We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cheap hotel”
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #65 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you only want to have a place to spend the night this hotel is a good value. It is next to a subway station and it takes about 20-25 minutes to go to Union Square. The bathroom is pretty clean but the furniture is pretty outdated .
It is not a romantic place but perfect if you do not want to spend a fortune for sleep.

Room Tip: maybe ask for a room in the back to the parking place because in front of the hotel there is a disco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NicoSP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is located in Sunset Park, a residential neighborhood in the south of Brooklyn. The room is quite small and contains a bed which consumes almost the entire space in the room. The bathroom has a nice walk in shower which comes at the expense of the other facilities in the room. The toilet is so cramped to the sink that you can't really reach the toilet paper roll when you're sitting.
The room was clean but the towels and the sheets looked worn out. The blanket was a bit unpleasant to touch, probably because of too many washing / drying cycles. The TV in the room did not work. The WiFi worked well.
The "breakfast" was incredibly poor. It contained some tired looking pastries, some bread and a very small selection of cereals. On two of the three mornings on which I went for breakfast, there was no butter, or anything else for that matter, to put on the bread. I had a feeling that I was given leftovers from some other hotel. When you book a room in this hotel, skip the breakfast. It's not worth your time.
The hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes walk from the subway (lines N, R and D, 36th street station). It takes a good 40 to 45 minutes tot get to the city center (42nd street / Times Square). The dining choices in the area are quite limited.

Room Tip: When you ask for a quite room you will be given a room which faces the back. It's quite, as long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank IddoAmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was here with my boyfriend in september 2013. It was Ok, but only for no long staying. The room was quite clean, but in the bathroom was mold. Every room = non-smoking room, but we smell smoke from cigarettes everywhere.

Room Tip: Use extra money to your passport :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vyletarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I should have read the reviews but I was desperate for a decent room at a reasonable price in Brooklyn. I thought $122 for a night was reasonable. Wrong. First there were only 4 parking slots and I felt lucky to get one until in the morning. In the morning I waited 30 minutes for 2 car owners to come down and move their cars which blocked me in. The desk clerk was pleasant but charged me an additional $5 deposit for the room key which was not mentioned in any of the literature.

What I got for a room was a little bigger than a walk in closet. The bathroom ceiling was in need of repairs; the comforter had old cigarette stains; the Wi- fi code never worked; and there was no desk.

I don't recommend this hotel for any road warrior or business traveller.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank JDRolle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good little hotel right next door to the subway - perfect for going into Manhattan and to explore New York. Was easy to get to/from airport to this hotel. Not the safest neighborhoods to be out alone at night but fine during the day. They have a dunkin donuts and garage next door. We had a fab time, all we needed was a cheap hotel and somewhere to rest our heads for the night and this hotel was more than adequate The free donuts and coffee in the morning were great. I wouldn't mind staying at this hotel again if i ever visit New York again :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rolemodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Room was dirty. There was writing on the wall a hole through the bathroom door and we got double beds as opposed to singles. The sheets were also soiled. We were supposed to check out at 11 and 10-15 mins prior they were calling to make sure we and five mins prior they actually knocked on the door to make sure we were ready to check out. Pretty rude especially considering how seedy the place was to begin with.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This place is meant only for crooks! Seriously!! the receptionist and the hotel staff being the head of all crooks! We had a confirmed booking and budget places also deducted $74 from my account just for the reservation. But when we reached the hotel, they said no rooms were available and they did not have the reservation at all!! We were told to call another branch, but there was no such other branch. There were people at the reception counter asking for rooms just for a "couple of hrs". We took the hint and decided not to stay there a single minute. though there is board with "No smoking" in the hotel, the hotel just smells of a cigarette factory.
Now i am struggling to get the $74 back.. there is no way to talk to an agent in budgetplaces website too. We just have to drop an email and wait for them to call!!
DO NOT BOOK IN THIS WEBSITE NOR IN THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
5  Thank Sreeja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
5.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
7.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklyn Bay Hotel
1.5 mi away
Days inn Brooklyn Crown Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Central
4.4 mi away
Super 8 Brooklyn / Park Slope Hotel
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Brooklyn Borough Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 980 Wyckoff Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11237-6124
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Brooklyn
Red Carpet Inn Brooklyn, New York
Brooklyn Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing