We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese Pub in Brooklyn”
Review of Izakaya On Smith

Izakaya On Smith
Ranked #1,674 of 5,381 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: F and G to Bergen St station
Description: The best of Japanese cuisine comes to Brooklyn. As featured on Wall Street Journal : In Cobble Hill, Finally Diving Beyond Sushi. Featuring an extensive menu from Japanese Tapas such as Takoyaki ( Octopus balls ), Rock Shrimp Tempura, Okonomiyaki, Ika Yaki to Yakitori / Kushiyaki, Ramen, Sushi, Sake, and Full Bar.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Pub in Brooklyn”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This place is the best of it's kind. Quality Japanese pub fare, big portions and reasonable prices. All sorts of menu options you're not going to find elsewhere and the service is great. The seafood pancake reigns supreme here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Everything is just great”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We've ordered almost weekly from this place for the past few months. It's alll goooooood. The steamed pork buns are flavorful, the gyozas are the best we've ever had, soups are good, sushi is good and all those "goods" add up to great. I can't wait to try something new from there the next time I order. Oh yeah - pretty damn good chicken wings too!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeaLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding Japanese food - best one in over a year!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had an excellent meal - both rolls and dishes. The California roll with real crab was good and the cashew and avocado roll was a real discovery.
For dishes we had the rock shrimp tempura and soft shell crabs-both very tasty.

The ambience was pleasant and it was a joy to find a restaurant where one coul have a normal quiet conversation - rare on Smith Street.

We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Love this Japanese place!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Love this place!
I have been coming back to this cozy place several times since they opened last summer.
There are bunch of Japanese places in the neighborhood, but this is one of the kinds which has most qualities to be called authentic.
Recommended for anyone who likes Japanese food.
This place is my neighborhood favorite place.
I've tried almost everything on their menu.
For appetizer, I would recommend Rock shrimp tempura, shrimp shumai, yellowtail jalapeno appetizer, and takoyaki.
Yakitori: chicken with spicy cod roe on top, chicken skin, and scallop wrapped with bacon.
What surprised me is They have excellent special rolls. Try their angry ocean, if you like spicy roll.
Service is attentive and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“authentic, Japanese home-style and "pub" fare”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Very good home-style Japanese cooking: authentic nabe (hot one-dish soups and rice meals), pickles, sides, and mains. Recommend the nabeyaki udon, a noodle soup with vegetables, komoboko, shrimp tempura, and savory broth (best in Brooklyn); the cold vegetable sides; fish sides; and rice soups.

It's hard to find authentic, non-sushi Japanese food (even in NY), and this restaurant does it very well, at reasonable prices. Also serves izakaya (pub-style) finger foods and small plates that are traditionally eaten at Japanese bars.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Izakaya On Smith also viewed

 

Been to Izakaya On Smith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing