We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in NYC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Box House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in NYC!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We had such an amazing time in NYC it was great, made better by our apartment which was faultless! The Box House is an old factory thats been split up into really nice, modern apartments which feels like a home away from home. They have a oven dishwasher etc and 2 massive TVs which both have cable with all the good channels including all the movie ones!

Greenpoint is a really good area to with much better bars then Manhattan and a much younger inderpendant feel like nearby Williamsburg.
The staff are really friendly and they also offer a free taxi service anywhere within about a mile which was a nice touch. I would defiantly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willmudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    158
    32
    7
    6
See reviews for
431
206
36
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orvieto, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I chose this place in Brooklyn as we are a grown up family of four. Prices on manhattan are just out of control for small hotel rooms and then the thought of renting two rooms would have broken the bank. Our spacious room at the Box Hotel was on a corner of the building (rm 202)looking out at the manhattan skyline. It was plenty large for our family of four and included a big flat screen tv, lots of windows, a small kitchenette with refrigerator and a really large, private outdoor patio. The style and design here is really great and the hotel shuttles-restored old taxis- will drive you for free anywhere within a mile of the hotel. I will stay here again...in fact my wife insists that next time we visit NYC without our adult children that we stay here. The subway is within walking distance across bridge and just two stops from Times Square. There is not daily maid service which was a bit unusual but I did not notice until it was pointed out to me by one of the kids. We did have a car which we parked on the street with no problem. There is no formal or valet parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bridge side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank duetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed in the duplex loft suite with city view in June 2013 and I struggle to find anything negative to say about this hotel, the room was wonderful with everything you need and the air conditioning was an absolute life-saver, can't imagine NYC in the summer with no air con! The view was fab, the beds comfortable (even the sofa bed which we used for half of the stay (due to swapping with friends for the bed to be 'fair) was very comfy and I had no problems sleeping, even with the busy traffic bridge by the hotel (and I am usually a very light sleeper). The free cab service was brilliant and they took us to nearby Williamsburgh free of charge which was great. Hotel itself is about 10/15 mins easy walk to nearest subway and it is just one stop to Grand Central Terminal, so an ideal base if you want to stay outside of the city (which I really recommend as you get so much more room for your buck!) but still within easy access to all the sights etc.

All in all a brilliant hotel and I would definitely stay there again if I ever returned to NYC! Thanks Box House :)

Room Tip: Would really recommend a city view room - nothing quite like gazing out over Manhattan at night time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have just returned from a one week stay at this lovely hotel. The purpose of our visit from London was to help to plan and then attend the funeral of a close family member in Brooklyn. Without exception the staff were all friendly, supportIive and patient. The suites do not have a telephone, (in normal circumstances this would have not been significant), so we were regularly making and receiving calls on the main telephone at reception. This must have been really inconvenient for the staff but they remained professional and friendly at all times.

It was a busy time for the hotel but the longest we ever had to wait for the curtesy taxi was 10 minutes. The taxis are truly special.

The accomodation is very clean and modern. We loved the high ceilings and the trendy dressing of the rooms. Although the hotel stresses that there is no daily housekeping, the bins are emptied, the bathroom cleaned and the bed made daily.

By the way Wi fi is free at the hotel.

Prior to visiting I noticed that many of the reviews mentioned the surrounding streets. They are quiet but not in an intimidating way. I felt safe at all times. Bars and cafes are within walking distance as is the bus stop. The Green Point Subway station is also within walking distance although the curtesy car will drop you off or pick you up from there. There are quite a few restaurants close to the Vernon Avenue subway station as well.

Finally, the staff - for us they really made the stay special. They were all warm and welcoming and nothing seemed to be too much. Truly sensational people. I have to give a special mention to Janeeka who just shone.

Thank you everyone at The Box House. We will definitely be back. Lets just hope that with such an amazing place the high demand does not cause the prices to rise too much as at the moment it is fantastic value for money.

B. Thomas

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B-TH0MA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

What a wonderful find! Sets the bar for cool & trendy.
I truly enjoyed my stay and appreciated the professional and friendly staff. Can't say enough about interior decor, just beautiful... boho chic!
The very spacious apartment style room with high ceilings had all the comforts of home, especially with a fully equipped kitchen. Attention to detail is unparalleled and the sparkling clean rooms did not go unnoticed.
Look forward to returning!!!!

Room Tip: ask for room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dciers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I loved the hotel - from the old Box-taxis to the decor - all was perfect! The area is in the process of upgrading, so there are a couple of small, but hip restaurants (Milk & Roses) and the best coffee shop (Eagle Coffee Company) in the vicinity. We stayed in a loft with my 20 year old son on a second holiday to New York. The ferry service and the metro service to Manhattan was easy. And being driven in the old Box-taxis was a treat! I will go back any time!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Very comfortable rooms and very good design!
Very clean rooms and generally clean.
The distance to public transportation is no problem also with childreen- the taxi service with nice oldtimers is also available.

It is a good choice!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Engelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.4 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 71 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 71 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#10 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#6 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
3.9 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#11 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Box House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Box House Hotel

Property: The Box House Hotel
Address: 77 Box Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222-1151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brooklyn
#3 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Box House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the industrial chic area of North Greenpoint in Brooklyn, The Box House Hotel features contemporary lofts and suites with large windows. The Box House offers comfortable self-catering accommodations with extensive hotel facilities. Each apartment-style accommodation at The Box House Hotel is styled with bright colors, hardwood floors, antiques and contemporary art. Select rooms have a terrace and views of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Box House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Box House Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing