We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Box House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Box House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Box House Hotel met or exceeded every expectation I had. The staff was wonderful, the room was clean, comfortable and had a super cool "vibe". The best part was the view, though. We loved sitting at our table, snacking on cheese and crackers and good wine choices with the spectacular Manhattan skyline RIGHT THERE. It was beautiful! The walk over the Pulaski bridge is easy and has incredible views--I've had quite a few people ask where we took the incredible pictured and the scenic view stop on the bridge is where! Subway stop ten minutes that way. Only time it was a problem was when it was pouring down rain and VERY cold for the end of May our first two days. Can't imagine that walk in January! The walk to the subway down Manhattan is about six blocks and also only about ten minutes. We did this walk in the morning and at 11pm. Never felt anything but safe. Little bodegas and a larger grocery store all within easy walking distance. Loved the 70s style cab provided by the hotel that takes you anywhere within about a mile radius for just a tip. We stayed in one of third floor lofts with a balcony. Brooklyn, you stole my heart! This is where my next NY stay will be as well!

Room Tip: 3rd floor loft with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britlitteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    147
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
401
185
33
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

New York is a great city, Brooklyn a great location and Box house a good affordable accomodation. Its clean, its great and its all a guest wants. Free internet, good service, gymn, free ride within a mile with hotel cars and above all nice and helpful staff. They arrange airport transfer at a fee. Green Point subway is nearby and a local shoping center has everything. This hotel has potential and i would certainly go back. I was there in mid july with my family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had one of the two-bedroom suites, and it was the perfect home base for a family traveling with six people. Plenty of space for kids to play in the living room area, a nice-sized dining room table and kitchenette, and close enough to enough restaurants, museums and parks to keep us entertained for days. Really, being at Box House made the stay in Brooklyn much more relaxing than I expected, because one thing that can be rough when traveling with young kids is balancing a child's hunger and nap-time with three meals a day in restaurants. At Box House, we could have relaxed meals in our room (including take-out from local restaurants), and save the sit-down restaurant meals for when it was convenient for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwadem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Had booked an apartment through AirBNB in Midtown and boy it was like a box, windows didn't lock and felt not quite right. Quickly went on line to find something near by and up popped The Box House Hotel. Very pleased funky, spacious, good service and great value for money. Neighbourhood a bit rough but some cool 50s cabs run by the hotel takes to the subway and picks you up and can take you to sort food etc. as well.

Room Tip: Two types of rooms very spacious either single or two levels take your pick. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaN1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is situated in a fascinating location, an area of warehouses and wholesalers that is changing fast (not least through this hotel).

When we arrived we were told about a 'sick' restaurant in the neighbourhood, which confused us. We didn't go to this restaurant.

We enjoyed a good stay especially the easy and spectacular walk to the metro in Queens. There’s on demand tv, the wifi worked well, free drives to williamsburg were a nice touch.

Some of the reception staff are very friendly and helpful, others are a bit cool and aloof.

Its standards could be much higher. Rather style over substance:
- lots of knives, no chopping board
- 'complimentary coffee and tea' only on first day of stay
- tables that wobble
- bed in rather crampt space
- odd smell from cleaning in the building and room (like paint drying).
- clock radio that didn't work despite our repeated requests to change it.
- and we had a mouse that popped out occasionally to say hello!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoxHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Box House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing your feedback on your stay so that we can always strive to meet and go beyond each of our guests expectations. I am glad that you found some of the staff helpful, but I am disappointed some of our staff were not as helpful as they should have been. We will be meeting with the staff and reinforcing to each member that our goal is to maintain the utmost professionalism at all times and take every step that is necessary to meet our guests needs. All of the issues you had should have been easy "quick fixes" and been addressed immediately. I apologize that this was not the case, and urge all of our guests to ask for a manager if any of their needs are not being met. I can assure you these problems would have be rectified to your satisfaction. Also, so you and future guests know, we always have ample "complimentary coffee and tea" available. I am sorry you didn't know to ask for more if you had run out. As for your uninvited guest, we are happy to report that he has exited the hotel and has been sent off to mouse heaven.
Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you again in the future and I assure you will find that we have learned from your constructive criticism to enhance all of our guests experiences while staying with us at The Box House Hotel.

Best regards,

Dana Schneider
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at the Box House Hotel for 3 nights in May 2013 and couldn't have been more pleased. For NYC it was spacious! There was a spotless kitchen, living room area with pullout couch, and open bedroom area with a queen sized bed. Plenty of space for 3 adults. Although there was no dining room at the hotel there are plenty of excellent restaurants nearby. We ate breakfast one morning at a fabulous Cuban place. On street parking is available but watch out for ticketing when they clean the streets (ask at the front desk). Green point is a nice, quiet neighborhood. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed in the basic loft room for two nights. Our friend lives in East Williamsburg, and this appeared to be the nicest hotel near him, so we booked it. Price wise, it was what was expected for being close to NY, but being in Brooklyn, you do get a lot more room for your money.

The check-in process was a bit annoying, but we weren't sure if the guests in front of us were the problem, or if the hotel messed something up. In any case, we waited for 15-20 minutes to be checked in. We were really pleased with the room, as it smelled clean (Airwick plug-in by the door), and the wood floors were a nice touch. The kitchen had a small fridge, toaster, coffee maker, hot water maker and an electric range. There were mugs, glasses, plates, knives, a bottle opener, can opener and one pan. We didn't cook there, but it was nice to have the option, if we had wanted to. There were 2 large flat screen TVs, one in the living room, and one in the bedroom area, which was a nice touch, as I like to watch TV in bed last thing at night (yes, not good for promoting sleep though). The bathroom was nice, but with the pedestal sink, they need to have some shelves or something put into the bathroom for a place to put your toiletries.

There is not phone in the room, which is inconvenient when you want to ask if the hotel taxi is around, or ask for the wifi password. We never ended up using the taxi because the one time we needed a ride to the subway station, the taxi was out. It is a nice service they provide, but one that is necessary since it is not in the most central location. The walk to the station is not bad (10 min or so), but in the 80 degree heat and 80% humidity, it was a little much for me.

The blinds for the skylight never closed properly. The first morning, we were awoken at 5:30 or so, as we failed to realize the blinds needed to be closed. My husband found the remote and attempted to close the blinds but it only closed part way. You have to realize that we are from the West coast. Being woken up at 5:30 is 2:30 in the AM for us. Even though we both keep early hours for work, we were hoping to get more sleep on our vacation. We alerted the desk to see if they could fix it that night, and they told us the room next to us also had some problems with their blinds. They told us they would get the handyman to look at it, but no one came. So we were woken up early again, the next morning. Then there was a lot of banging in the morning; not sure if this was the construction noise that other guests wrote about. They also need to put in instructions for operating the blinds. We did not see anything on how to operate this, and also no recommendation to guests that they may want to close the blinds before sleeping -- the fact that there is no phone in the room, really made this issue inconvenient.

All in all, the room was nice and spacious, but some of the downsides lead me to downgrade this to a 3 star. Improve some of these issues and it would be a solid 4 star. We would look to stay here again, but would check out other options as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Konnichiwawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.4 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 70 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 70 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#5 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#6 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
3.9 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#8 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Box House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Box House Hotel

Property: The Box House Hotel
Address: 77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222-1151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brooklyn
#1 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#3 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Box House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the industrial chic area of North Greenpoint in Brooklyn, The Box House Hotel features contemporary lofts and suites with large windows. The Box House offers comfortable self-catering accommodations with extensive hotel facilities. Each apartment-style accommodation at The Box House Hotel is styled with bright colors, hardwood floors, antiques and contemporary art. Select rooms have a terrace and views of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your The Box House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Box House Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing