We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blah.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Ribbon Sushi Brooklyn
Ranked #2,371 of 5,349 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Blah.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

All i can say is that the whole experience is mediocre. In a world of diverse choice and infinite possibilities, nothing is memorable. I think the wait staff try hard, and the food is decent, we really didn't feel a particular vibe to make it memorable. Also, it's advertised as "steak, chops and sushi" but not much variety on the first too. We'll pass.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cdngirl_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great sushi in trendy area”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My daughter was apartment hunting so we chose a restaurant in the trendy area in which she will soon live. We were very happy with the sushi, drinks and fun restaurant environment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great eclectic menu!”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

While my group did not have sushi, we tried quite a bit from the menu, all being very very good. There is something for everyone at this neat little spot on 5th Ave. I would definitely recommend dinning here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stef&Britt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAO PAULO
Level Contributor
263 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“fancy sushi restaurant in quaint 5th ave, brooklyn”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Delicious rolls, gorgeous sushi - sashimi cut in large slices (like cubes) in the best traditional way. Nevertheless, the dishes offered are creative in the sense that they mix spicy flavours in a combination of herbs and seasonings. If you love Japanese food, don't miss Blue Ribbon! The waiter suggested a starter - a special dish made of salmon that felt like mousse in the mouth! Never had anything like that before. We had white wine - Chardonnay from California (perfect match). As if that was not enough, reception and waiters were extremely friendly. Wonderful service, lovely atmosphere, lively music, candle light. Perfect!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARIA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Must've had an off night...more like a Runner-up Ribbon.”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Been to their Manhattan location a few times and found it very good. This was my first time at their Park Slope location. I went with my wife on our wedding anniversary. It was fairly quiet but we got seated by the waiter station and the stairs to the kitchen. Bummer.

We ordered an appetizer which was very good and some wine (which the waiter forgot to bring until we asked again). We both shared an Omakase which came to about $120 and we were still hungry. Fish was okay, nothing special. Later in the week I had an omakase at a smaller place up the street for a 1/4 of the price and it was much better and tasted fresher. I wish we had saved our money and gone somewhere else. Not sure I need to try again. We really were looking forward to a nice night out.....we were both disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robbierob16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Ribbon Sushi Brooklyn also viewed

 

Been to Blue Ribbon Sushi Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing