We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a special occasion”
Review of The River Cafe

The River Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
The River Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 5,362 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Old Fulton St.
Transit: A or C train to High Street/Brooklyn Bridge; 2 or 3 train to Clark Street; F train to York St.; Bus #41 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West
Description: The River Cafe is open for Dinner service every day of the year. Dinner service begins at 5:30 Lunch is served on Saturday from 11:30 AM until 2:30 PM Brunch is served on Sunday from 11:30 AM until 2:30 PM
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for a special occasion”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you want to cap a visit to NYC with a special night out this is the restaurant to choose. The view is spectacular especially at night when the lights of manhattan make for a wonderful backdrop. The service is first class and the food lives up to the billing. The ravioli starter was the most wonderful dish I experienced in ten days of eating in the city. Not cheap but definitely memorable

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,114
    551
    182
    72
    106
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Snooty staff”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The two snooty girls on the entrance desk put us off eating there. Because we were not suitably dressed, they looked down their noses at us, gave us a Set Menu only and ferried us into a room to look at it. We decided not to bother returning once we had dressed up for dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

A perfect setting, outstanding food and great service. Yes it's expensive .... this is New York and look at that view. A truly unforgettable experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlyWhenDirected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Right Place To Stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is one of the best what NY City can offer to the guest. Tasty food, very nice drinks menu plus the service is very professional. The view is also very nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnyyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Atmospheric experience”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

For a visitor to New York City, this restaurant delivers the goods. Unrivalled views of Manhattan from directly beneath the Brooklyn bridge and a second to none service. We were lucky enough to bag a window table, which added to the experience. The restaurant has only recently reopened after being almost totally remodelled after virtual destruction by hurricane Sandy. From the moment we arrived we were treated with respect and made to feel very special. The restaurant insists on a strict dress code for men, you must wear a jacket after 5pm, and a tie is preferable but not mandatory. We arrived early by cab and savoured the view and the lovely garden In front of the restaurant, before entering the establishment and announcing our arrival. We were then invited to take a seat at the bar whilst our table became available. This allowed us to savour the atmosphere, take in the wonderful view, and unwind with a drink provided by the very amiable bar staff. When our table became available the staff knew exactly who to pick out from the crowd at the bar. We were then escorted to our window seat. From that moment I knew that this was going tuyo be a good experience. The service that followed was flawless. At the time of our visit there was only a set dinner menu. However, every stage of the meal was dealt with in good time, the food was prepared beautifully and all the staff were professional and efficient in their execution of service.
This restaurant is quite unique in New York City, there is nothing quite like it. Basically, an old barge on the East river, but don't let that put you off.

In summary, views, ambience and service are unrivalled, food is top quality. It's expensive, but worth it!

A must do for visitors and locals alike, for that special occasion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The River Cafe also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing