We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Actually was not as good as I thought it would be” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Totonno Pizzeria Napolitano

Totonno Pizzeria Napolitano
Ranked #157 of 5,296 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
264 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Actually was not as good as I thought it would be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I'd been here when in Brooklyn when trying various pizzerias throughout the borough. While this place is highly recommended by locals and was authentically NY pizza, it did not taste as good as what I'd tried in other parts of the borough. The dough was a little burnt, the red sauce was too sweet, and the restaurant overall seemed smaller and dirtier than some other places. Not to mention it is located in a dumpier part of Brooklyn that is well past its prime. Some people might like it, I personally prefer L&B Spumoni Gardens and Il Colesseo in that part of Brooklyn followed by DiFara a little further up in Midwood. In all fairness, this is probably better pizza than what you get in the rest of the US but by Brooklyn standards, its one of the most overrated.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank conrade886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    35
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“There is none other! WOW! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing! We had this on Memorial Day on our first visit to Coney Island. Someone told us to try it and WOW...we would love to have a slice right now. They do one thing and they do it perfect...PIZZA. You can order a large or small. You will have a choice of about 6 toppings. That's it. We ordered a large for just my husband and I..there wasn't anything left. Our waitress, one of the owners said she couldn't believe we finished it. Ha! Now, we didn't eat the rest of the day but we certainly enjoyed it! We will be back...until then we can dream of the best pizza ever!

Helpful?
Thank photogirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Along with Grimaldi's..the best pizza around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Years ago the storefront had no writing on the windows...You knew it was there by word of mouth..My father would send us there for takeout e ven though we lived in an Italian neighborhood with pizza literally on every corner.....It was overpriced and the pies diminutive but wow.....The original owner is long gone and the store now has its name on the window...Unfortunately it is not open every day and it is not in a great area Coney Island...my suggestion is to go lunchtime....Worth a visit or two for sure

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank omar47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Famous Pizzeria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had to try this after seeing on the Food Network, local to where I lived in Brooklyn, close to Coney Island. The pizza was a great example of brick oven fired pizza, crispy yet chewy crust, slightly charred and smoky, excellent quality ingredients. Not cheap by any means, a simple pizza will run you upwards of $20, still a must try experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Illy1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you are in Coney Island stop in to this old-school landmark. The pizza is incredible, and what a nostalgic atmosphere. Decor is definitely nice, very mixed-up with historic pieces of pictures, histories, and news articles, making it look old fashion. They sell pizza by the pie not by the slice. Experience overall was OK, pizzas were really mouthwatering and it was all worth it, service and price could be better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank masik60158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Totonno Pizzeria Napolitano also viewed

 

Been to Totonno Pizzeria Napolitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing