We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Box House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Box House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

I stayed at the Box House Hotel in Greenpoint for a week in October 2012. The boutique hotel is extremely comfortable and well decorated. The rooms are spacious and you have the amenities of your own apartment throughout your stay. The hotel employees were very helpful and always willing to assist with any needs. The gym was also a great luxury. The Greenpoint area has great bars and restaurants and the hotel is centrally located to get into Manhattan as well as a close walk to Williamsburg. We LOVED our stay, couldn't have asked for more and will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: The rooms all have very high ceilings and tremendous square footage - it's hard to choose. The d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    147
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
401
185
33
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed here on 13th to 17th Sept. The location of the hotel actually is not too bad because it is very close to a subway station, i.e. only 10 minutes walk across the bridge. There is a unique and stylish taxi taking hotel guests to almost anywhere within 1 km (hope I remember correctly). That was convenient e.g. buying some groceries in a nearby supermarket.

Staff was very helpful and friendly, too. The room was clean and bed was comfortable. So what were the problems?

1. the air conditioners in the bedroom and the living room were very noisy. It was so noisy that one could hardly go sleep when they were turned on.
2. there was some work carried out on the roof and that was right in front of the room where we were staying. We heard hammering in the morning and that lasted for hours. The hotel management did not inform us of the work. After checking with the reception, the building next door was going through some renovation and would eventually become part of the hotel. It was quite shocking to actually see someone carrying out heavy duty tools doing work right in front of your doors and windows with no warnings.
3. The toilet once flushed would not stop refiling. The water just kept on dripping until you did the magical touch on the knob to get it to stop. That was annoying especially at night.
4. False alarm went off on one morning. No one knew what happened. When we heard the alarm go off, the question was should we leave the building or should we not. A woman next door was also standing in the corridor scratching her head. Management should have taken reasonable actions to inform guests what was happening.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TW182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Box House is a wonderful place to stay. The room was beautiful and spacious, the staff always friendly and helpful. I noticed other reviews mention noise...we noticed this on one morning, as well. But this didn't really bother us. I have no complaints about the facility or the employees. They were all top notch. Greenpoint is a cool neighborhood with great places to eat, and it's a quick subway ride into Manhattan. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We found this hotel to be a great base for visiting the sights. It was welcoming at the end of day exploring the Big Apple. The rooms were large clean and very comfortable and the staff very helpful. We would definitely use this hotel again should we ever return to this city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Our stay at the Box House hotel was overall comfaortable; the room was clean and spacious, even with the sleepingsofa fold out. We liked the possibility of having breakfast in the room (a very good C-town supermarket 10 minutes away at Manhattan Av) and a dishwasher to do the dishes. Airco worked fine, we turned it off at night to avoid the (little) noise. The staff of the hotel was friendly and helpful, the checker cabs great for a short ride in the neighbourhood. The walk to the subway was not that bad, ten fresh minutes to start the day. Only a short ride to Grand Central or two stops to Fith Av where you enter directly the lovely Bryant park. Williamsburg is great to spend an afternoon, Brooklyn was a nice surprise to us, though I still love Manhattan most.
A lesser detail is the building work going on at the Box House site for 15 new rooms. The activities started around 7.15 AM right next to our bed. Monday morning I went to the reception and the manager assured me that the activities were supposed not start earlier than 10 AM. She even phoned the builders while I was standing at the desk. But the next three mornings there were noise and voices again in the early hours: to early for us. We wanted to sleep a little longer after long days in the city. On thursday they apologized again. I understand that building work has to go on and causes noise. But how come that the principals conditions are not followed by the builders? It puzzles me that the Box House employees assured me the work would not start before 10 AM, but still did.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtrechtMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blounts Creek, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This was a great place to come home to at the end of a long day in the city. It is a bit off the beaten path, but beautiful, comfy and roomy. Although we did not use the kitchen, I would definitely plan on it the next time. The room was beautiful, spacious and well appointed. The checker cab service provided is a real nice addition to make it a lot more fun to be off the beaten path! This will definitely be my "go to" place for my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juledoukev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Our three-night stay at the Box House Hotel was, for the most part, delightful---room was exactly as advertised, quaint and comfortable! Staff, including the cab drivers/hosts, were always quite helpful and accommodating!
Our second floor room, however, had a view only of the walk-over trail for the Pulaski Bridge and was inundated with the tremendous amount of traffic noise from vehicles at all times of the day and night---not pleasant at all!! Such a waste for that nice terrace to be there but less than welcoming with the bridge and the noise!
We did very much appreciate the convenience of the subway and the East River Ferry but I would not stay here again; we had to spend far too much time and money travelling back and forth to this out-of-the-way facility.

Room Tip: Be sure to get one "away from the bridge"!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seemore66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.4 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 71 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 71 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#6 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#5 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
3.9 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#8 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Box House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Box House Hotel

Property: The Box House Hotel
Address: 77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222-1151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brooklyn
#1 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#3 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Box House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the industrial chic area of North Greenpoint in Brooklyn, The Box House Hotel features contemporary lofts and suites with large windows. The Box House offers comfortable self-catering accommodations with extensive hotel facilities. Each apartment-style accommodation at The Box House Hotel is styled with bright colors, hardwood floors, antiques and contemporary art. Select rooms have a terrace and views of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The Box House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Box House Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing