We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Check to make sure it's all open” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooklyn Historical Society

Brooklyn Historical Society
Book In Advance
US$109.00*
and up
The Sightseeing Pass NYC
Ranked #52 of 218 things to do in Brooklyn
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Combination museum, library and educational center which explores works of art and historical documents that represent Brooklyn's diverse cultures and society, past and present.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
273 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Check to make sure it's all open”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

When we visited in September 2012, much of the museum was closed for renovation, which was very disappointing. The parts that were open were fascinating - a look back at a place that loomed large in the national consciousness. The video of clips of TV shows that were set in Brooklyn (Honeymooners, etc.) and references to Brooklyn brought back many memories. I was surprised that the staff didn't offer a discount, considering how much was closed, but I would go back sometime when it's all open.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mduncanbhs, Programs & Communications Associate at Brooklyn Historical Society, responded to this review, 2 July 2015
Dear Richard,

We’re sorry about the inconvenience that our renovations posed, but we hope you’ve been back since! The space has really transformed, and now we have even more exhibit space, as well as a beautiful communal space for public programs. We hope you’ve come to check it out, or that you’re planning to come by soon! Thanks for being willing to give us a second chance, and for your valuable feedback.

Regards,
BHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great collection of the cities past... because it maintains people, not just the past...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

As a librarian with a history degree, I found this collection of collection incredible. It seems expensive o maintain, particularly the way hey run it, but it is worth it. It houses almost 450 years of our great citiy's history, as illustrated by the stories of NEW YORKERS.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Archiveguy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mduncanbhs, Programs & Communications Associate at Brooklyn Historical Society, responded to this review, 2 July 2015
Dear Archiveguy,

Wow, thanks so much for lending us some of your history cred! We hope you’ve been back since your review, as our space has expanded and we now feature even more exhibits and programs that really dive into Brooklyn’s fascinating past. Thanks again for the review!

Regards,
BHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
755 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Save your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is a poor excuse of a museum, whose claim to fame is their historic building For $6 they have 3 little rooms and expect you to view old photos on a computer in the library but you must surrender your purse and any jacket to do so. After 5 min we asked for a refund. We enjoyed the free Brooklyn Naval Yard Museum much more and learned more history.

Helpful?
2 Thank drichrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great treasure in Brooklyn Heights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Beautiful Historic building in Brooklyn Heights with ground floor exhibit space is currently featuring an exhibit on Ebbitts Field and the Brooklyn Dodgers. It includes stadium seats, tickets, baseball cards and photos. Library and research area upstairs for the historians in the group. The surrounding area of Brooklyn is a treasure in itself,a stroll around the block is a fascinating mix of historic architectural styles in homes, shops and restaurants.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Vintagebydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mduncanbhs, Programs & Communications Associate at Brooklyn Historical Society, responded to this review, 2 July 2015
Dear Vintage,

Thanks so much for the fabulous review! We hope you’ve come by again since—we’ve really transformed in the past few years, and we would love to see you again. Thanks for being a part of the BHS community!

Regards,
BHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

This museum, housed in a beautiful old mansion in a residential area just off the busy streets of commercial Brooklyn, is a lovely respite from the bustle of the city. Quiet, attractive, and filled with interesting memorabilia from Brooklyn's earliest days, the museum also contains a large library of reference materials. We enjoyed the special exhibit on the Brooklyn Dodgers, complete with seats from the original Ebbets Field. We also enjoyed a room about the history of Brooklyn that included audio information from Brooklynites to complement the visual exhibits.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mduncanbhs, Programs & Communications Associate at Brooklyn Historical Society, responded to this review, 2 July 2015
Dear Stephanie,

Thanks so much for your wonderful and thorough review! We hope you’ve been back since 2011 to see what else we have to offer. If not, hey, come back! Thanks again for the feedback, and for your patronage.

Regards,
BHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brooklyn Historical Society also viewed

 

Been to Brooklyn Historical Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing