We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe area and nice price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Midwood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Midwood Suites
Ranked #56 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Safe area and nice price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

really nice hotel in Brooklyn. Was close to my needs, train station. Clean room, very safe jewish area. Overall, I had a really nice experience. Private rooms with bathrooms, nice service. I asked for extra towels and had no problem getting it

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ryzhik965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    15
    15
    14
See reviews for
26
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

There seem to be two buildings, and they might be differences that explain the variation of ratings. We stayed at the one with the street number 1306, and it was really nice. Yes, the room was small, but very recently redone and ion great shape. The noise from the street was higher tan my wife was fine with as it seemed the front wall was thin, but the noises from the neighborhood were nothing unusual....it is a nice street that felt safe. Pretty close to the Q train, and it was a great bargain in terms of not only price, but value.Nothing to write home about in terms of plush or fancy...but everything you needed seemed to be there fro Microwave to fridge to cable TV and Wifi....all included.

Room Tip: We had room 204We had room 204 in case there are differences....rooms in the front of the building w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quentin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Location was good, price reasonable. It is an older building, so can be noisy, especially if the folks above you decide to walk a marathon in their unit from 6-7am while apparently packing. Our two-bedroom suite itself was nice, clean and appropriately appointed, except for a wobbly half-broken floor lamp in one bedroom. All windows operated properly, although the frames are old, some split and bare of paint, but this is to be expected of older building. What is not expected is to look out the window to see a pile of old mattresses, bed-frames and other garbage dumped - clearly by the owner - in what could be a lovely side courtyard. Shame on them for this unhealthy, disrespectful situation.

Room Tip: Maybe stay on the top floor so you won't hear "the stompers" like the ones above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caserta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

we arrived in New York on New Year's Eve, so I chose this kind of accomodation in Brooklyn for a couple of days because prices in Manhattan were crazy.
First of all we have to say that it is less than 5 minutes away from the underground which is a plus: you can get to the airport or Manhattan very easily even if the journey to the City Centre is more than half an hour.
The room is ok, but basic so do not expect any frills. There is no reception but you have to go upstairs and call someone from the staff who will give you indications on how to get into your room on the phone. So don't panic if you don't see anybody around because everything is well organised. Don't expect any majestic neon light sign outside the hotel either, because it only has a small entrance which looks like an ordinary front door of an ordinary house.
I could leave my luggage there for a couple of days after checking out without any problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank idontlovenicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was a valuable option in Brooklyn. A good neighborhood, felt very safe even though it looked very poor. A lot of Jewish people and all of them were very friendly. Close to subway and a lot of different restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We decided to stay in Brooklyn instead of Manhattan to try something new. We go to NYC at least once a year to see a play, see some art, be in the City. This time we tried Brooklyn to save money on the hotel. We were in the 4 room Midwood Suites, on the top floor. Other than the top floor being a bit hard to unlock and get into with no landing, just a top step, we were delighted with the space and location of our suite, number 301. For being what it was, a converted house really, the suite was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. At a 3 night price which would equal a one night in Manhattan, we got real value for our money. And from this location, the Q subway is a half block away. We got senior fare on the subway and went all over town for a total of less than 40 dollars the 4 days we spent there. There were some sights in Brooklyn we had never done before, i.e. Greenwood Cemetery (wonderful), Coney Island (OK) and we also used the opportunity to walk across the Brooklyn Bridge. Very nice.

Room Tip: I can only speak to my room, 301 in the 4 room unit. It was fine, but you must be agile enough to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

These seem to be two buildings, one with about 8 rooms and the other with less, both in semi residential areas. They are located a 10 minute walk from each other. I went to the wrong one, read the fine print if you book as to which one you are at. Both were close to subway Q line. We stayed at the one on H street. Rooms are walk up 2nd floor or 3rd. The price was about 100 per night. Bed was horrible, actually an IKEA bed, with springs poking at us. We ended up putting blankets under the sheets to try to help. The bathtub had a couple of square feet of paint peeling off of it, revealing the blue underneath. To use the A/C you had to leave roll up shade open, which meant if you stood in room, people could see you.
There was good also. Had refrigerator, micro,and coffee maker. A/C worked well. Plenty hot water. 3 minute walk to subway. Decent flat screen tv. But only 2 stars due to bad matress and crappy bathtub. By the way, we camp and sleep on boats. Not prima donnas about mattresses (although I think there may have been a pea under the matress also:-))

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Coney Island
Sleep Inn Coney Island
#48 of 72 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklyn Bay Hotel
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Prospect Park South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
#29 of 72 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
4.0 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#45 of 72 in Brooklyn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
5.5 mi away
BKLYN House
BKLYN House
#26 of 72 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midwood Suites

Property: Midwood Suites
Address: 1078 E 15th St, Brooklyn, NY 11230-4402
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Midwood Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midwood Suites is an excellent choice for business and leisure travelers looking for great quality, clean and affordable lodging accommodations. Known for offering outstanding guest service, Midwood Suites meets the needs of many markets including Families, Seniors, Groups & Tours and is the lodging choice for those who are looking for superior value and consistent quality in the economy lodging segment. Well appointed guest-rooms feature one-and two-bedroom accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midwood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midwood Suites Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing