We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mama Mia!”

Gargiulo's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gargiulo's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #131 of 5,364 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: For a taste of Italy in the heart of Brooklyn, look no further than Gargiulo's. We are an authentic Italian restaurant serving delicious, traditional Neapolitan fare made from family recipes that have stood the test of time. Our food is unbeatable, made with fresh, high-quality ingredients and cooked in-house with care. Gargiulo's has been family owned and operated since 1907, making us a Brooklyn staple and a Coney Island favorite for over a century.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mama Mia!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Gargiulo is one of the best italian restaurants I have eaten! Their lunch memo is limited but the dinner menu is absolutely remarkable and you will find a hard time trying to decide what to eat. If you decide to go with a large group, you will have the advantage to try everyone's selection and have an idea of what to order the next time you go. The meals are affortable and dessert is a must have!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scorpianeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nino R, Owner at Gargiulo's Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
It means the world to hear our menu is "absolutely remarkable" and that you have such a tough time making your choices -- that's always a good sign! We're very grateful for your kind words. It's been a few months since you left your review, so we hope to get the chance to welcome you back again soon for another one of those desserts!
Saluté, Gargiulo's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    29
    10
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not the best... not the worst”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

we had dinner at gargiulos last night...the service was poor... we sat for a very long time until the waiter came over and even longer to give our order and longer still between courses. he was not attentive. i don't think they had enough coverage in the main dining room. they used to have the standard pasta favorites on the menu.. they are no longer there.. goodbye, lasagna, manicotti and cold antipasto...etc. they seemed to have pared down the menu.. prices are a bit high for average italian food.they also now have their own label wine.. it was fine.. not great. they still, it seemed to me, cater to those who come here week after week... it is like a club.. where everybody seems to know your name.. i guess to some folks it is important. i was not impressed by food or the service... i think it was very average.. certainly nothing to write home about.. or oooh and aaah over... by the way... it is way too noisy... you need to raise your voice to be heard by your companions..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buyandreturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We loved our experience here! The waiter was nice, the service was good, and the food was so good I couldn't stop eating. Everyone at my table almost cleaned their plates it was so good. The prices were great and affordable with many wonderful options under $13. It puts St. Louis' "Hill" restaurants to shame. This is what Italian food should taste like! There is a dress code so no shorts or hats. And there is a bathroom attendant...so that may weird some people out if you aren't prepared.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex Fells, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go Home to Gargiulo's”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Is anything ever like it was? Does our mind's eye soften and enhance our memories as time moves on? I returned to Gargiulo's after a way too long absence of about 15 years. My memory was of a classic, leaning toward formal Italian restaurant. The food was always at least good, sometimes superb. So how is the old girl after all this time? Not much has changed since the early nineties. It's still a polished establishment with a well trained wait staff. Sure, the octopus on the ceiling is gone (since 1992) and Fred Trump has passed away. But going to Gargiulo's is like going to your grandmother's--you'll know what you will get, you will be comfortable, well fed and satisfied. The pasta sauce al fileto was more onion than tomato as I had remembered, but still good. The meat sauce was fine. There was no problem going off menu to have a veal cutlet Milanese prepared and served with their classic potato croquette. The veal could have been more tender in that dish as well as in my companion's veal marsala but both well prepared. A vegetable serving of squash was excellent. Our waiter, a little reserved at first, softened up a bit and joined in singing happy birthday to our 96 year old guest of honor who thoroughly enjoyed her pasta and chicken parmigiana. The meal was topped off with tortoni, just like the old days. It was good to go back and it will not be much longer before I go home to Gargiulo's again. Protected free parking across the street.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WCiardiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
253 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Really deteriorating”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

The kitchen doesn't take the care they once did and the overall orientation is fairly indifferent to customer desires. They remodeled after the hurricane and restored everything to be as it once was but the food lacks flare and there are better options elsewhere. If you want good Italian and nice atmosphere, the choices in this part of Brooklyn are scarce but this place is truly just "settling" and you will likely be underwhelmed by the food and the service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gargiulo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gargiulo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing