We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great foothold to explore NY”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Midwood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Midwood Suites
Ranked #56 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
AMSTERDAM
2 reviews
“Great foothold to explore NY”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Midwood suites, and will be happy to stay there again. Roomy and practical, close to Subway and shops. Check in procedure simple and clear, no hassle at all. Breakfast coupon was provided and we can recommend the bagels we were served. Visiting from Amsterdam the Netherlands is was very nice to stay in a residential neighborhood rather then in a Manhattan hotel. We purposely did select Brooklyn for this (and for price, we are Dutch ;-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk_Janssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    15
    15
    14
See reviews for
26
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Cozy and homey, and an excellent value, we keep coming back to Midwood suites whenever we visit family in NY. It's on a safe residential street, but just on block from the subway at ave J where there are loads of shops and restaurants. A great place to spend Shabbat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chavief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby B.C.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Let's just say that this was not at all what I expected. The pros are few and can be itemized quickly: roomy, new microwave; good wireless connection; working fridge. The cons are numerous, however, and take longer: beat-up; no cooking facilities (elements are disconnected), disposable plates, glasses, etc.; very noisy air conditioner in bedroom; location is an hour by subway from Manhattan; neighborhood is shabby with few amenities (i.e. nice restaurants, bars, supermarkets, etc.); bed is short (I'm not a tall man (5' 10"), and my feet hung over the end.).

The basics were clean: toilet, basin, linens, but don't look too closely because there's lots of grunge in the corners. I dropped my toothpaste between the vanity and the tub enclosure and had to wash the crud off of it. Speaking of shower doors, anyone over 5' needs to mind their head. (I scraped mine so badly it drew blood.) My experience at Midwood Suites involved choosing between two ways NOT to sleep. Turning the air conditioner on and trying to ignore it (impossible for me, even with earplugs rated to 33 decibels) or leaving it off and suffering in the extreme heat. Combine that with the distance from attractions in the City, and there's no mystery about why I won't be back. Oh, did I mention that the houses here are very close together and that the neighbors have a backyard pool full of screaming kids (the noise lasts until about 10 pm)? Unfortunately, I brought work with me and concentrating was far from easy.

I'm not really sure who this accommodation might suit. People who have family in the area with no room to put them up? When I was looking, I found hotels in uptown NYC for about $125 a night or $16 more than I paid at Midwood. (The suite I stayed in supposedly cost $139, but they upgraded me for the same rate ($109).) My advice—pay the difference!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DocHoliday62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

In a city like NY where accommodation is very expensive Midwood Suites provides excellent value for money. The 'inn-type' residence is very comfortable has is well located to restaurants and shopping. I was pleasantly surprised having stayed at some of the more well-know establishments in the area that such a cozy nook could be so comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kermit1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The place is really an apartment. We had the "family suite" which is a 2 bedroom apartment with full kitchen and dining room area. There is free wifi and parking available in front for $10/night. The place is just a short walk away to the subway which is convenient to visit NYC. There's also plenty of shops and restaurant around. Don't expect standardize hotel rooms here but if you want to feel like a local, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssavard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2011

enjoyable stay in a nice area of brooklyn, new york....comfortable room, quiet area and a 1/2 block walk to the subway station, erick the owner was very friendly and helpful. real comfortable beds. BIG king size. clean kitchen but only used to make tea. bathroom and toilet was very clean but old but had lots of character. definitlly recommend a stay for anyone. great price for NYC. would definitly stay there again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgrossner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We had a very fun time at Midwood. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's very economical too. We had tons of baggage and had to take subway which was nearby. The owner saw that and offered us to give us a lift till the subway. It was pretty cool.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prague-ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Coney Island
Sleep Inn Coney Island
#48 of 72 in Brooklyn
18 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Prospect Park South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
#29 of 72 in Brooklyn
345 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Brooklyn Sunset Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midwood Suites

Property: Midwood Suites
Address: 1078 E 15th St, Brooklyn, NY 11230-4402
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Midwood Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midwood Suites is an excellent choice for business and leisure travelers looking for great quality, clean and affordable lodging accommodations. Known for offering outstanding guest service, Midwood Suites meets the needs of many markets including Families, Seniors, Groups & Tours and is the lodging choice for those who are looking for superior value and consistent quality in the economy lodging segment. Well appointed guest-rooms feature one-and two-bedroom accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midwood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midwood Suites Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing