We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never ever come here unless you want trouble”
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #57 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
1 review
“Never ever come here unless you want trouble”
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Worst place to go for customer service. I recently book a room with them thought it was affordable to be very disappointed. The room and location was nice but service not good. I booked a room for two nites to be rudely interrupted saying that I needed to leave that I only paid for one night. I had a talk with the manager and the person who I booked the room with and the manager was rude . He didn't want to hear my side didn't apologize for the ignorance of his employee for telling one thing and did another. Threating to call cops on me because I was upset about the situation. I feel as thought I should of at least gotten the apology ...money was not a factor just the point I'm from out of town and there could of been more attentive to my situation. I highly suggest to anyone if you come to new york make sure you get your information correct before booking any hotel/motel .DO NOT COME HERE VERY BAD CUSTOMER and BAD ENGlISH SPEAKING PEOPLE

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miszunique689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    45
    62
    33
    50
See reviews for
46
58
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Plain and simple, if your on a budget and want a cheap place to rest your head in NYC this is the place to go. The area around is safe in my books, all you need is common sense, basic street smarts, and carry yourself the right way. The room did have an odor but all we did was burn intense and what not, the smell is mostly in the basement rooms (smoking rooms). So if you want a room that doesn't smell just get a non smoking room. The hotel is also right by the Halsey St station the the L line, very convenient. Theres, bars, stores, carryouts, and fast food places nearby. I give this place 4 stars for its price range, location, and what it offers. Some people who write bad reviews about this place on there are crybabies who was probably raised in the suburbs, go figure.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael_el21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

If you are looking for a cheap, bare bones place to sleep while in NYC this is the place, but don't expect perfection or any extras. A bit old and worn, but clean overall except for a slight musty smell in our room that we corrected by burning incense. Major plus is that there is a FREE parking lot on the premises and the L line subway to Manhattan-Union Square is right outside the main door. Yet it is about a 20+ minute ride. Small Mom & Pop Mexican and Chinese restaurants, convenience stores, and liquor-wine shop xcross street. No other sites, attractions, or shopping nearby, and not the neighborhood to be walking around in at night. Would not recommend if you are looking for amenities or action nearby, but for the low cost (our queen bed room was about $80/night) it sufficed for our purposes. The wireless internet was marginal, slow.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chowhound03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery Village, MD
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2009

I can't complain too much because of the great price and the location is right by the subway. But it was unclean. The bed had hair all over the mattress (yes i looked to make sure they didn't have bed bugs which thank God they didn't), cigarette holes was through the covers and sheets(when it said no smoking) and it also smelt like smoke. The towels were stained, and guests were noisy which really isn't there fault in one case, but in the other case, it was late and a lady was arguing with the staff about her towels being stained and it seemed like they didn't care. Nope I wouldn't go back but it was 80.00 a night so what can I say.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raaasfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2009

this motel was the worst I have ever seen. The furniture was old and unclean, the towels were dirty and torn, they put plastic sheet under your bed sheets to protect the bed matrix, the bed sheets are unclean and never changed during my 4 days stay even after asking.
the indian staff are not that nice to deal with
they don't give you an invoice for the money you pay there even if you ask they say it is our system not to give invoices!!!!!!!
the surrounding is very low standard with many car fixing garages

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This is a great deal if you are going to NYC and are on a budget. The staff was friendly, it's next to the subway, the neighborhood is a little rough, but you don't have to spend much time there.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socal2ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield W. Yorks
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2009

After an initiall glitch with our reservation, which took over an hour and a half to resolve, our trip eventually got off to a great start! The hotel is ideally situated for the subway, a Metro Card will cost you $7 for four rides which is good value by London tube standards. The room was clean and comfortable with fresh linen and towels everyday.. If you are a bar hopper then this part of Brooklyn is not for you but four stops on the subway and you are in leafy Williamsburgh where there are vibrant bars and restaurants! The Staff at the hotel were pleasant enough although there was a slight language problem. Overal this was a pleasant enough experience as we were using the Hotel as a place to put our heads down so if you are looking for all the creature comforts of 5* hotel this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poshbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
#42 of 71 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Lynx
Hotel Lynx
#47 of 71 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.3 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#10 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bogart Hotel
Bogart Hotel
#38 of 71 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Property: Red Carpet Inn
Address: 980 Wyckoff Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11237-6124
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Brooklyn
Red Carpet Inn Brooklyn, New York
Brooklyn Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing