We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needs a hotel make over” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #57 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“needs a hotel make over”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I had read the reviews before i booked the hotel so i knew what i was getting into. I guess u get what you pay for. So since the hotel was so cheap, I was going to book another night even though i was so uncomfortable with the hotel. The staff was nice and I like the location so i was going suck it up and book another night. When I went on-line, I booked for the other Red Carpet Inn across town. So i went there and was presently surprise with the cleanliness of the hotel. I was scared i was going to catch something at this one

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    45
    62
    33
    50
See reviews for
46
58
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you only want to have a place to spend the night this hotel is a good value. It is next to a subway station and it takes about 20-25 minutes to go to Union Square. The bathroom is pretty clean but the furniture is pretty outdated .
It is not a romantic place but perfect if you do not want to spend a fortune for sleep.

Room Tip: maybe ask for a room in the back to the parking place because in front of the hotel there is a disco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoSP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is located in Sunset Park, a residential neighborhood in the south of Brooklyn. The room is quite small and contains a bed which consumes almost the entire space in the room. The bathroom has a nice walk in shower which comes at the expense of the other facilities in the room. The toilet is so cramped to the sink that you can't really reach the toilet paper roll when you're sitting.
The room was clean but the towels and the sheets looked worn out. The blanket was a bit unpleasant to touch, probably because of too many washing / drying cycles. The TV in the room did not work. The WiFi worked well.
The "breakfast" was incredibly poor. It contained some tired looking pastries, some bread and a very small selection of cereals. On two of the three mornings on which I went for breakfast, there was no butter, or anything else for that matter, to put on the bread. I had a feeling that I was given leftovers from some other hotel. When you book a room in this hotel, skip the breakfast. It's not worth your time.
The hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes walk from the subway (lines N, R and D, 36th street station). It takes a good 40 to 45 minutes tot get to the city center (42nd street / Times Square). The dining choices in the area are quite limited.

Room Tip: When you ask for a quite room you will be given a room which faces the back. It's quite, as long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IddoAmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was here with my boyfriend in september 2013. It was Ok, but only for no long staying. The room was quite clean, but in the bathroom was mold. Every room = non-smoking room, but we smell smoke from cigarettes everywhere.

Room Tip: Use extra money to your passport :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vyletarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
299 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I should have read the reviews but I was desperate for a decent room at a reasonable price in Brooklyn. I thought $122 for a night was reasonable. Wrong. First there were only 4 parking slots and I felt lucky to get one until in the morning. In the morning I waited 30 minutes for 2 car owners to come down and move their cars which blocked me in. The desk clerk was pleasant but charged me an additional $5 deposit for the room key which was not mentioned in any of the literature.

What I got for a room was a little bigger than a walk in closet. The bathroom ceiling was in need of repairs; the comforter had old cigarette stains; the Wi- fi code never worked; and there was no desk.

I don't recommend this hotel for any road warrior or business traveller.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JDRolle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good little hotel right next door to the subway - perfect for going into Manhattan and to explore New York. Was easy to get to/from airport to this hotel. Not the safest neighborhoods to be out alone at night but fine during the day. They have a dunkin donuts and garage next door. We had a fab time, all we needed was a cheap hotel and somewhere to rest our heads for the night and this hotel was more than adequate The free donuts and coffee in the morning were great. I wouldn't mind staying at this hotel again if i ever visit New York again :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolemodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Room was dirty. There was writing on the wall a hole through the bathroom door and we got double beds as opposed to singles. The sheets were also soiled. We were supposed to check out at 11 and 10-15 mins prior they were calling to make sure we and five mins prior they actually knocked on the door to make sure we were ready to check out. Pretty rude especially considering how seedy the place was to begin with.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
#41 of 70 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Lynx
Hotel Lynx
#47 of 70 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.3 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#6 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
5.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Property: Red Carpet Inn
Address: 980 Wyckoff Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11237
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Brooklyn
Red Carpet Inn Brooklyn, New York
Brooklyn Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing