We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool, funky and hip in downtown Brooklyn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Indigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cool, funky and hip in downtown Brooklyn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was the third Hotel Indigo location we have tried. The Hotel Indigo Brooklyn is located right in down town Brooklyn. It is very close to shopping areas, Subway, Barclay Center and several other attractions. The hotel is across the street from the Sheraton and the aloft hotel. There is construction currently going on in front of the hotel so the street is tight.

We parked using Vic's parking, which has an agreement with the hotel. We self parked but you can also have Vic's valet park your car. The cost is $35.00 per 24 hour period and you can pull the car out one time more time per day with no additional charge.

The front desk was very helpful and checking in was fast and easy. The customer service was excellent at this hotel. As with the other Hotel Indigo's we stayed in, the lobby is small but hip. The hotel has 20 floors serviced by 2 elevators. The wait was never to bad but if the hotel was busy this might be an issue.

Our room was super clean, cool and funky. We had two double beds as there were 3 of us in the room. There was more then adequate storage space and the room was a decent size, especially for NYC. There was a little refrigerator, safe, ironing board and a decent sized desk. The beds, pillows and linens were very comfortable. The room was also very quiet and in the daytime had a lot of natural light. We had a flat screen, good size TV mounted on the wall with several complimentary cable channels. There was wifi also, the hotel provided the log in name and password at check in.

The bathroom was pleasant also with a very nice walk in shower and modern, funky tiles. The hotel provided soap, shampoo and conditioner. There was a big sink with and plenty of counter space. There was also a hair dryer.

A restaurant is alongside the building, which basically serves as the hotel's own. We didn't try it, but it looked good. The restaurants serves beer and wine and drinks also.

I booked with a no refund policy and and using AAA, and the price was still similar to comparable hotels in Manhattan. At a base race if $290.00 plus taxes, etc. we were in the $340.00 range at check out. Not a bargain rate even in NYC. I would have to call this hotel moderate/pricey based on my rate.

All in all, this was a very nice hotel and location. If your looking for a comfortable, smaller hotel in downtown Brooklyn, Hotel Indigo hits the mark.

Room Tip: Look for specials and good rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrmambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear rrmambo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at Hotel Indigo Brooklyn. When our guests give us detailed feedback like you have- it lets us know how we are doing and how we can improve- we cannot than you enough for your feedback! Our team is committed to providing stellar customer service and we are delighted to know that you had a good time with us. It was a pleasure to be your host. Come visit us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    197
    97
    39
    39
See reviews for
101
157
68
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
125 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The place has very small rooms, but they are clean and nice.

The location is good and bad.

The Good;
- Location is close to subway to Manhattan
- Lots of bargain shops close by
- Nice bar in hotel

The Bad;
- Location is not welcoming after dark
- Not many cool spots close by, there are some but you must look hard
- Taxi's have a hard time finding the place

Room Tip: When you speak with taxi, tell them you are heading to Sheraton, across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear James P,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo Brooklyn! Our team takes great pride in making sure our rooms are refreshingly clean and inviting because we know what our guests deserve- the best!! Our team is neighborhood saavy- and boy do we have the info you need to find the best places in BK. Next time your in town ask us about our local favorites. We will point you in the right direction.

Thanks for visiting us! Come again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great little hotel with quirky rooms. Didn't hugely enjoy the Irish Mexican themed bar next door as the only bar/restaurant, but the front desk staff were exceptional. Nearby parking $35 per day is less than a block away and equally friendly. Very clean and although the rooms are on the small aide(hey this is a city centre hotel) it was extremely well thought out. Great shower in bathroom. Happily stay here again and recommend.

Room Tip: There is some building work at the hotel rear, but my room overlooked the front and I heard nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoVisentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear LorenzoVincentin,

Thank you for the positive review. Our team is delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our services. The brewhouse offeres daily specials so we encourage you to come back and try a different one of their brooklyn based treats. Come visit again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Some reviwers complain about the location.I dont see a problem with that,the area is all safe day and and night. There are many shops ,restaurants nearby.
Room was great:comfortable bed,nice big bathroom,impressive design,free wifi.
Front desk staff was super nice,special thanks to them


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkX86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear MarkX86,

Thank you for the 5 star revew! No need to thank us... our team is committed to Providing Great Hotels Guests love.. special service for a special guest- thats how we see it :).

Our rooms are really something arent they? Our fresh and trendy design offers comfort and convenience while reflecting downtown brooklyns own neighborhood story.

Next time your in town ask us about our local favorites- there is so much to show you!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at hotel indigo with some friends for my 30th birthday in April and as soon as we arrived we were greeted my Megan who was adorable and very helpful.
Throughout our stay we received first class customer service from all the staff which made my birthday that much more special.
Tawanna ( I hope I spelt that right) was also one we all wont forget who went out of her way to see us off on our last day.

I would most defiantly go back and encourage anyone who is looking for a reasonable priced hotel in the centre of Brooklyn to stay here plus the décor is beautiful.

Loads of subway stations surround this hotel and great places to eat out.

Planning my next trip as I type!

Thanks
Destiny xx

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear DoubleDLondon,

Thank you for staying with us! It was surely a pleasure to be your host during your trip to New York. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us-Tawanna says hello as well.

Come visit again soon , there is so much more to show you!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

After a stay with a bigger group of students for a seminar, several of the participants' cards, where wrongfully charged without permission. The charges were paid by a travel agent in advance. The Indigo Hotel refused to solve this matter and return the charges. It now several months.

We strongly advise anyone not to stay in this hotel and on top of it the service was just terrible. Rooms without heating etc.pp.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Good Afternon T.S,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo Brooklyn! As you know we have been working with both your group leader and travel agent to rectify this matter. We have kept you abreast of every action being taken on the account and will continue to keep you informed. Should you require any additional information or assistance please contact me directly at the Hotel.

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Underwhelming and smaller than it looks in the pictures. Location underwhelming.

The staff were excellent. The room at least made the most of the very limited space. There was no where to hang a coat or dress, with the wardrobe having a strange bench in it.

Room service was prompt and competitively priced.

Room Tip: Pack a small suitcase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Jeremy B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. Keep in mind that we have a variety of room types that would work for any size preference. In the city space is valuable- our fresh design enables us to use ur space in an efficent way so that our guests are able to find room for thir traveling essentials. Thank you for you great comments about the team- we are comitted to providing Great Hotels Guests Love and it is truly great news to hear you enjoyed our services. Come visit again soon!

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#20 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#10 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#15 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo

Property: Hotel Indigo
Address: 229 Duffield St, Brooklyn, NY 11201 (Formerly Hotel 718)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing