We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little hotel in Brooklyn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Indigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel in Brooklyn”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is walking distance to the Brooklyn Bridge and has easy access to the Subway to take you to Manhattan or any other direction. It was a bit hard to find but once I found it, it was hotel row with Sheraton and Aloft across the street. The hotel restaurant was a bar/restaurant which is basically pub food.

The room was modern and clean. Updated and very functional. Rooms were decent sized for New York but the main benefit was it's accessibility to all major subways and bus lines. Parking is not included so be sure to factor in about $35 a night extra if you are driving. Overall a good experience and good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear KarlLin,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts abut your recent stay. With close to 10 subway lines near us , we pride ourselves on being one of the most traveler friendly locations in Downtown Brooklyn! We chose this location because we are committed to providing Great Hotels Guests Love and we understand what our guest need- comfort and convenience.

Our restaurant The Brooklyn Brewhouse specializes in Brooklyn based treats. I must say that the food definitely hits the spot especially when paired with a Brooklyn pale ale :) . Next time your in town, be sure to ask the Front Office Team about some local favorites that you cant find anywhere but in Brooklyn! There is so much our neighborhood has to offer.

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    197
    97
    39
    39
See reviews for
101
157
68
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I came in August to visit LIU Brooklyn and other colleges in NYC. There is lots of construction going around this hotel. It appears Brooklyn is booming. If you want to sleep in late, this is not the place for you. That being said you cam enjoy a good nights sleep, if you get up at 8am. The beds are really comfortable. Great shower. Try to get a higher floor. We were on 18. King leisure room. Skip the breakfast included. It's $15 off for the room in the Brewhouse restaurant connected to the hotel. Not exactly a free breakfast for two, as I was expecting. The subway is down the block, easy to get to Manhattan. Would stay again, great location, great service.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ssajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear ssajan,

Thank you for the review! It was a pleasure to be your host during such a special time for you and your daughter. Kindly accept my apologies if you were awoken by construction noise during your stay. We do anticipate some wonderful additions in the area for our guests to enjoy. Higher floors away from construction are available- just ask a team member, we are here to help!

Thank you for your feedback and good luck during your quest to find the perfect college!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice accommodations for the money (across the street from the pricier Sheraton). Good location with nearby shopping, restaurants and subway access. Valet parking is $10 more than dropping the car at the lot yourself (around the block). Second floor lounge is wasted space in NY. Perhaps offer a continental breakfast instead of an empty lounge. We heard plenty of street noise from our 6th floor room; but no noise from the hotel. All-in-all not too shabby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors (further away from the street) may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBE29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Famly0f4Vacati0ners,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us in Brooklyn. For now- breakfast will be offered in our Brewhouse restaurant, however we do plan to host different events and parties in the lounge space as we have done in the past . For now, we like to have an area for our guests to relax and watch some TV, maybe even get some work done on their laptops or enjoy a nice cocktail at the bar during happy hour.. :)

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Pretty decent hotel with very very small rooms. The size wasn't surprising for NYC but it would have been uncomfortable with another person. Good for a short trip. They have valet parking and the restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It's close to shopping and the subway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear BryanC,

Thank you or sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Next time your in town ask the Front Desk Team aboutsome hidden gems in town- there is so much more to see! Also keep in mind we have a variety of room sizes avaiable that would suit any size preference, just ask a team member and we can point you in the right direction.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

After two short stays in this hotel, I am not entirely swayed either way.
The location is fine if you have things to do in Brooklyn, or even if you are looking for something cheaper than Manhattan but with good connection (there are plenty of subway lines in the surroundings that will take you almost anywhere).
The price only tends to be slightly cheaper than similar hotels in Manhattan, and that's not always true (for the same price, with similar conditions, unless my business is imperatively in Brooklyn, I'd rather stay in Manhattan).

The hotel is either new or very recently renovated, with modern and rather good taste.

I have stayed in a Standard Queen room and in a Suite.
The Standard Queen room may have been the smallest room I have ever been to. There was barely enough space for the queen bed, which on one side was almost entirely pressed against the window (one had to be on top of the bed to draw the curtains), and on the other side was a micro-nightstand. The was a small desk propped against the wall of the hallway (the passage between the door of the room and the tiny square surface where the bed was).
The Hudson Hotel is one of my reference points regarding tiny room sizes (their standard rooms are pretty ridiculous), but I am considering using now the Indigo Brooklyn scale.

On the other hand, the Suite was gorgeous. Nice and adequately spacious, with a decent living-room area and bedroom area separated by an interesting arch-slash-wall (see pictures). The quality of the bedding was perfectly fine and I don't recall hearing a noise.
The bathroom, too, was well sized, modern, functional, and well stocked.

I must say that the staff was very friendly and helpful every time.

If I were to go back, it would definitely have to be a Suite. There's no way on Earth my ego and I can fit on a Standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielKalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Danielkalen,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your experiences at Hotel Indigo Brooklyn. We are oh so happy to know that you decided to return to us! Keep in mind that we have many room type available that would accommodate any size preference. Im sure you and your ego would fit well in one of our double rooms or executive king room as well :). Whatever you need rest assured we can get it for you! Thanks for staying with us- we look forward to your return. Third times a charm!


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

BEDBUG ALERT!!! Bedbugs were prevalent in third room we moved to after first reeked of urine and second did not have functioning air-conditioning on hottest night of Summer. AVOID AT ALL COST!AVOID AT ALL COSTAVOID AT ALL COST!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank worktravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear worktravel123,

Thank you for your review. Kindly accept my sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you experience at our hotel. Please contact me directly when your time permits so we can discuss your experience in more detail.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night for my birthday, their recognition of platinum priority status was appreciated as we've stayed in other IHG properties where this wasn't the case. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS SECOND TO NONE! From the time I made the reservation, to calling back to change, remembering my birthday, a complimentary drink voucher for the bar, even walking directions upon arrival and check-in... The staff was so helpful, courteous, and friendly. The room we had was a king room on the 4th floor, very chic and modern, exactly what you're looking for to stay in Brooklyn for the weekend. Decorations throughout the hotel definitely set it apart from your "typical" hotel. We will DEFINITELY stay here again and try other hotel indigo sites when we travel! A special thank you to Megan for her efforts and time to ensure our stay was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbeauvil78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear JBeauvil78,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our team and service. Collectively, the Hotel Indigo team is committed to providing Great Hotels that Guests Love and that beings with you! We treat guests as if they were own family because service is our number one priority- its the least we can do to thank you for your business.

Thank you again for your PLATINUM loyalty and membership. It was a pleasure to serve you.

Come visit again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#20 of 72 in Brooklyn
995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#10 of 72 in Brooklyn
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#15 of 72 in Brooklyn
176 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo

Property: Hotel Indigo
Address: 229 Duffield St, Brooklyn, NY 11201 (Formerly Hotel 718)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing