We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good modern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sumner Hotel
Ranked #37 of 55 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty good modern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We booked this as an affordable hotel for a trip to New York. Its really handily placed for the Flushing Avenue metro station which is just around the corner and can get you into Manhattan in 15 minutes. The area is perhaps not the greatest, but then we didn't have any problems and there are some useful shops nearby.

The hotel itself is new and modern, and nicely decorated. Rooms are a good size with all the amenities you should need including a tv and air conditioning.

The only real negative I had with the hotel is the breakfast room, its far too small for all the guests staying at the hotel, and the choice of foods is quite disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    70
    48
    14
    26
See reviews for
38
52
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Spent 10 nights at the Sumner as it was much cheaper than hotels in Manhattan, only 4 stops on L-train. The room was a good size, however they could be a little cleaner. The breakfast room is very small and sometimes we had trouble finding a seat. They don't begin serving breakfast until 7:30 which is a little late, especially if you want to get into Manhattan early. The neighbourhood was not the nicest and would not recommend going out much after dark.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdonald72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

large comfortable and clean room. excellent bathroom.
breakfast area too small, cues likely. Plastic disposable plates and cutlery. breakfast selection doesn't inspire but I developed a liking for the fresh wafflels.
Neighbourhood outside appears a bit rough. It didn't want me to go out and explore.

Room Tip: top floor room has a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

Firstly it is a cheap hotel in NYC so don't expect to much. It's located really close to a wheel chair accessible subway station (great if u have luggage) and has lots of useful cheaper stores and family restaurants near by. It is not in the nicest neighbourhood but for the price u would not expect that. Breakfast is very basic and the eating area is extremely cramped - easiest to just take back up to your room or go to ihop across the road. Clean, rooms serviced daily, common areas of a nice standard. They do rent rooms out for less than a full night however which means there are some pretty dodgy characters waiting around in the lobby. One day I needed to talk to the front desk and lined up behind a surprisingly eloquent crack head who rented a room for about 4 hours for $95, it was pretty gross though as he had all these big sores full of liquid on his face that he was absentmindedly picking and playing with. It was disgusting as I was worried he would pop one and the pus would get on me. Also I did get really annoyed one day when we had to move rooms because the toilet broke (we were there for 7 days) and they put us in a smoking room that stunk, it was on the second floor, there were ash trays in it too etc and no non smoking signs and we asked if we could be moved to a non smoking room and the manager (an Indian lady called minaliah or something similar to that) FLAT OUT lied and said it WAS a non smoking room. We insisted it stunk of smoke and she moved us to a room on a higher floor that did not have ash trays in it and had non smoking rooms signs Hard to recommend something when they straight out lie to your face.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarlickBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The hotel is a new, quite pleasant three star but if you plan to party in manhattan and come back after 9:00 p.m. absolutely do not stay there. Neighborhood is dangerous. I am a former new yorker coming back to visit. The hotel was a good value for me but I only planned to go into msnattan in the daytime.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Sumner hotel (July 2012). The hotel had been freshly remodeled which made our stay quite pleasant. Very clean bathroom. Close to the subway station (5 minutes walk),
and if you have a car, the hotel offers free parking for 6-7 cars right in front of it. Breakfast was good but could have yogurt and fruits! It has bagel, Pancake (made by a very sympathetic lady), and toasted bread. We were there with my daughter and wife and didn't feel that the neighborhood was aggressive, though it was "interesting". There is a great pizzeria between the hotel and the subway station.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnenvacances10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Is it the worst place in NY? No! But definitely not even close to a nice and pleasurable place to stay when you want to enjoy NY. The hotel is one block away from the train station (M and J lines), however, neighborhood is terrible! As much as some cab drivers refused to drop me off there! In Brooklin there are no yellow cabs, which means "no taximeter". The drivers ask the price they want for the ride (usd18 to drive me to Atlantic Terminal - 3.1miles!!!). The M train is not that bad, it brings you directly to midtown (16 stops!!!), but it doesn't work after 10PM, then, the option is J train and change to subway at Chamber St, which is an incredibly empty and dark place at night. The hotel itself is not that bad. Confortable, clean. And thats all. Honestly? Not worth it! Manhattan is a wonderfull place to explore day and night, but you cannot do it when you are affraid to go back to the hotel after 9-10PM! Once you decide to go to NYC, spoil yourself and allow yourself to pay more for a place in manhattan and really enjoy your time here! One hour and forty five minutes daily waisted to commute...you could do a lot with this time!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina_Novelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
BKLYN House
BKLYN House
#26 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bogart Hotel
Bogart Hotel
#40 of 72 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Pointe Plaza Hotel
#22 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#5 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
1.6 mi away
McCarren Hotel & Pool
McCarren Hotel & Pool
#12 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumner Hotel

Property: Sumner Hotel
Address: 22 Sumner Place, Brooklyn, NY NY 11206
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sumner Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing