo
Address: 229 Duffield St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5302 (Formerly Hotel 718)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing